Grow Food to Grow Freedom

in #selfsufficiency6 years ago (edited)


My first potatoes are doing well so far!

I have felt the pull to move somewhere tropical near the ocean for the past couple years. I was born in a town off the gulf coast of Florida and my father is from a Greek island in the Aegean, so that ocean energy is in my blood! When we moved away from the beach to the Atlanta area, we still visited a couple times a year. So, I didn't fully appreciate it because it always felt very available to me. At the time, I also had no clue about the enormous spiritual, mental, emotional AND physical benefits to being near the ocean.

But, the ocean isn't the only thing tugging on me. The desire to grow my own food year round is becoming more and more appealing as well as increasingly vital - taking into account the seemingly impending economic instability. I eat A LOT of produce, so I know I could get away with eating mostly if not all what I grow if I'm in the correct environment to do so. The implications of this are invaluable and seem infinite - self-sufficiency, less environmental impact, freedom, ease of availability, cost, empowerment, knowing where my food comes from, higher vibration food...the list goes on. Not relying on the systems of control in any way possible is SO very alluring.

We currently live in Colorado which has a very short grow season. Not to mention, most fruit trees are really not ideal for this climate - so that leaves out A LOT. I am in love with the idea of waking up and walking out to a food forest of sorts and harvesting my food for the day. Today, I ate my first piece of arugula and spinach from my garden and I could literally feel the immense, nourishing energy as I put it in my mouth. It was life giving in so many ways! I dream of doing this every day as well as some sort of daily oceanside ritual. Bonus, according to the Medical Medium, "fresh unwashed produce contains microorganisms that help with your internal methylation process by producing bioavailable B-12."

We are currently putting out the call to the Universe for a new place to call home. Perhaps central America, Puerto Rica, or even Hawaii. I trust the right fit for us will come to us as a clear opportunity. Anyone else feeling this desire and sense of urgency? Share your thoughts below if so. I'd love to hear from you! Blessings <3


Strawberry blossoms are just now beginning to fruit!


Spinach is on its way!


Onions are doing well and chard has finally popped up



My name is Melina. I'm an Intuitive Healer who's been on her own profoundly challenging and intensive healing journey the last 2 1/2 years. Prior to this time, I was already very focused on holistic nutrition and natural healing modalities. But things shifted drastically after my communion with Mother Ayahuasca in the summer of 2015. I've since learned invaluable lessons about myself, as well as the nature of the reality on Spaceship Earth. Though what I went through was a total upheaval of myself and life as I knew it, I understood that the purpose was not only to heal my (and my family's) wounds, but also to eventually help support others in their healing process.
Through working with my Shamanic Healer, a Somatic Experiencing Therapist, my Intuitive Health Practitioner, and many other healers, I have compiled quite the tool chest. My most recent discovery was the Medical Medium. Much of the diet related suggestions I give come directly from him - as he has helped restore my physical health. Other than authoring Steemit articles, I'm an artist, an advocate for personal sovereignty, and wife of the amazing Chuck Williams (Dash Digital Cash UI/UX Tech Lead). As I continue to heal from chronic illness, I'm working more and more at being an Intuitive Self-Development Adviser (a label I hope is descriptive and clear about the gifts I offer in supporting others). May you find value in what I share here. Blessings on your healing journey. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79