LiTTLE CHERiNE Book 02 - post194

“If the person called you, it was not possible to tell from the voice whether it was male or female?”






Previous Post 193


1196

“Ordinx, there is no way I would know whether it was the spider calling or just someone pretending to be him. As for the voice, there is technology that can change the voice either way. If it was the spider, I can only be certain of one thing - I did not hear the true voice. It is aware I know this and by choosing a male voice it may have done so thinking I will then think it is a female, whereas it is a male. Or it may be a female. Either way it does not matter.”

“You asked that we do not attack the powers of any person we identify as being the enemy until you give the word. We have identified eight persons up to now.”

“Good. Let’s not do anything yet Ordinx. Once we have identified enough of them to make a strong impact, then we attack.”

“That leaves you open to attack in the meantime.”

“I am hoping they will. They will be forced to use new to us powers. The more we know about them, the better.”

“You were about to order food? This body does not require nourishment, but I enjoy the taste of certain of your foods. I may join you?”

I grinned. “Ordinx, it is not the food you enjoy, it is the alcohol. It would be our pleasure to eat and get merry with you.”

In the old days I would have instructed the protector to first protect the others. I have matured though and appreciate the importance of my staying alive so as to continue to be their protector. By now my trust in the abilities of the protector are absolute and I also trust my healer to be capable of saving any of us, even should our bodies be almost totally destroyed.

When the food arrived, I went to the front door to pay and take the food. As I stood in the open doorway handing the money over, I felt a tingling. Before I could react I collapsed, my body totally paralysed. Cherine screamed. The young man who had brought the meals placed the boxes on the floor and knelt by my side.

“Get away from him.” Alki was ready to charge at the young man who looked up frightened.

“I did not do anything. He just collapsed. It must be a heart attack.”

Alki grabbed the money from my hand and got rid of him and closed the door. It made no difference, even if anyone had shot at us, the protector would stop the bullets. What it and the healer could not do was get rid of my paralysis.

“Roberto, what must we do?”

*Cherine, I cannot even talk. It is almost impossible to breathe. Tell them not to panic. If necessary we let the body die and I will wait for them as the void.*

“We will not let your body die!” She told the other two what I had said.

“Ordinx, we must carry him to the room where our medical equipment is. We can put him on the respirator there. Will your heart continue to beat Roberto mou?”

*I do not know. At the start I could still feel my body, but it has faded away. This is a mental attack of some sort. It may be that the only way for me to fight it is to become the void. I’ll return soon.*

It did not matter what energy I placed around my body I could not see even traces of any energy attacking me. Since it was pointless to stay as the void I returned.

*The attack must have been almost instantaneous. They probably shut down or gave my brain the order to shut down part of itself. They are not attacking me now. I have to find a way to undo what they did to me.*

“Robert, I’m coming in to your mind. Let me search.”


1197

*What if the same happens to you, the power they used may still be inside my brain.*

“I’m coming Robert! Please don’t fight me.”

*This is a really strange time for you to be coming love - you are really getting kinky.*

*Just shut up, be funny later. I need to concentrate.*

While she was searching, my sight went. Then my sense of taste. *Cherine! Get out now!! It is shutting down my brain, you’ll get trapped in here. I’m leaving, I cannot afford to get trapped in my skull. Get out my love, please.*

I could not leave while I sensed her within me and she refused to leave. She was using my healer and the protector to help her.

*What part of your brain is being shut down now?*

*Sense of touch.*

I was no longer aware of anything outside my body. Although I am able to search the brains of others, I am not able to search through my own brain. That is true for all of us. What Cherine was doing made sense in that way, but I was terrified that whatever was doing this to me could leap over into her mind and then brain. For that reason I abstained from remaining in contact with her, not arguing any further and keeping my mind ready for instant flight should I sense my thinking processes under attack.

