Stop & Look Back

This one famous dude once said:


The unexamined life is not worth living.


Take a moment.

And think back to where you came from. The condition you were in before: how your mind used to be; how you used to be.

face-3324569_1280.jpg
What's the point of climbing to the top, but not taking in the view? I dunno, I've never climbed a mountain.



There has been significant improvement, right? (Even if you think you're in a mental mess right now, your way of thinking has definitely improved. Use it.)

But when have we ever taken time to notice this before? It seems so obvious to me: to analyze our life, our past and all. But I never actually considered doing it. Only recently have I actually started thinking about my own life, instead of others'.
Even you might be spending a lot of time thinking about what others are doing and then, comparing what you are currently doing with what they're doing.

But that's not how it works.

If you want a clear view of your life, start thinking about your past first. Only when you choose to actually see that you were 'this kind of a person' back then, that you understand why you're like this now.

Did you get that? To rephrase: if you want to climb the steps, you gotta first see what step you're on. If you want to grow as a person (i.e. become better in whatever), then you've gotta see which step you are on, as a person.

Backstory Time

I'm someone who's skipped their final year exams. Right now, neither do I have a job (except this beautiful infinite-magic-money-generating-cryptocurrency-social-media-thingy called Steemit) nor do I have any great educational certificate (which tells people that I successfully remembered and forgot class material.)

But does that mean I'm a loser?

Readers: Yes.

Shut up! No, it doesn't.
Because I know how I landed up in this situation. Imagine a person who didn't have legs. They are told to finish a 26 miles (42 KM) marathon. After crawling for a day (man this example is brutal), they end up covering 2 KM (starting to feel like one of those SAW scenes). Now, when they wake up the next day, they're given cyborg legs. Yeah, cyborg legs. With all the hydraulic pumps and all. (Now it feels like a MARVEL movie)

design-3142269_1280.jpg
Never jump off a cliff, no matter what kind of legs you get.


Let's analyze what I'm trying to say.

Should this dude without legs start worrying about the one whole day he took to cover just 2 KM?

Or should he start walking?

And then jogging. And then running?

See how it can be related to life, yours and mine? We forget to see how our capability has changed over time. We forget to actually start walking from this point on. Then jogging. Then running.

Prepare coffee. Sit down. Turn everything else off. And see how far you've come.

Words at the end of the post.

Last year, this month I wasn't in a good place.

meeeeeme.jpg
My condition summarized. In a meme.

So when I see where I was, and see where I'm now, I can feel happy upon seeing the progress and get the will to take the next steps toward my growth.

There was also this moment when I got typhoid. I lay in the hospital bed, with sharp scary thingies (I hate you IV drips. But you saved me so ily too) attached to my arm. Then on the day I got out, oh the freedom I had felt. So when I think back to such moments, I can truly appreciate this moment.

Boy, that was a lot of serious stuff. Anyway, go enjoy your life.
You could die today.

That famous dude was Socrates.

socrates.jpg
Socrates.jpeg



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27