My Account @Surfermarly Got Just Hacked! Please Don't Open Any Posts Submitted By @Surfermarly!!!

in #security6 years ago (edited)

It's hard to set up this blog post, I wish I could turn back time.

My main account @surfermarly just got hacked and I have lost the control over it.

I'm going to tell you how it happened in order to prevent you from doing the very same mistake.

The user @eruda has developed a quite sophisticated way to make other users click on phishing links.

He comments on blog posts that include an image which looks like as if another user has commented below. In this case the account name exyle was displayed, even though the user/account @exyle has nothing to do with this scam (just check the reputation score which is wrong). The name was just used to provide a certain trustworthiness and make me believe I was clicking on the link provided by a friend.

I don't want it to sound like an excuse, but after yesterday's crash I thought Steemit.com was still not working completely stable, so it didn't surprise me too much that I was asked to log in to the site again (even though I had already done it a couple of minutes before).

After typing in my owner key and hitting the enter button I already realized that I was hacked since it said Password incorrect.

Now I've started the general recovery process and also sent an email to my contacts at Steemit, Inc, hoping that I'll be able to get the control over my account back soon.

@arcange wrote about this a couple of weeks back, but unfortunately I didn't read his post.

The user who temporarily controls the account @surfermarly is now using it to publish shit posts. It couldn't get worse... PLEASE don't open any of the submitted blog post by this account and especially DON'T CLICK ON ANY LINKS submitted by @surfermarly or @eruda.

It's weird to even write that.

Please also consider spreading the information over the blockchain, inform your friends on discord, steem.chat etc.

Last but not least, a HUGE shout out to the guys from the Steem Speak discord server: @exyle, @sircork, @jonny-clearwater and everybody else who has helped me to get the recovery process started and to spread the message!

Thanks for your support!!!

The real Marly -

Just posted this pic of the Steemit thermos jug I was given at Steemfest² in Lisbon in my Instagram account adding the phrase It's me... even though you might all know it's me posting from this account.

Sort:  

Aww @surfermarly im SO sorry to hear this!!!! That scam would be sooo easy to fall for and the hacker’s creativity just keeps getting more and more advanced. 😞

I really hope that you are able to recover your account soon! Let me know if there is anything I can do. ♥️

Thank you so much, Lea!
Lucky me, I was able to recover the account quickly through the general recovery process from Steemit, Inc.

I will need to be much more attentive in the future.
However, my biggest takeaway is that the community has really been amazing in that situation! I don't know if I have ever experienced something similar before. Truly awesome and beyond that!!! :-)

Thanks for being with me on my rollercoaster day, hehe

I'm actually SUPER impressed by how quickly you were able to recover your account! I've always wondered how much Steemit inc. was actually able to help if someone got your keys - and it is super encouraging to hear how helpful they were.

I'm so glad that this horrible, crazy situation turned into such a bright moment of love from the community. <3

Honestly I was super impressed, too. It's the advantage of setting up an account via Steemit. They have a really efficient security system!

Thanks for being with me, Lea!!! :-)

what did you have to do to recover your account? they make it sound like if you lose your keys it is all over.

It highly depends on where you created your account and how fast you (re)act. Steemit offers an official recovery process HERE. You may also want to consider the FAQ for more information on the procedure.

Ach sch***! Hoffe du kriegst deinen Account wieder!!!

Danke, ich habe ihn nun wieder :-)
Werde gleich dazu was posten...

Gott sei dank!
Schön zu hören!

Danke Dir!
Übrigens: Hammer Fotografie in Deinem Blog, musste ich direkt mal teilen :-)
Wo ist das entstanden, wenn ich fragen darf?

Danke dir 🙏🏼🦋🌸freut mich voll das es gefällt und danke für das teilen 🙃✨ist in Nordafrika...😇😉
Du bist doch in Portugal oder?

Gerne! Afrika, wow. Das steht auch noch auf meiner Liste :-)

Ich lebe auf den Kanarischen Inseln, aber Portugal mag ich auch sehr!

Aaah ich liebe die canaren! Auf fuerte hab ich bei Homegrown surfen angefangen.
Wenn ich da als yogini Ma n Job hätt würd ich auch sofort dahin!
Super Wahl haste getroffen 🙏🏼🦋🌸✨

Oh, ja Fuerte! Da kann man es auf jeden Fall auch sehr gut aushalten.
Klar, Jobs gibt es hier nicht so viele - aber vlt. können wir ja eines Tages alle von Steem leben :-)

I thought with the Master Password you can enter and time and just change all other passwords?

Thats step one. We've got her into the process now.

What is step two? Email?

account recovery processes via whatever one of the sites , wallets, or dapps a user registered with.

Hi there, @dreamsoftheocean !

We'd just thought that we would like to remind you that we mentioned you in our most recent blog post mentioning how we recognise your loving and charitable work! More so, how we are upvoting all of your content with the aim of finacnailly supporting you, as it is in line with our mission statement

We thought that it would be important to let you know that we are supporting you, hoping that we could improve our relationship together!

Let us know what you think!

Best,

@charitycurator

WARNING! The comment below by @stevelivingston leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

Don't feel bad. They spend a lot of time coming up with these scams, and it only takes a few distracted seconds to fall prey. I'm sure the team will have you back in the driver's seat soon.

Thanks a lot, Matt!!
Some are trying to make me look like a fool now. Great moment for that.
Thanks for your kindness and understanding.

you don’t look like a fool. Nobody would think that. Probably lost a couple hundred STEEM but that’s the worst of it. Life goes on, violations occur. You’ll be back in no time.

I have my account back!!!

in no time was pretty accurate :-)
Thanks for your support!!

hey, really sorry about this, that sucks.
I have resteemed this, hope it helps.
But one question, why do you log in with your owner key in the first place?? that is the one you need in cases like this.
On a day to day basis we only need active or posting keys right?

anyway, sorry to hear about this, hope you get the account back and this just goes to show that everyone can get duped so security is really important because all our work can be gone in a moments notice

It was a mistake to use the owner key, just out of convenience.
I'm happy to let you know that I could recover my account and am posting again :-)

very glad to hear that... I would have been sad if you would have to restart again from scratch.
good to have the one and only back in place

Thanks @felander!!! I'm really happy to have it back :-)

Oh no I am sorry to hear that!

People are getting more and more cunning in hacking accounts!

I downvoted some of 'your' posts and 'your comments' below that post to decrease visibility. This sucks. Virtual hugs, being stolen from just feels like such a huge blow in the stomach :-(

I'm really down. Thanks for the flags and hugs!!

Yes, I would feel down too :-(

I'm back on track!!! Thank you so much for your support, it really means a lot to me :-)

This very bad... I have seen this link lot also ... :((((((

I hope you get your page soon back... or you can get new fast back up.

I did get it back!!!! :-)

This is very good :) I hope you not get this problem more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82