Unto Us A Child Is Done... Hannah's Diary

in #sciencefiction6 years ago (edited)

images (36).jpg

Image Source

Dear diary,
I am at the verge of reversing three hundred years of history. I do not know what all the consequences may be, and after coming so far I am tempted to say that I do not care. I already have the solution, and in a split second I could return the human race to its pre-scientific birthing age. I do not know why I delay though, maybe I simply crave some sort of assurance that I'm on the right path...

It had all began in the year 2065, popularly referred to as the year of the scientific boom. Numerous breakthroughs had occured in diverse areas of research, all thanks to the discovery of the X2 element. Difficult barriers were crossed, and previously impossible feats of science became easy tasks.

One of such was the creation of babies, a research that was done with the primary intention of reducing the teeming population of the planet. Earth had too many humans, and X2 seemed like the answer, and for a while it was.

The scientists embraced the challenge, and the first set of scientific babies were made. These grew to the age of four, and died. Two subsequent set of babies also made it till about six years of age. Then soon after, the process was perfected, and the first perfect child was done. After this, the phrase "a child is born" fizzled out.

For a long time, everything felt perfect. Population reduced drastically, as child birth was now a thing of the past. One simply had to provide the Child Production Facility with a suitable specification, and a child would be done for you. Copulation between the sexes became strictly for purposes of pleasure. Humans were happy, it seemed Utopia had been achieved at last, and everyone said long may it last, and it did. Until the year 2352...

They called her Han, at least that was the name her parents (those who requested that she be done for them) gave her. But from when she could talk, she insisted on being called Hannah. She was a voracious reader, and her literature of choice were the ancient paperback antiques stored in the Library of Pre-scientific Arts. There she read about the earth of old, and how things were done before the discovery of the X2 element.

Hannah was a good kid, and she loved her parents. But something about the bond a mother from the pre-scientific birthing age shared with her child held her captive. It was missing in this age, she thought a million times to herself. So she had set out to make things right, and three years later, at the year 2365, Hannah had successfully solved the equation...

Dear diary,
I did it. Maybe it is a mistake on my part, or maybe I am taking the world back. But I have no regrets. Rather I am pleased, and I think the future will be too. They'll thank me someday for giving to them sons and daughters, rather than properties. For that is what I am, a property belonging to those who own me.

I know I may never have children, but because of me, those who read your pages will experience the joys of being parents...

Yours,
Hannah

THE END

#SladenSpeaks


Written for @calluna's Tell a story to me contest


BRVF51QgEXt.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @seesladen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Good stuff man

Glad to see that you're back

Blessings

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

thank you! keep writing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31