LiTTLE CHERiNE Book 02 - post058

“No. Bring the little ones here. I need to heal them first. They will also feel better being with their big sister.”






Previous Post 057


834

As soon as Tasso left, I called Officer Savva and asked him to come after work to see me. When he came I told him the whole story.

“If this should turn into a police case, it is better you know from before.”

“If it does, before you go to the station, call me. I will come to the local station and have a talk with the commanding officer. Who would adopt two Albanian children, Roberto? Not many Greeks would and certainly no Albanian family will.”

“I do not know. We can worry about that later. First I have to heal them.”


The next day Tasso called to warn me he is arriving with the two kids. I called Savva to let him know and he came over immediately.

“It was not necessary, there was no trouble. The father was quite happy to take the money.”

“I will stay.”

When they arrived, Aganthi rushed to take them. They clung to her, their only shelter in a world that had turned upside down for them.

“Aganthi, take Wendy to help you bathe them. Put on their new clothes, it will make them feel better. Soon as you have finished bring them here. We’ve got ice cream and cakes for them. Let’s spoil them a bit.”

Savva sat frowning (συνοφρύωμα), hardly speaking at all. I got us a couple of coffees and we sat on the balcony having a smoke, each of us deep in his own thoughts.

When the kids came out, the snot had been washed off their little faces and they looked quite cute in their new clothes. Aganthi’s little sister preened as she admired herself in a mirror. The little boy was more interested in the toys we gave him. Neither of them would stray more than a metre or two from Aganthi. She had also washed her face, her eyes still puffy from crying as she came and kissed me on the cheek.

“You kept your word.”

“Happy now?”

“Not until I can also make you happy.” Savva grunted and I kept my face turned away from him.

“You still have not understood that all I need is to feel your happiness for me to be happy?”

“That is you being stupid. I owe you.”

“Then let me be stupid. That is what makes me happy.”

“I know.” Savva grunted again and I realised he was laughing.

He returned that evening with his wife. They had brought presents for the two little ones.


The next morning was a big one for us, we were moving back into our own home, so I kept the healer, it would not harm the kids to wait a couple of days. When we got to our new home they disappeared, running wild, trying to see everything. Aganthi wanted to quieten them down, but I asked her to let them play, let them feel happy.

That evening Savva and his wife visited to bring us a house-warming (καλο ρίζικο) present - a plant, as is usual. We kept them with us for supper and his wife was soon sitting on the carpet playing with the little ones.

“When you are fully recovered Roberto, I would like us to start the broadcasting again. With so many illegal immigrants we are having a serious rise in crime.”

“I do not think it will help much, not when crimes are being committed out of hunger and desperation.”


835

Gradually the house filled up as visitors jumped over to visit us. When Socrati turned up with Sonja, they had Andrea and Britta with them. Claudia hung around her and they soon disappeared into our new bedrooms. Of course everybody had wanted to see my peculiar arrangements that they had heard of.

They stared at my bedroom and I must admit it was stunning but also strange.

Jonathan walked around, examining the layout. He called to me from the other side of the room. “Robert. Is this the typical future home of Cherinians?”

“This is only my own crazy idea of how I want to live. I’m sure others will find better ways of arranging things to suit our lifestyle.”

His face set and he took the plunge. “Which of these rooms will be my daughter’s?”

“I thought she had a room at your home. You kicking her out? Jonathan, she is still a child, she has two loving parents. Why should she move here. In the future yes, it will probably happen gradually, but not now. When she visits, she will have a choice of rooms.”

The atmosphere relaxed and we were soon checking out the rest of the house. There was silence when I showed them the underground room that is to be our tissue bank in Greece. I felt their feelings of awe, as if they were in a temple.


The next morning Cherine asked if we can go to Kefalari that afternoon as an outing.

“I was looking for a good excuse. Thanks love.” I called the wife of Savva.

“I want to take my girls out. Give them a chance to dress up and drive the boys wild. My problem is, what do I do with the two little ones. Could you watch them for me, just two to three hours?”

“I have a better idea. Make an evening of it. I know you enjoy going to tavernas for supper. Bring clothes with and let them sleep here. It won’t be a problem.”

As I closed the phone I found most of my girls staring at me. “That was sneaky.”

“I hope so. Wouldn’t they make a lovely family? Make sure none of you let Aganthi know what I am trying to do.”