I felt a tingling and then my whole body seemed to be on fire. Even within this torment, I managed to prepare myself for leaping off into the void. But then I heard Cherine, *Hold on darling, we found it.*

It was as if everything within me went crazy. I saw flashes of lightning that hurt my eyes, heard sounds that tore at my eardrums and my skin continued to burn and then it itched and I felt as if I was being torn open by hundreds of metal spikes. If I could have I would have screamed, but since I could not, I screamed in my mind, broadcasting it.

Suddenly, as if it had all been only my imagination, all the sensations stopped. I could feel myself lying on a bed, air being forced into my lungs by a mask on my face. I ripped it off as I opened my eyes.

Only Ordinx was standing by my side. He saw me looking and looked down. I turned my head and saw Alki unconscious on the floor. Even as I looked at him he groaned and moved. A few minutes later Cherine was by my side. Ordinx helped Alki to his feet.

“Christe kai Panagia! Roberto mou, you sent me your pain - how could you bear it!”

“I did not have any option.” I smiled, still too weak to get up. I checked with the healer and it promised me I will soon be fully recovered.

Ruefully I told them, “Well, I wanted them to attack to find out what other weapons they had!”

Cherine was livid. “You think it was funny! You nearly died!”

“How could I? I’ve got the healer, the protector and you! This power must belong to a cracker, the damn thing was like a virus, using my own brain to replicate itself and attack other centres of my brain. I do not think I want to learn this power.”

I had to explain to Ordinx what I was talking about. He immediately let his people know to be on the lookout for it.

“We better eat before the food gets cold.”

“It must have got cold a long time ago. Are you serious Roberto, you want to chance eating it after what you just went through?”

“Yes, I’m hungry. As I’d thought of doing, I’m going to eat it in the garden. That should give them at least the shock of seeing I survived their attack, and if the food is poisoned, they will be convinced their attack left me mentally damaged - as you are probably wondering too! If my healer says it is poisoned and can handle the poison I shall show a great amount of relish in eating it. ”


1198

Alki said, “I hope you will not be upset that I do not join you? I’d rather open tinned food.”

“Cherine?”

She shrugged, “Even the tinned food could be poisoned. If you eat, then so will I.”

I opened the boxes and tasted of every meal. All was fine. I took a piece of bread and dipped it in some tarama and ate it. The healer warned me the bread is poisoned. It was able to alter a few of the chemicals that made the poison fatal and I suffered no ill effects. It confirmed it is safe for Cherine to eat it also, as her healer knows what steps to take. I asked the protector to warm the food for us - I think it did a much better job than any microwave oven can.

The three of us sat at our garden table and ate, Alki and Ordinx avoiding the bread. Cherine had a couple of slices, but I ate all of it. Cherine went to the kitchen and made coffees for us as we sat drinking our wine. The healer had been altering the poison once it was within my mouth and a side effect was it gave the bread a disgusting taste, so I used the wine to clear my palate. Once the coffee came, I drank it slowly with a cigarette and then we returned inside.



Next Post 195

I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love.




Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)
15th March, 2019

* posted on Steemit: 15th March, 2019



For those who wish to be notified of sequels
@nikosnitza
If you wish to have your name added above, I would be honoured.


The arthur.grafo Steemhost pages





Sort:  

akoma de katalava time dinami exei o exthros? Exei tilepathitikes ikanotites?

Loading...

Hey @arthur.grafo! Glad to meet you here! Have you tried Partiko? It’s a really cool Steem app! You download it, login using your Steem account, and boom, you can use Steem on your phone!

What’s even cooler is that they reward you Partiko Points for using it, and you can cash it out for STEEM!

Join using this link: https://partiko.app/referral/vintage-m , and you will get 3000 Points as a bonus! Let’s see who can reach 30000 Points first!

I am not interested and do not even have a phone, so I do not want to see anymore partiko adverts.

You are amazing! You have gone to minus Rep, yet you do not learn and keep on with your scam posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11