"Exposed in Darkness" - Self Portrait Contest

A Dark Place

This entry is being submitted to the #self-portrait contest hosted by @careassaktart. More about this contest can be found here : https://steemit.com/contest/@careassaktart/self-portrait-photo-contest---16th-week

Sometimes being exposed and vulnerable at your darkest moments in life make for beautiful healthy outcomes. This self portrait is a reflection of my time that I went dark from the world. It's my inner self. It's what I see even when everyone else sees bright and bubbly. I never let anyone know how I am really feeling.

Life hit me hard this past year. Even though I have a million things to be positive ones, losing my mother, my son, taking care of my elderly disabled father, the stress of having an incurable disease , and just life in general is what makes me feel this way.

I have chosen to post this photo with these words not for sympathy but for a way to vent and express how I am feeling inside. The darkness has consumed me. Most days I just lay in bed. I either cannot physically get out of bed or I just don't want to deal with people.

I take a lot of photos in life. I think I am trying to capture the moments that I know one day won't exist anymore.

I did take this photo specifically for this contest. It was a good content idea and I felt it would help me better understand my own self. Also this is the first time I ever used the timer on my camera.

Nikon D3400 / AP F1.9 / FL 55mm / ISO 1000 / ET 1/15s / Timer 5 secs / Edited in LightRoom using custom overlays and presets created 100% by yours truly

Thanks for Viewing... Have a GREAT WEDNESDAY EVERYONE!

Check out SteemUsa's latest posts HERE

and the Alliance's latests posts as well!

image

U5ds4tK6KzWuBxRMR9R2d8zA4wVgjbk (1).gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Dear, thank you for the sincerity & for the effort. I appreciate you sharing your pain with the world.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you deadgrlsuppastar! You've just received an upvote of 42% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Now that is a powerful and emotional self portrait and so wonderful for you to express yourself so openly both with the photo and your feelings

Thanks for this great post and being an active member of @steemusa !tip

Thanks... I tried with this one...

Posted using Partiko Android

And succeeded

Thanks. I really truly appreciate that!

Posted using Partiko Android

Most welcome

🎁 Hi @deadgrlsuppastar! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congratulations @deadgrlsuppastar! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2000 replies. Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I want to dislike this, but, I cannot. It is part of who you are and what you feel. It is dark and gritty and real.

In a way that most cannot comprehend.

Loss is so profound. Especially the loss of a son and a mother. I am speechless and in awe. This is a magnicent portrait in honesty and artistry. Most excellent job and good luck!

!tip

🎁 Hi @deadgrlsuppastar! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk In Chincoteague Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99