LiTTLE CHERiNE Book 02 - post192

“My friend, if the fears were to live that long, then our people would have to spend an eternity in fear while we wait to take a breath!”






Previous Post 191


1191

That broke the icy chill Jonathan’s words had brought to those who did not know our alien friends that well. Nobody wanted me to go outside to smoke and they tolerated my habit as they surrounded us in excitement.

I asked, “Tell me what you plan.”

Ordinx replied, “It is a very simple plan Robert. If we were to land our people on every continent, within every city, we could search out those who are users of gifts or powers. If they are part of those who are your enemy we would then advise the Sparklers we bear within us, who could take their souls and hold them for their return to another life. By the time they are old enough to use their powers again, you will have changed the whole world for the better. It would be too late for them.” My heart sank. The plan was good and very tempting, but I could not accept it. I did not need to speak for everyone to feel this in me. “But why Robert?”

“We have fought them, even at a time when I was in a rage after they hurt my girls, yet I did not kill any of them. If their own master did, then their blood is on his hands. We took their powers but have avoided killing, and I was hoping to end this war without us doing so.”

Solomon nodded to Ordinx, “I feared as much. I told you he has the soul of a Sparkler.”

“Robert, I do not see that there would be more than a thousand of them, more likely far less. Would that be such a terrible price to pay to ensure the safety of your people? Will not the growth of the Cherinians alleviate (ανακουφίσει) untold suffering on your planet, would not millions of lives be saved in the end?”

“I cannot do it Ordinx, I am sorry. I am the wrong man for this. Alki, I cannot deny all of you the right to survive because of my own weakness and beliefs. I suggest you decide amongst yourselves who could lead such a battle and I will pass on control over my protector for the duration.”

“You would accept Cherine?”

In a small voice, I answered, “Yes, though I hope it is not her you choose to carry my guilt”

He gestured at her to keep quiet and she waited. “You know that to keep you safe she would kill ten thousand if necessary; there is probably not one of us that would not, for you and for their own loved ones.”

“I know.” I whispered.

Alki answered, “Then you are our only hope. None of us would dare to accept your offer and bloody the hands of our people. We will not have it said that the Cherinians were born out of the blood of Normal humans, even if they are evil.”

“Alki, I have already bloodied my hands.”

“And I was hoping it would end there. Not one Cherinian or Normal human would find it in their hearts to lay any blame on you for what happened in the past.”

I gave a weak smile. “You are applying double standards to prove your argument.”

“With a leader as crazy as you, what other way is there?”

I gave up on that aspect and turned to Solomon. “If you enter the homes or offices of our enemies, they are bound to try and attack. Could you use their attacking of you to find the doors in the minds from where their power is born and seal those doors shut without killing them, as you did with the energy net generators?”

“What you call the energy net is an energy we could handle, it was not necessary for us to enter their minds, only to send the correct energy back up the path it took to the source. As you cannot enter our minds, so can we also not enter the minds of your people. We can stimulate parts of it with energy but only if it is not necessary for us to enter. Robert, if their attack involves a form of energy, we could.”


1192

I queried the protector and it agreed with me. “Most forms of their powers, as the opposite of our gifts, involve energy. For me to have empathy or send and receive love, those are not truly emissions of energy as such, more of a giving of myself. For me to use a power to destroy another body or mind I need to send a form of energy. There will be enemies who only emit emotions, dark emotions of hate and fear, and others who sap the willpower and destroy the mind in the same way. If your people cannot neutralise them, those powers I can handle. If they total a thousand and you have neutralised nine hundred of them, we will have broken the back of their organisation and then we can sop up the rest almost at our convenience. With such a plan I could be effective.”

“We would have to provoke them to use their powers against us which may not be an effective method. They will soon realise how we are attacking them. We will however join your battle and fight in accordance with your conscious.”

“If they are given to understand that using their powers destroys them, it would paralyse them. They lose the battle either way. Perhaps your people could explain after neutralising them that they used the path of energy back to their brains. As long as they think we did it, they would hesitate to use their powers.”

“I may have feared losing my powers Roberto, but I would have feared disobeying the Master even more.”

“I understand Perikli, still, we gain a psychological advantage.”

I, and the others, thanked them profusely for their offer to help. Talking of psychological advantages, just knowing they stood by us was all that was needed to make the departure of my girls a lot happier.

“Robert, one last favour. The energy food has grown too rich, we are beginning to breed too fast.”

“Sorry Solomon, I did not think of that. I wanted to have a large amount of energy available, I will handle that immediately.”

Ordinx had one last question. “Meli, with your departure to an alternate universe, do we lose the use of your world?”

“I’ve been there before and it did not happen. Would you like me to stay?”

“No. If we have to wait, then we do so.”

The other girls smiled in sympathy, knowing she had hoped for a moment, to have a reason for staying. I rubbed her cheek softly. “Too honest for your own good?”

“You admit it would be good for me to stay?”

I chuckled. “Don’t try using sophistries with me, you know what I meant.”


“It feels strange. We are just the three of us as we started out.”