“Why?”

“I don’t want to build up her hopes until we are sure.”

“You better tell us as soon as we are sure, because I can’t keep secrets from her. She feels it.”

“You two have become very close Wendy. Seems every new girl we get adopts you.”

“Claudia is still my special friend.”

“I know love. I think all the girls are your best friend. You are the type of person everybody falls in love with.”

“No. You are still my very best friend.”

“I don’t count my love. You enslaved me from the first second I laid eyes on you.”

Any parent, uncle, aunt, cousin or adult in general who has dealings with girls between the ages of eight and eighteen will tell you of the reaction such a conversation will have on the girls. It is too sweet, too sentimental for them. They will roll up their eyes, make fun of it. Not my girls - unless they want to tease me. They think normal girls are silly and have little patience for their giggles and cutting remarks.

Never slow to grab an opportunity, the girls made sure we made a night of it. During supper, Rosie wanted to know what had happened to the other half of our celebration.

“You told us it would happen over two nights.”

“The second half was exchanged for something even more wonderful. Aganthi.”


836

The twins nodded in unison. “That is better than a celebration.”

Cherine grinned, her eyes twinkling with mischief. “Diana, you are not doing a good job teaching your babies. They are letting Robert flummox (μπερδεύω, συγχύζω, σαστίζω) them with his sweet talk. Girls, Robert says things like that to melt our hearts to get out of having to think up a wonderful way for us to celebrate. You fell for it.”



Next Post 059

I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love.




Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)
10th October, 2018
* posted on Steemit: 10th October, 2018



For those who wish to be notified of sequels
@nikosnitza
If you wish to have your name added above, I would be honoured.


The arthur.grafo Steemhost pages





Sort:  

Congratulations @arthur.grafo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Pigan kai sto neo spiti toys... apo oti katalava einai para para poli xligato... :)))
Giati sto telos eipe sti Dianna oti de kanei kali doylia??? Ta kakomathenei o Robert???
Kalimera....

Sta Agglika, ean po:

  • I want to tease you

metafrazete

  • Θέλω να σε πειράξω

I Cherine einai pirahtiri, syneheia thelei na perazi ton Robert. Se afti ti periptosi, peirakse kai tin Diana, me to na tis pei oti den ehei mathei sta didima na min peftoun thima ston Robert. Diladi, enoouse oti o Robert eipe oti i Aganthi pire to meros tou defterou meros apo to giortasmo, opos eihe yposhethi o Robert, epeidi den kseri ti na kanei gia to deftero giortasmo, kai ta mora, symfonontas mazi tou, ton dikaiosane...

Kai na tsakothoune, ekeino pou panta einai i alitheia pou den allazei, olloi tous, i kathe mia, latrevei tois alles. Kai na min metrisoume to horo sto void, pou dynamonei tin agapi tous kathos prospathoune na ginoun ena kai moirazonte ta moria (gemismena me agapi), kai ston kathimerini zoi tous, zoune me tois skepseis tous anoihtes, kai syneheia esthanonte to ti aisthanete /aisthanonte oi alles. (se olla afta, περιλαμβάνω τον Ροβερτo).

Otan i kopelles (propantos i Cherine) peirazoun ton Robert, ekeinos einai eftihis - propantos otan kataferoun na ton kerdisoun sto piragam (i Cherine, schedon panata). Oi kopelles ypopsiazonte oti tous afini na kerdisoun, alla den kseroun gia sigoura...kai etsi heronte...

Den to eksigisa poli kala, alla me to kairo that tous deis na peirazoun i mia tin alli, horis klamata kai nevra. I kathe mia aisthanete oti tha proitmous e na pethani para na ponesi tin alli.

ti wraia!!! makari na eixame ki emeis tetoius anthropoys!!!

katse na parw twra kamia pliroforia apo sena giati se ligo the tha prolaveneis na eksigeis... :)))))

Panta tha eho kairo gia na sou eksigo, kai, isos den to ksereis, alla, otan sou deino eksigiseis, me voithas kai emena, epeidi mou deineis logo to na ksana-skefto ti einai oi pragmatiki logoi piso apo afta pou eginan i skeftikan.

Afto me voitha kai me to 14th Vivlio....pou na deis pos mplekome syneheia, epeidi eho ekatotantades pou einai meros stin istoria...kai ego eimai enas (i dio) apo aftous.
:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71