Monochrome Ruin Window


Nymans Great Hall


Returning to the ruined Great Hall at Nymans House and Gardens, this is one of the original windows that survived the fire.


nyman's window ruin monochrome.jpg)

The photograph has a black and white filter added and is my entry for @old-guy-photos Monochrome Monday initiative and for @brumest's Monomad Contest.

For those who prefer the full colour version this is my entry to @erikah's Seven Day Outside Challenge.


nyman's window ruin.jpg


My preference today is for the colour photograph.

Which do you prefer?


To find out more about Nymans House and Gardens please visit my previous posts:

Nyman's Bricks
Nyman's Indigo
Nyman's Fading Rose Garden


If you'd like to join in the Seven Day Outside Challenge these are the days and the categories:

#WindowMonday – Windows
#DoorTuesday – Doors
#RustArtWednesday – Rust
#GateThursday – Gates
#StatueFriday – Statues
#BrickSaturday – Bricks
#StreetlampSunday – Street Lamps

Use the #sevendaysoutside tag along with the appropriate daily tag, and be sure to tag @erikah!

To find out more about the Monomad Contest please visit @monochromes or @brumest.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Sort:  

Oh! I definitely like the color version. It's very interesting - like a view from the dark :)

Yes. I think it might have been better to have edited the black and white one a bit and remove some of the black frame.

But as I mentioned to Glen I like the bits of wood sticking out underneath the window and decided to leave it as it is. 😊

Hey, @gillianpearce.

I would have to agree with you that I like the colored one better, but only because the frame is already so dark that the outer part of the image doesn't change a whole lot in black and white. Plus, because of that thick dark framing and the green of the grass, it's more of a contrasting photo, which isn't always the case when put up against a black and white photo.

I do, however, hope that one or the other does well in either or both contests you're entered in. A good dual purpose use of one photo.

I do, however, hope that one or the other does well in either or both contests you're entered in.

Thank you @glenalbrethsen. There's not much chance in one of them I would say. it tends to be more professional photographers that win the prizes. I use it more as a way to narrow down my choices of what to post. 😁

I did think about editing the black and white to make the frame smaller but I like the bits of wood sticking out underneath the window and decided to live it as it is.

I think it works for what it's meant to be. And I've noticed that the professional photographers do generally win, which I guess is to be expected. I would hope that there would be room for others, though, because subject matter and composition should be as important as clarity, effect, or whatever else is being judged. Besides, it's either the higher end camera or the editing software doing the heavy lifting, right? :)

Good pictures are good pictures, regardless of what they were taken with. My hope is that's the main criteria.

Good pictures are good pictures, regardless of what they were taken with. My hope is that's the main criteria.

It depends on the particular contest @glenalbrethsen and, like many things around here, many are very "in crowd" supportive.

I wish I knew how to get into one of those groups where you end up with over 100 votes every time you post. They might not be worth much now but when Steem goes back up that would make a huge difference.

My most favourite contests have all fizzled out which is a shame as they were more about creativity than photographic skills per se.

Have you left the engagement league for the timing being or just taking a break? 😊

Nope. Haven't left the engagement league. With my rather pitiful effort last week, I managed to make it to No. 77. :)

Taking a break isn't quite it, either. My wife had her hernia surgery and couldn't do a lot of things for a couple of weeks, and so I needed to be more attentive to her and those things she might normally do. She's down in Mexico now visiting sisters and other relatives so I'm back to whatever time I want to dedicate to this for the rest of this week and most of next.

Yep. I knew you were busy supporting your wife and that she had now gone to Mexico. 😁

Sounds like the next couple of weeks will be a more accurate representation of how engaged you're feeling and how much time to want to dedicate to this.

I'm finding that I'm dedicating less and less time here. Somehow I've managed to stay in the top 20 but I'm not sure how long that will last. Especially as I've decided to start a new account for some Steem Monsters posts so as not to bore people here.

Mind you, there aren't that many people left around to bore anyway! 😂

Anyway. It's nice to have your around a bit more again.

Congratulations @gillianpearce! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Color on todays shot.

Only if you scroll down @old-guy-photos. I had to try and keep everyone happy! 😂

I love the monochrome one ... giving so much atmosphere to it <3

That's nice to have a vote for the monochrome one @anutu. So far everyone else has preferred the coloured one. 😁

Yeahh, I am a monochrome lover :) but honestly, this is such a great shot!!

Thank you @anutu. I love monochrome but only in small doses! 😂

Yes, this is true ... besides I love to work with color energy / color energy therapy a lot ... this is good for the balance :) @gillianpearce

That is interesting @anutu. Is colour energy therapy your job or something you do for a hobby?

I started to study psychology, color energy and psychological color aspects and then design. I was working quite a time globally as an interior designer for hotel spa retreats and then styling hotels and creating operative and marketing concepts with this focal point. But the moved to a tiny island into a tiny 400-year-old house :)

Besides I am color therapy practitioner and develop nature remedies.

Some days ago I started a series on color energy on my blog.

What is your passion? Photography?

Sounds like you've had some interesting careers @anutu.

Where is your tiny island?

I don't really have a passions @anutu. I'm more of a dabbler.

I've always liked photography and Steemit has give me some purpose for taking photographs which is fun.

If I have any passion I would say it is my family and friends. 😊

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.817 which ranks you at #4395 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 4396).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 441 contributions, your post is ranked at #233.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Sorry young lady, that's from inside again, does not qualify :)

Oops. Sorry @erikah. I so love my photographs taken through windows I keep forgetting.

I must try harder! 😂

No problem :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27