Seriously? - Ramming Speed! - - Ben Hur

in #seriously6 years ago

To me, work is work I'll do just about any job to earn an income: When I moved to the Midlands many moons ago one of my first jobs was at a Tube Polishing company. Basically, I stood at a machine and fed tubes down it all day every day till they were sparkly bright. The 'Gaffers' hated the machines being idle but sadly for them, they had to be turned off so they could be cleaned of swarf every day, otherwise, the thing could get clogged up or even possibly catch fire if not. The Gaffers would pace up and down looking at their watches yelling "Come on, come on!"

Today we are fitting a graphics card to a PC at one of our customers, the conversation went as follows:

Customer: "So how long will it take?

Me:"Umm? 15 - 20 minutes? Basically, we have to shut it down, take the side panel off, remove the blanking plate, fit the card, put the side panel back on, start the PC, probably install the drivers. TBH it might not even take that long but I'm allowing for any problems."

Customer: "Hmm? OK, we can live with 20 minutes I suppose?"

Have I walked through a wormhole and been transported back to 1986?


My actual name is Pete, you can find out Here why I use the username dick_turpin.
https://plus.google.com/u/0/100694334141523232451
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3
https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Creative Commons Licence


Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.
"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
Sort:  

pocketsend:11@dickturpin, play around with the token of fun - POCKET!

Successful Send of 11
Sending Account: pode
Receiving Account: dickturpin
New sending account balance: 144586
New receiving account balance: 10
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: fbc324a663935cc37ceee1601a58bbb249ad3098
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

Successful Send of 11
Sending Account: pode
Receiving Account: dickturpin
New sending account balance: 144586
New receiving account balance: 10
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: fbc324a663935cc37ceee1601a58bbb249ad3098
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

Please do not upvote this post. Checking back I already posted it two months ago. If I knew how I would delete it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85