LiTTLE CHERiNE Book 02 - post217

Their voices were music to my ears, I hardly paid attention to the words, just the sound, the happiness in their voices, their excitement, it was all I had missed and had dreamt of. For one short hour I was in heaven. We had to stay where we were to watch over the twins and Manoli, but we were too filled with our joy and love to care. When my sweet Wendy also appeared, I felt my heart would break as I held her to me.






Previous Post 216


1256

“Is my little songbird still writing new songs?”

With sad eyes, Wendy replied, “Yes she is, but they are all sad songs.”

“Then maybe today you will be able to write a happy one?”

“I will have to write it while I am here then, for soon as I am back I will be sad.” I got her to hum me a song and her magic soon transported me back to the days when we were all together and my life had been filled with their love. As I returned to the here and now my eyes filled with tears at the thought of them leaving soon.

Manoli stirred and then the twins. He sat up and he was obviously still dazed by what he had seen. I called the twins for a last kiss and long hug. “Now listen to me. Today was unexpected so maybe it was safe. If you do it again it will not be safe, I cannot allow you to take the risk. Take back your visit and share it with all the others. That must be enough for all of you until it is safe for us to be together again. From now I promise I will send a message every day through my healer and phone when I can so as to hear your news.”

We said our goodbyes and they also did so with Manoli and they gathered in front of me to leave. I heard the old Landrover coming and the girls looked at me with a question in their eyes. I gestured for them to leave and they disappeared. I heard a squeal of brakes behind me. Dimitri had come to a sudden stop and sat there looking as if he were about to have a heart attack. As if coming out of a daze, or perhaps as one who has seen a mirage, he shook himself and slowly got out of his vehicle.

“I am getting old. I could have sworn I saw little girls - there have been none here since my own babies grew up and left. You think this is a sign? I hear that when old people are ready to die they see the past, those times when they were happiest.”


1257

I had thought to bluff it out, but I could not. “You are not getting old Dimitri. My girls came to visit me for a short while.”

“And pouf they are gone?”

“Yes, pouf and they are gone.”

“And when they come, pouf and they are here?”

I laughed. “Yes, always just pouf and pouf.”

“That is fine, as long as I am not the crazy one. Pouf, ha!!”

He picked up something wrapped in a newspaper and held it up to us. “You are like all the tourists I bet. Lobster and prawns and lobsters. It is not food for a man. I got some beef, steaks they said. We make a fire, nai(?) and grill them with lemon and black pepper.”

“You said no food Dimitri. You must allow me to pay.”

“You are foolish, never offer to pay - unless you are a millionaire. Are you a millionaire?”

“No.”

“Typical, you young people think money grows on trees.”

Manoli whispered to me, “Please do not argue with him.”

“He is enjoying it, you want me to spoil his fun?”

“Stop whispering and come help make a fire.”

“Where is the wood?”

“What wood?” I did not know how to answer without making him seem senile. He slapped his leg laughing at us. “Ha, you thought I am senile! See, you do think I am old.”

“I actually think you are a ten year old boy who never grew up.”

Manoli was shocked at my disrespect, but Dimitri laughed again. “Exactly what my wife told me when she left. Do you know my wife, did she tell you that?”

“I think I heard a little voice whisper it to me just now.”

“Aha! One of those little girls that go pouf.”

“I’m going to look for wood, the two of you belong together.”

“Manoli, how would you be acting if you had spent twenty years alone and had visitors? I’m tempted to ask my girls to return and give him a kiss.”

“You would risk it for that?”

“Yes. That is what life is all about.”

“You are bluffing.”

“Dimitri, you want to see the girls go pouf again?”

“I have not seen little girls for so many years. White ones that is.”

The girls returned and he stared at them fascinated.

“These are your pouf girls Robert? They are pretty.” He suddenly looked apprehensive. “I have not bought enough meat for so many. It does not matter, I’ll not eat any.”

“They did not come to eat Dimitri. They just came to kiss you hello then they have to...”


1258

“…go pouf?”

The girls listened to us and they were delighted by him. They crowded around him and each gave him a hug and a kiss on his leathery cheek. When they went ‘pouf’ again he stood there for a while not speaking. He brought the meat to me.

“You, go behind that tractor, you will find wood there.” He waited until he was gone. “Now you tell me, why did you show me that? You are not afraid I will talk?” I did not reply. “I see, you think to yourself, he is an old man and nobody would believe him, they would say he is senile.”

“What I thought was you needed the joy one feels when kissed by a little girl. It has been too long for you.”

“Bah! Then you are a fool.”

Manoli answered him, “I agree with you pappou.”

“Who are you calling pappou!”

“I’ve brought the wood, where do I put it?”

The meal was good, even though the meat was tough. I really felt comfortable with Dimitri, as Manoli is always rather reticent (επιφυλακτικός), so I relaxed. “If you were twenty again Dimitri, would you hang on here again, or would you leave and live a new life?”

“Pouf and I am twenty? Okay, I will answer you. I would leave. There is so much I do not know, that I have never lived.”

“You would probably end up getting a job, hating it and wasting your life again.”

I saw that he was looking at me in a penetrating manner. “You have decided you like me and you are trying to tell me something. What is it?”

“Please answer me first. Why should you be given the chance to live your life again?”

“Because that is what life is for. There can be no guarantee that the first time or the tenth will not be wasted, but at least if one has lived it, that means everything.”

“I think you are a man who could live his life to the full if he makes the decision to do so.”

Sam obeyed my summons this time. “You are impossible Robert. You say we must never come here again and then keep calling to us to come.”

“Don’t get sassy with me love. Give me a kiss and then take Dimitri to the void.”

I gave him a brief explanation and he did not bat an eyelid. As if embarking on a joy-trip he let her take him.

Manolis stared at me. “You are very open Roberto, for a man who has so many enemies.”

“Do you know what is the only safety for my loved ones? To have millions of Cherinians. I cannot work that fast, but now and then I see a person or two I want with us.”

Cherine arrived and it was as if Manoli were meeting a queen. He knew how important she is and he was awed to be meeting her. Behind her back she gave me the thumbs up sign and she linked him. I could feel nothing, but I saw his delight. It was almost as if he were in a religious rapture. She left him and came to sit on my lap. I held her sweet face staring into her eyes.

“You still love me! Losing your link with me has not killed your love?”

“That will never happen. Even if I have to wait until you die.”

“Cherine! That is the answer. All I needed was the guts to die! That would release me from their mind prison.”

“We were afraid you would think of it and do it before talking to us. We have discussed it and all of us, even Rob, do not want you to do it.”

“Why not?”

“We think the spider wants you to do it. It could be that as your soul is released from your body she can then take you to her.”



Next Post 218

I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love.




Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)
10th April, 2019

* posted on Steemit: 10th April, 2019



For those who wish to be notified of sequels
@nikosnitza
If you wish to have your name added above, I would be honoured.


The arthur.grafo Steemhost pages





Sort:  

Νομίζω ότι η τελευταία πρόταση θα γίνει αλήθεια ε? Ή κάνω λάθος?

This post is supported by @tipU upvote :)
@tipU voting service: instant upvotes + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73