Johann Sebastian Bach, Herr Jesu Christ, der einig Gottes Sohn, BWV Anh. II 55

in #secretsoforganplaying4 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the Secrets of Organ Playing contest, week 40.

The second appendix to Schmieder's catalogue of compositions by Johann Sebastian Bach list the works that are attributed to Bach, but of which it is not certain Bach was the composer. Two days ago I published number 60 of this list (https://steemit.com/classical-music/@partitura/johann-sebastian-bach-nun-lob-mein-seel-den-herren-bwv-anh-ii-60), a chorale prelude to "Nun lob mein Seel den Herren". It is safe to say that it is highly unlikely that Bach composed this piece.

Number 55 from Schmieder's second appendix however, is in my opinion very likely a genuine Bach composition. It is a choral prelude in the form of a Trio, on the melody of “Herr Christ, der einig Gottes Sohn”. The only known source of this work (Mus. ms. Bach P801, owned by the Staatsbibliothek Berlin) does not attribute a composer. The manuscript was written by Krebs and contains many other works that are certainly composed by Bach. So this one could well be composed by Bach as well. Other than this circumstantial evidence, is the music itself a firm pointer to Bach as composer. The style is very reminiscent of the Schübler Choräle. It is very easy to imagine that the chorale is sung by a tenor with the accompaniment of a flute and basso continuo. The quality of writing, the way the three voices interact with each other, the somehow logical yet highly original way the upper voice moves, all point to Bach as composer. Therefore, no question mark today behind the name of the composer in the title of this post (though I did leave it in in the video; my gut feeling is not a musicological fact after all....).

It is a brilliantly composed piece, that is a joy to play. I can only encourage all organists to try it for themselves. Of course, score available on my site... :-)

Score http://partitura.org/index.php/bach-herr-christ-der-einig-gottes-sohn-bwv-anh-ii-55/


thumb.jpg


You can support me using Steem Basic Income


Sort:  

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Well played. I like the solo you chose too.

It is just the Principal 8' of this organ. But is is one of the most beautiful principals I've ever heard. Nothing beats a Silbermann principal.

Before I forget, this definitely deserves a !trdo and !shade 5



@partitura you have received 5 SHADE from contrabourdon!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Congratulations @contrabourdon, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @partitura!
@partitura got 0.20516400 TRDO & @contrabourdon got 0.13677600 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Okay, again two new tokens/commands I'm unfamaliar with. Where do you pick them up? O, the Shade token is one of your own (witness)?

Both on Steem Engine. A few people kept calling TRDO on my posts so I got a bit of FOMO and staked 1000 to enable me to tip 10 posts a day. The SHADE token is run by @shadowspub. I recently got their bot running again. You need 100 SHADE in your wallet to be able to tip between 1-5 SHADE.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I see. There is a certain lack of communication of the possibility of these tokens. Perhaps I don't search good enough but I can not find a mentuion of the !trdo command

Comments can not get TRDO reward!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Hack, I see now I have >3000 of them, and remember a few days ago I decided to unstake them becausebI did not know what good they were....
Guess I'll have to restake them

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

If I had to vote on the likely composer, Krebs would come to mind first... Enjoyed your playing very much... !organduo 500

@partitura you have received 500 ORGANDUO from organduo!
Trade the tokens on Steem Engine or send them to @organduo.voter with post in memo for an upvote!

// This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz! //

I think it is a bit too good for Krebs. I might be mistaken of course.

You got skills ! It sounds really good, congratulations for your talent!

Thanks for your nice comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75