Self-e-steem

in #self-esteem6 years ago (edited)

This is a personal journey of exploring a brand new environment.

I haven’t even heard about Steem when my son mentioned it. He showed me around different pages to help me get a better understanding. And so tonight, several weeks after signing up, I'm officially writing down my thoughts. This will be my first post in contribution to the community I have yet to explore and get to know.

Some time ago I read a fictional short story on how life would have been if our access to advance technology and medical care were decided upon our standing in community. And no, it wasn't an election that deemed you fit. It was day-to-day passing on of credits by fellow citizens and ordinary members of society that determined if your life is worth saving. Those credits determined what would happen to you after being shot and left for dead in an alley.

In this story, people worked towards the greater good of mankind and to improve the quality of life. With the right attitude towards life and fellow citizens, the seemingly insignificant person would be recognized as valuable. Credits were passed electronically from one to another as a means to say ‘thank you’, ‘great job’, or ‘I love what you did with the place’. Obviously, failure in this fictional society wasn't measured by what you fail to earn, or fail to drive…it was determined by your failure to contribute meaningfully.

Well aware that my account of the story might not be 100% accurate, I'm fascinated by the concept of a community that’s build on value not defined by birth, race, gender or status.

So, let me be clear: I am very new to this platform and well aware of just how little I know about it. I know I have yet to learn a great deal about Steem and you - the Steem Community. I am on this journey to explore, try new things and in the process hopefully also gain a new perspective on ‘value’ at large. For each one of you, who has read this post ‘till this very line, this is what I want you to remember; the next paragraph is for every single one of you:

Each one of us has intrinsic value. Some may say this or that’s important. Others may say such and such make one person greater than another. I say: Your greatest value lies not in the eyes of others, it doesn't rise and fall on the impression someone holds of you. Your greatest value is embedded in the fact that you are human. How you choose to show that value to the world is up to you.

Cheers for now: grow stronger in your true self-e-steem! road-1072823__340.jpg

Sort:  

@mikarios, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Congratulations @mikarios! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30