October 6, 2019--Practice Blog

image.png

I shouldn't really call today a practice blog as I actually did little practicing today. It was a full day! It began with church this morning--full-blown service: Prelude, postlude, Choir Anthem, Hymns, and Communion. At least, the Bell Choir played for Offertory. This was followed by a quick jaunt over to the Scottish Rite Building to be sure that 1) the music was in place for the 4 pm ceremony (it wasn't--I forgot it at home which I ran home to get) and 2) there were people there to help out with ushering and directing people through the building. A stop by the house allowed me to change into my tuxedo before performing at a 3 pm choir concert. It was a short concert (about 35 minutes in its entirety), but a new developing choir sang several a capella works in a variety of languages along with a couple of accompanied works. These kids worked really hard and I am proud of them. There were mistakes, but hopefully we can iron them out. After the concert, I drove back to the Scottish Rite building and played for the Honor's Ceremony--about an hour and a half long ceremony with about 10 different music cues. Not the hardest music, but it keeps you on your toes. One of the nice things about this gig is that I get to play the Yamaha digital organ pictured above. It's a 1982 model, one of about 150 made. A member of the Rite willed it to the building upon his death, and we have been enjoying it since then. As well as being one of the music people at the Rite, I am a member of the Knights of Saint Andrew--a group of youngish people in the Scottish Rite who can be called upon for duties such as clean-up, setting up tables, giving directions to visitors, ushering for events, and the like. We get to wear kilts! You can see the attire below:
image.png

Today, I was placed in charge of pouring wine with my brother Gary Heckard. I was surprised how much red wine is imbibed at this event. After the Honor's Banquet, I was able to get home and prepared an exam for two classes and a lecture for tomorrow. Like I said, busy day.

I was able to spend about 20-30 minutes running bits and pieces of the piano recital I have coming up. I did play part of the modern piece by Charles Dibley during the communion this morning. I noticed a couple of errors that need correcting before I meet with Chuck on Wednesday.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jeremyowens9501! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Looks like a very productive day, Jeremy! What is the sound of Yamaha digital organ like? Is it a decent relica of a real pipe organ like Hauptwerk can be?

PS Kilt looks amazing on you! Do you have some Scotish heritage?

It is a first generation digital organ--nothing like Hauptwerk. The solo instruments such as flute and trombone are very convincing sounding instruments, but the major stops are very electronic sounding.

I have a large percentage of Welsh in my ancestry, so there is probably some Scottish blood in there, but nothing we can trace.

This organist is also from Scottish Rite:
http://www.organbench.com/
I wish we could convince him to join our contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75