LiTTLE CHERiNE Book 02 - post191

To protect my loved ones, I insisted all the taxis stay close to each other and that if some of us pass through the traffic light and the rest are caught by the red light, we must stop and wait for them. If you have ever tried to direct a taxi driver in Greece as to how he should drive, you will know what an impossible task it was. I only relaxed once we were all in our home.






Previous Post 190


1189

We all visit Josephine (Mama) whenever we can and I was greatly pleased to see the effect she is having on our Adam. He has mellowed a lot and is starting to ask us rather than order. He speaks to us as people rather than parts of itself, over which it feels superior. I hope she will stay a while longer.

“I will wait Robert. This battle you are in, it is dangerous. Not only for your group, but for all the people around you. They have contacts and Talents all over the world and you must keep that in mind. If they feel they are losing the battle they are capable of taking extreme action. To kill a whole city would mean nothing to them if it ensures their survival and supremacy.”

“I have faced that thought, but do not see any acceptable answer. To move out, far from any humans would only tempt him to take extreme actions earlier. There are many nuclear weapons available from the ex-USSR countries, for him to use one and destroy Athens is not acceptable. We do not have the right to risk the lives of the innocent. To move out puts my loved ones at risk. I am torn Mama Jo.”

“If you challenged him to destroy you, is there any way you could secure the rest if you take the protector with you?”

“No, not that I can think of a way.”

“Robert, you may be wrong, if that is what you really want to do.”

“You have an idea Rob?”

“Bring them to my world. We have no evidence we would be threatened there yet. Anyway, even if it took you years to resolve the conflict, you could still time your return to them so that you will, as far as they are concerned, have been away only for hours.”

This brought cries of protest from all. Not only was it that they would not abandon me as they put it, there were practical considerations also. Alki and Elia felt that to leave and possibly be away for years would cause them tremendous financial damage. With that argument I could not argue, as I saw the sense in it. With almost all the Cherinians now dependent on them, it would be a catastrophe for us. However, I refused to accept the argument that they would be abandoning me.

“You would not, you would be freeing my hands. I am held back in my handling this as I should because of the fact that I have to leave the protector to watch over you. There is only so much I can do as the void. If you were all gone, the protector would only have to concentrate on keeping me safe.”

“I am your Cherine and I belong by your side, whatever you say! Robert, I will not leave and you cannot make me.”

“How dare you challenge me like that! Cherine, how could you do that! Do you think you could use that argument and not be followed by all the others? You give them the right to challenge me too. I will not have their lives put at risk by your thoughtless words. You all go.”

She started a behind the scenes campaign, convincing my girls that to help me they must all go while she stays. Her argument was that as long as she did stay I would not take foolish risks with my life as she would always be next to me. I felt the bitter pain in my girls and their anger, but she swung them over to her side. I was forced to compromise and accept their condition that she be allowed to stay or else they would all refuse to leave.

“Alki, I seem to recall an agreement that when it was a matter of the safety of the group I would be obeyed without argument!”

“Roberto when you are the first one to break every rule, do not be surprised that your family does too. Anyway, I have discussed it with Elia. He is prepared to leave if I am allowed to stay. Our fortunes are no longer separate. We agree they belong to the Cherinians, so I will handle all the funds for us.”

“Marian would kill me if I agreed to that.”

“She has cried, but she has also seen the necessity. Not for my sake Robert, for the sake of our children and all the Cherinians. Robert I stay!”

“Damn it!! You are both tying my hands. How can I be crazy if I am risking your lives too.”

“So Cherine was right?”


1190

“Don’t be silly Alki, you know what I mean. I have to do the unexpected. Acting prudently, carefully planning each strategy would help them. They have the intelligence to work out what my course of action should be. If I am unpredictable they cannot.”

“Do not forget Robert that someone who is always unpredictable becomes predictable.”

It took days for me to capitulate, but capitulate I finally did. As we planned the exodus and I saw Cherine was determined to be with me every step of the way, which meant she too would come with to deliver them safely, I did think of being sneaky and getting the protector to strand her there, but I love and respect her too much to do it. When I decided that, she turned and gave me a grin and I was glad I’d decided this way. She had obviously thought of it herself.

“Girls, I want a few nights of loving you before you go. Keep in mind though that there is nothing stopping me doing things the other way around also. I could come to visit, spend a day or two there and return within minutes of leaving here.” That cheered them up a little. Marian too.


During this time, our last few days, Ordinx and Solomon stayed out of the way, leaving me free to mostly live in our bedroom, spending my time storing within my mind the scents, tastes and the tactile sensations of holding their beloved bodies. I was a true hummingbird, sipping at every little flower as often as I could. Even my healer did not protest and kept my energy levels high. Just as important, no, even more important, was the sensing of their love and stamping the feel of their minds and personalities within me. Cherine spent most of this time cuddling her wives and giving them enough love to tide them over our separation. Proof of their great love for her was in the way they all split their time between her and myself.

Aganthi secretly planned for a while to run away so that she could return when it is too late for me to take her with, but I pretended I did not know and allowed her to realise by herself that she would not be helping me. It stung her particularly harshly to feel that she will be safe while I remain in danger. Her trust in me did win the day and I showed her my pride and love in many ways so that she never doubts how much she means to me.


During these moments of almost painful love and ecstasy I was called from our bedroom. Ordinx and Solomon were waiting to speak to me.

“You know that I have gifts, some not similar to yours. Come Robert, try to see into my mind, see if you can take any.”

I thought it was an offer and gladly did so. It had not been an offer, it had been a challenge. His mind was too alien, I kept slipping off it. I finally acknowledged defeat.

“You know that this body is not as yours is, to lose it would not be any different than you changing your clothes. It is the same for Solomon and if you could not enter my mind, there is no possibility you can reach into his. We have each discussed the situation with our people. They feel that to accept your loyalty and friendship, the help you have given us, without standing by you at this time of peril would shame us. We have decided therefore that we are to provide you with an army.”

I felt my heart race as I suddenly realised they were right. To have allies who could not be harmed by my enemy would add the element of surprise and strengthen me.

“Solomon, your people are already helping, they have saved us at least once already, but what do the two of you have in mind, what kind of army are you talking about, what size, two hundred, three?”

“You may count them in the millions. Let us explain to you our strategies.”

I felt faint at the generosity of their offer. “You two have shaken me! Could you give me a second, I think I will need a strong cup of coffee and a cigarette or two.” My girls and the rest of the Cherinians had been listening and were all in shock. It was as if a sudden wave of hope had struck at them and my comment brought them back to life, suddenly they were filling the house with their excited chatter.

I heard Jonathan comment to Keith, “My god! If they can do this, you do realise this means they could have invaded and take over our planet if they had wanted to?”

I smiled. “You see Solomon? As your people were worried that I, as the void, could destroy you, so do now my people see the same possibility. Is it not good that we are such friends that the fears need not live longer than a breath or two?”

“My friend, if the fears were to live that long, then our people would have to spend an eternity in fear while we wait to take a breath!”



Next Post 192

I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love.




Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)
11th March, 2019

* posted on Steemit: 11th March, 2019



For those who wish to be notified of sequels
@nikosnitza
If you wish to have your name added above, I would be honoured.


The arthur.grafo Steemhost pages





Sort:  

Τελικά τα κορίτσια συμφώνησαν μαζί του ε?

Στο τέλος πάλι δε το κατάλαβα οι εξωγήινοι φοβούνται ή ο Ρόμπερτ?

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98