Can someone help me identify this caterpillar?

in #science5 years ago (edited)

Found this strange caterpillar in Northern Greece, Katerini in my parents house.

Actually I have encountered these wood like "sticks" many times here in my area in the past, stuck on walls and stuff. I always thought they were some kind of insect/critter egg sack but turns out that they are something totally different.

Here's a video:

And here's some photos:

IMG_20190411_143619186_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

IMG_20190411_143620649_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

IMG_20190411_143631825.jpg

If you can help me identify the species or genus of this little caterpie I would be most welcome. I am really curious to learn more about its lifecycle, like what's that wood thingie on its back and why it carries it :)

Oh yeah, sorry for the poor media quality, it was the best I could do with my phone.

Sort:  

That caterpillar looks like Jeff Goldblum, in The
Fly
. There's a scene where Goldblum is transitioning (between human and fly). He drags what used to be feet behind him. This has become a gross appendage. Sorry to insult the caterpillar :)

You won't believe it but this was one of my first thoughts too 😂😂😂

This was one of the few remakes that was actually more effective than the original (1958)

Fuck! Is fly a remake?

Fuck, you are right. Ok, will watch the original tomorrow!!!!

I love the old ones -- the campier the better

I believe I have found the family, answer will berevealed tomorrow. Still, feel free to comment your guesses!

No.

:(

😁

better smoosh it just to be on the safe side.

If by smoosh you mean having intercourse with it, I already did !!!! 😱😱😱

LOL



This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail. It is elligible for support from @curie.

If you appreciate the work we are doing, then consider supporting our witness stem.witness. Additional witness support to the curie witness would be appreciated as well.

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Please consider setting @steemstem as a beneficiary to your post to get a stronger support.

Please consider using the steemstem.io app to get a stronger support.

Thank you kind bot!

ψηφοφόρος του ΣΥΡΙΖΑ πρέπει να είναι...
μην ανησυχείς ,είναι είδος υπο εξαφάνιση :P

Είδος προς εξαφανιση δε το λες με 20 % που θα πάρουν :P

Ε όχι να πάρουνε και 20%.... 20 πουτσες να πάρουνε..... :)

Οι συνταξιούχοι και οι ΔΥ είναι πολλοι. Πάρα πολλοί ;)

Hi @trumpman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.427 which ranks you at #656 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 655).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 228 contributions, your post is ranked at #84.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I don't know much about this caterpillar rather I just know that it is a very rare type of caterpillar mostly found in Japan. I have seen the image of this caterpillar somewhere long back but I don't remember it's name!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25