Gottfried Heinrich Stölzel, Triosonate, c mollsteemCreated with Sketch.

This is my entry for the Secrets of Organ Playing contest, week 20.

For my entry of this week I chose to play a trio. Trio playing is my favorite style of organ playing. It means that you play one melody with each hand, and a bass line with the feet. Though there are variants possible, in wich the bass line is played with the left hand, the middle melody with the feet and the upper melody with the right hand. It is even possible (by chosing a suitable registration) to play the upper melody with the feet and the lower two melodies with the hand. Hoever, playhing the bass line with the feet is the most common form of trio playting for the organ.

As is has just three melodies and generally no chords, the music is very transparant. That makes it easy to follow as a listener. It also means that every mistake you make as a player is easily spotted. As the music is so transparant there is nowhere to hide mistakes.

This trio is the first part of a triosonate by Gotfried Heinrich Stölzel. Stölzel wrote at least two Triosonatas specifically for organ. He wrote other triosonatas for other instruments, or did not specify the instruments for which he wrote the sonata. Several of Stölzel's other triosonatas lend themselves very well for adaptation for the organ. The triosonata in c minor, of which this is the first part, is one of them. Originally written for two violins and basso continuo, the musical material is easily adapted for two hands and feet.

The recording was done with the Hauptwerk software and the sampleset, made by Voxus, of the Müller organ in the Sint Bavokerk, Haarlem (http://www.voxusorgans.com/en/product/haarlem).

For anyone interested, the score of the complete triosonata is available on my website: http://partitura.org/index.php/johann-gottfried-stolzel-triosonate-c-moll/

Sort:  

I liked the reed sound in the LH. You played this really well. It’s tricky to play trios cleanly.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's the Oboe 8' on the Hoofdwerk, one of my favourite stops of this magnificent instrument.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you partitura! You've just received an upvote of 27% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

I will also look at the LilyPond software. I currently use Noteflight.

Posted using Partiko iOS

At least from a typographical viewpoint Lilypond exceeds any other music notation software by far (with the possible exception of Dorico). The learning curve can be steep however. If you're trying out Lilypond, do it in conjunction with Frescobaldi. Frescobaldi makes working with Lilypond much easier.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @partitura! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 150 posts. Your next target is to reach 200 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I don't know this Trio Sonata... Very beautifully written and more people should play it. I bet other @contrabourdon would like to play it as well... It's longer than 3 minutes now. You are getting better at learning longer pieces in a week, have you noticed that?

Yes, I'm deliberately pushing myself. Next I'll try something that takes 5 minutes. Though duration in time is not really the issue. It's how many notes you have to play in that time. Each note is a possible source of error.
I'm not helping myself thinking this way... 😀
Okay, let's just make music!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, and let's enjoy it as much as possible... Love your entries!

Posted using Partiko Android

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Nice playing! I love the sounds and versatility of the Hauptwerk!

Me too! The sound of Hauptwerk and a good sample set is so much better than what my Johannus console is capable of natively, that I am very glad I found out about Hauptwerk.

I have used Hauptwerk in the past, but I ended up spending too much time tweaking rather than playing. What do you think about that? I have had my Johannus Studio 170 voiced with the Intonat software—have you tried that?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, I have the intonat software as well. I found the results never really convincing. Hauptwerk with a good sample set is to my ears far better. I do use room correction software (software) to avoid standing waves and such. That reduces the need for intonation significantly.

Posted using Partiko Android

I suppose it’s only really good for big installations in churches where the voicing is really required.

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81