Præludium secundi Toni (Auf 2 Clavier und Pedahl) | Secrets of Organ Playing Contest Week 23

This is my entry for week 23 of the Secrets of Organ Playing Contest. I’m playing Præludium secundi Toni (Anonymous). I discovered this work through fellow organ Steemian, @partitura. He made a post about this recently as he published it from the manuscript Ms Lynar B3, page 36.

The piece calls for two manuals and pedals and it is clear that there is a solo voice, accompanied by underlying chordal harmony. For this reason, I use a prominent registration in my RH and a supporting one in my LH. The pedal division on this particular instrument is actually a digital 16' stop, so I couple it to the upper manual to balance. The style of this piece is very free in nature and consists of many scale passages.

You also might be wondering about this instrument as it's not one I've previously played on for the contest. It's a real pipe organ and it's located in Jindera, NSW, Australia (about 15 minutes away from my home). There are only 5 ranks and it is duplexed across both manuals. As mentioned earlier, the pedal division is a digital 16' Bourdon but the church is planning on installing a real 16' Bourdon rank—they already have the pipes! It just needs a chest and then installed.

I actually gave the opening recital on this instrument back in 2016 when it was first installed!

I hope you enjoyed listening to my entry and thank you again to @partitura for publishing the work.

Sort:  

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

I love right hand passages in this piece! This is a really nice gesture for you to play a piece published by @partitura...

Very nice! And with a proper solo voice, which I forgot in my own performance...
The Bourdon on this organ is a bit too prominent to my taste; I guess the balance will be better once the real pipes are installed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you contrabourdon! You've just received an upvote of 34% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Good piece and this organ suits it well. Nice to hear unusual works.

Congratulations @contrabourdon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 50 posts. Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22