“Alki, I am glad it is you who has stayed with us. You have always given us strength.”

“You are going to enjoy being alone with Cherine again?”

“I think we will both enjoy it, but we will also be deeply missing the others.”

“Well, I will be busy. Even if the idea is viable, until Keith can finish his research it will be necessary for us to invest.”

I handed him a piece of paper. “I have made notes of what technology will grow dramatically within the next year. The names of the successful companies are there also. I hope it helps you.”

“How did you get this?”

“As we discussed. When I accompanied the girls I jumped back to our future, looked in a library for financial magazines, made these notes and returned.”

“What about your scruples?”

“If you invest wisely, do not pump too much money into any single company, that should not hurt anyone. It also makes a difference knowing that I am not doing this for my own personal gain.”


1193

“It has been a long tiring day Robert. Take your little girl to bed, her eyes are closing.”

“It is okay pappou, I was thinking, Robert, that person who is writing our story, isn’t he also in danger?”

“I hope not love.”

“If I was the spider I would be looking for him. I would then make certain I have his writings every day so that I know what we are doing.”

“She has a point Roberto.”

“I do not have the time or means to find him now. I hope he reads this and has the sense to withhold his writing from the internet until our war has ended.”

“Robert, he thinks we are just a story.”

“I know…and he’s messing with my mind. Every time I open the diary, I find he has changed what I last wrote - and I think it changes my memories of what happened!”



Next Post 193

I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love.




Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)
12th March, 2019

* posted on Steemit: 12th March, 2019



For those who wish to be notified of sequels
@nikosnitza
If you wish to have your name added above, I would be honoured.


The arthur.grafo Steemhost pages





Sort:  

An katalava kala out kakoi kratan enan Sparkler...POS ton epiadan?
Gia nadoyme to sxedio ton eksogiinon that piadei?

An katalava kala out kakoi kratan enan Sparkler...POS ton epiadan?

To diavasa dyo fores alla den vrisko pou sou edosa tin entyposi oti piasane oi ehthtroi enan Sparkler. Mporeis na mou peis pio paragrafo?

.

Poso kanei ena cappuccino stin Athina tora? Otan eimoun ekei, to 2004, stin Agora plirona E1.70 (pigeiana ekei gia na agoraso Meli me to kilo kai tarama), stin Kifissia, E6.50 kai sto Kefalari E8...kai isos parapano.

το ξανακοίταξα το κείμενο και πρέπει εκείνη τη στιγμή που το διάβαζα να έκανα λάθος γιατί τώρα και εγώ δεν το κατάλαβα πουθενά να λέει κάτι τέτοιο.....
Από 1, 50 έως 1,70 ευρώ έχει ο καφές όταν τον πάρεις στο χέρι εάν κάτσει σε καφετέρια έχει τουλάχιστον 3... Και 3 τον θεωρούμε και φθηνό.... Για τον ταραμά δεν ξέρω πόσο έχει αλλά για το μέλι παίζουνε διάφορες τιμές από 7 έως και 20 μπορεί να φτάσει ανάλογα με την ποιότητα...
Γενικά η ζωή στην Αθήνα είναι ακριβή....

To cappuccino einai ligo pio akrivo apo ta alla (kafe, tsai ktl) ekei pou sihnazo einai R30, diladi, gyro sta E1.80 (ohi megali diafora, alla, ohi sto hairi, se kalo perivallon, me servitoro kai kanonika flitzanai.

Ehtes to vradi kai simera palepsa me to computer gia na kathariso ena HD kai na valo ekei to Win 7.

Ekei pou thelo na eomai asfalis, tha synehiso me to XP, alla gia paradeigma, mou edose kapoios merika tokens kai gia na ta valo se wallet, den mporousa me to XP (ftaiei to oti to Firefox prepei na einai pio kainourgio.

Tora, afto to mynima einai apo to Win 7....kai etsi ta pao kala...kai ksero oti tha ziepsi o filos mou, epeidi to eho kataferei na to kano na miazei me to XP (dyladi pio efkolo na to douleveis, eno to diko tou ton ehei trellanei...

Katafera kai evala ta tokens sto wallet, alla, den mporo na ta steilo pouthena...os pou na to katafero, den ehoun kammia aksia...etsi panta einai i zoi. :(

Καλημέρα, ασχολείσαι αρκετά με τους υπολογιστές ε?

Συμφωνώ απόλυτα με την τελευταία σου πρόταση.... Είναι κάτι που το εισπράττω σχεδόν καθημερινά....

Είναι κάτι που το εισπράττω σχεδόν καθημερινά....

Ti ennoeis? Oti den vgazeis tipota apo ta tokens sou i oti vgazeis lefta kathimerina?

oxi sto oti mexri na kataferw kati (otidipote einai ayto, genika) exei xasei tin ajia toy genika gia tin zwi oxi sta nomismata!

To doro pou mou kanane einai arketa megalo. Katafera kai ta evala se kainourgio wallet...alla...apo kei kai pera, den kataferno tipota. Tha to liso to provlima....olla einai thema to na eisai peismataris :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28