Marche Royale - Jean-Baptiste Lully | Secrets of Organ Playing Contest Week 28

in #secretsoforganplaying5 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! This is my entry for the Secrets of Organ Playing Contest Week 28. I'm playing a transcription of Marche Royale by Jean-Baptiste Lully.

If you have been following my blog, you will remember my posts on 25 years without vacuuming and Preparing for July recital | Piano and organ. Unfortunately, the organ I was meant to do my recital on for July 16 has been cleaned but pipes of several ranks are missing due to further work. This means I could not go ahead with my original programme. I have now moved the recital to another venue, "Adamshurst", which has a piano and chamber organ. I have had quickly come up with an entirely new programme to suit this instrument!

IMG_5563.JPG

Chamber organ
Marche Royale – Jean-Baptiste Lully
Trumpet Tune – Jean Joseph Mouret
Trumpet Tune – John Stanley
Arioso – Johann Sebastian Bach
Bist du bei mir – Johann Sebastian Bach
Ciacona in f-moll – Johann Pachelbel

Piano
Sonatina in F Major, Op. 36, No. 4 – Muzio Clementi
I. Con spirito
II. Andante con espressione
III. Rondó: Allegro vivace
Waltz in A-flat major Op. 69, No. 1 – Frederic Chopin
Nocturne in C-sharp minor Op. posth – Frederic Chopin

And just to make things even more difficult, there were a couple of notes that were severely out of tune! With the help of another organist, we managed to fix up those notes after removing some of the larger pipes to gain access inside.

IMG_5572.JPG

You can support me using Steem Basic Income

Sort:  

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Love it. The organ is perhaps a tad out of tune here and there, but to me that only adds to the charm and the livelyness of the instrument. From what I see on the photo it seems a perfact location for an intimate chamber music concert.
If you're still looking for suitable compositions for a small organ: I published the Keyboard partitas of Johann Adolph Scheibe. The closing gigue of the fifth partita is a garantueed crowd pleaser.

Yes, it really needs a good tune. It was last tuned in January according to the tuning book. I'm so glad we fixed up those two notes as they were in the middle of the keyboard. I played some Handel Concerti a few years ago with a string orchestra. It really is an intimate little venue.

I actually forgot about that Scheibe! I did print out the whole partita after I heard you playing the Gigue. It would take a bit of time to play of all of that cleanly in 5 or so days! For next time :)

Very good to have a Plan B. Part of our job as organists is to be versatile and be prepared to adapt to all sorts of instruments and their inherent quirks, let alone choosing appropriate repertoire! In some ways, playing a small instrument is much more difficult than a big one - nowhere to hide!

You're right. I'm actually finding it difficult having only one manual, a straight/flat pedalboard and only a handful of stops. Very much different to what I'm used to!

I have just listened. You have adapted well. The piece works very well on this organ.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

You got a 1.14% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @contrabourdon!

Will you record some of these piano pieces and share them here?

Sure. I ran out of time today due to the tuning and recording for the contest!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75