2nd Day After The Hack

in #security6 years ago

I still can't access my Bittrex and Poloniex accounts, both accounts are drained of all the funds (close to 2k$), hacker did that 6 days ago, I only found out about it yesterday.

I'm not gonna go deep inside self pity and cry about my stolen crypto, first day when it was still fresh it was very serious and I wanted to smash something, this was the work of a criminal who needs to be behind bars, and preferably sodomized by his closest neighbors, every day. I don't know how helpful can police be considering internet crypto hack and theft, but I'm thinking of contacting them, maybe they can find the scum.

This all sucks, but I need to move on and keep on producing content, what else to do...

This is a warning for everyone out there who is careless about crypto security and thinks he or she can't be targeted by the criminals, always presume the worst and prepare yourself so you don't need to experience this like I did. I was always a pioneer in crypto, everything in this space I did first, let me be the first one then to take one for the team.

Please be safe and take care of your crypto security, enable 2Factor Authentication, always have a different password on every account, change your passwords regularly, don't click on every link that could lead to phishing site.

Sort:  

Ouch, that stings... I will check your other posts a about the actual thing, but did you have any additional security enabled? Or just the Username password combo?

Listen I was a target of a criminal, what I did or didn't do to protect myself is not important atm.

Yes, sorry about that. I was curious rather than anything else.

Yeah, yesterday I almost hurt myself for not enabling 2FA before. It's so frustrating you can't even imagine. And the exchanges are so slow when it comes to account recovery.

I can imagine the feeling, earlier this year I did a firmware update on a Ledger. And nothing showed up and the firmware borked... Although I knew that it was a solvable (hopefully) problem with some research and maybe a new ledger... I felt sick, that stomach emptiness and shock...

Wish you the best of luck with recovery, both account and otherwise.

Tnx, that mental recovery will be the tougher one I feel.

Hi @moon32walker!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.294 which ranks you at #715 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 713).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 237 contributions, your post is ranked at #146.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07