SEAGULL AND ME - MASTER OF EVERYTHING

in #seagull6 years ago

galeb i ja.png

As a child, I used to live in the lighthouse that was isolated from the civilization by a few miles wide channel. It was not so bad, summers were great and during the winter it was pretty cozy and we had a lot of adventures.

We also had the self-sustained infrastructure on the small island - electricity, water, food, gardens, animals, pets, sea and fishing. We lacked nothing even that far away from all the other people.

We really had a lot of pets and animals, and sometimes it looked almost like a petting zoo. Well, I have to admit some of my pets ended up as a lunch, but what to do. Different time. Different minds.

Pretty much we were doing a lot of fishing, and all that comes with it.

My parents thought me almost everything when I was very small because they were in a constant expectancy of some unknown disaster, a catastrophe or just a freak accident that might leave me alone and helpless on the island.

Till I was five I already knew to drive a boat, and later when we moved on the dry-land I had my own car when I was only nine. Until I was only 12 my parents thought me almost everything they knew, and yes, that included getting food, cooking, and stuff.

Regardless of that, I manage to keep my natural attentiveness to other beings and I never consider them just food.

Actually, I think I could be vegetarian just fine because I almost am...

Once we were on this other island, a bigger one across the channel we stumble on a small chick seagull that was left or pushed out of the nest, not sure.

My father wanted to leave immediately because adult seagulls are not friendly birds when it comes to their offspring.

But, as nothing happened I begged my father to take a little chick with us because it will surely die.

He said there is no certainty it will survive with us either. Wild animals are not grateful companions and they usually just don't take human care too well.

Well, unless you are really into it and hover above them like a mother hen. Literally...

So, we took a chick with us and kept it in a cardboard box until it grew up and learned to fly.

It advanced pretty quickly and after a very short time, we got a huge bird out of a small weak chick. And it was one hungry chick.

Instead of going back to his own kind, a seagull decided to stay with us.

There is nothing more impressive than an eagle-sized bird landing down to your boat in the stealth mode out of nowhere.

He used to glide so high up I still fail to understand how he knew which boat is our, without a mistake.

We used to watch our domestic seagull hovering high up seeing him only as a tiny dot. The next moment he would be diving vertically to catch the fish next to our island, or chasing some imaginary target in front of him, but he never failed to visit us every single day.

No bad weather and no storm could stop that bird to land on our island. He was more faithful than a dog and more determined than any being we ever knew than and after.

My parents were giving him fish from our nets to keep him interested, so he was with us constantly.

That was until some man threw a rock at him being afraid of a big bird which behaved as a house pet, then he took some distance from humans, but still, he would come to me.

With the upcoming months, his uncertainty and distrust in humans grew day after day and finally, a seagull estranged completely.

The last visit he paid to me was to show me his mate.
And that was it.


A person who sings that song is my favorite singer and pianist from my country, Croatia and the only one that I would chose to mark my memories, various milestones and personal victories.
He is 70 years old Dalmatian native from island Korčula in Adriatic Sea and he is considered to be the Croatia cultural icon and a living legend.
This below is yet another song, called - in translation to English - 'I breathe ( Sea is My soul)'.
He rarely, or even never sings in English, but with that voice, he doesn't need to. He performed at Carnegie Hall, Royal Albert Hall, Olympia (Paris) and Sydney Opera House as well.

Enjoy it, because, this will be one of the most emotionally profound performance experiences in the World that you will ever hear.

Sort:  

HOW ABSOLUTELY cool that you lived in a lighthouse!
I find something oddly romantic about that.

I lived in the five different lighthouses as we were moving and yes, we had a lot of epic adventures.
I will continue sharing my sea anecdotes and memories because I know that the people wish to know more about it and enjoy reading things that are mostly unknown to the dry-land folks.

Oh GREAT!!! I'm looking forward to more posts!!

You lived in a LIGHTHOUSE? I am solitary enough that I've even thought that would be a good fit for me as an adult.

I grew up on a farm, the child of practical people. I never had any problem eating an animal I had named.

We tried Coyote pups a couple of times. One made it to adolescence when he disappeared forever. The other didn't last that long. But that pup never stopped being wild. Ever. He'd bite me in a heartbeat for any offense, real or imagined. Made it pretty easy for him to be gone.

The music is beautiful, understanding the words is not essential at all.

Yes, I am a descendant of a light-houseman and a true source material for a sea creature.
My parents installed all their knowledge and skills into me while I was still a child because they were never sure if they will return the next day from the sea.
It was the hardest thing for me to accept my parents telling me that I am 'the bravest heart that ever lived' and that one morning I could wake up alone, but it made me so much stronger as an adult.
There is nothing stronger but that primordial realization that we are all truly alone in this world and that we can only rely on our bare hands.

You grew up near a light house ! I envy you. What a beautiful childhood you must have had :-D

In it. Not near. And yes, it is a house with a big tower, somewhat of a castle , lol.

I could live for some time, so to rest from everything ..
But I could not spend my entire life living like that.
BTW I love that singer 2.

Thats some awesome place to live in. Its so different to live in the middle of city with all the concrete jungles and pollutions. I would really rather live somewhere connected to nature, to hear the waves, the birds, then only we can feel like living. My house is literally behind the Malaysian National Zoo, so sometimes theres flamingos and storks came near my neigbourhood and thats somehow calming for me. Thanks for the great post! :)

Flamingos? That sounds like fun to watch.

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

That is an awesome story but has such a sad ending. The throwing of the rock obviously got lodged in his mind.

Did you not lack for other kids your own age when living in the lighthouse? No brothers or sisters?

That was just one place, we moved a lot, some lighthouses facilitated a few families with children, and I went to school, so there was no lack of kids.

Lighthouse?! THAT IS SO COOL! You wrote, that you have lived in 3 different lighthouses. Any time spent on Palagruza maybe? That place is so amazing. I wonder how it is to be there in winter time - must be an adventure!

In five, not three. If you think it is amazing, you should try lol.

That's a beautiful story... a little bitter sweet but we hope he went on to have his own family and lived happily ever after... Did you ever name it?
Thank you for both the songs, no, I don't understand the language, but you are right - with that voice you don't need to. Love his voice!

No, I always called him My Seagull. I had no idea that we can even name a bird as I was 4 or 5 years old when we got it.

My Seagull works... ;)

I love this story! I love the songs, and that voice is really remarkable! And I look very much forward to more of that kind of story's from your hand. It's been a dream of me to live in a lighthouse ... to have the sea that close to me. But my dream never comes true, so I would love to hear your story's. And your story reminds me of a favorite song of mine ... Called "Seagull" sing by Kayak.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63549.78
ETH 3107.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88