Little Cherine Book 03 - BPost020

“Who are you? Why am I here?”
“I am Panos, you have been asleep for a long time…”





Previous Post 019



1588

“She hurt me, I felt the knife inside me, it…where is she?” He looked around, his eyes filled with terror. Pano had been hoping his brother will not remember that he died, but he did not indulge his own disappointment. He grabbed the boy and holding him closely told him, “I got rid of the bitch, she will never hurt you again, I swear.”
Finally Pano let go so that his mother can dress the boy. She asked him his name and he told her, “Gerasimos.”
Tina, the girl who even among Cherinians stands out as the girl with the tender heart, came from the kitchen with some chicken souvlaki in a pita, chocolates and a big glass of cold milk. She had remembered that when Gerasimos died he was starving and guessed the memory of that time would extend itself to the present, despite his new body not being hungry. She was right and as long as she stayed to help him eat, he ate until the plates were clean. Only the milk he did not want. He tried it, but did not like it.

Eleftheria has returned to her singing, for she says that if she is to adopt the twin girls, she must work hard to earn more money. On the instructions of soft-hearted Alki, her salary was increased by about fifty percent and she has been told she will not have to pay rent for the apartment.
Every time we meet Gerasimo, we sense that the magic of love within his new family is healing him of his fears and even of his memories of his past. It is about time I return home and face my own devils. I’m over that nonsense I spouted about never wanting to love - how could I still feel that way after having Pano in my life? I would like to give Derrick another chance…who knows.

I have asked Samantha for permission to end off the story of my self-pity and of Pano. I am writing directly because I had a strange dream and I want to record it, since Prime Robert insists it could turn out to be a ‘significant’ dream. I chose to write so that only my words are used, not as interpreted by Sam. When a memory is shared, the mind holds it with so many ‘extra’ details, that the fact of its existence is established beyond the way in which the ego perceived the experience. It is not so with dreams; what we see in dreams resembles the wavering air of a sweltering desert day, with the memories seeming to dance and change as our mind, our center of being, tries to pin down the scenes and turn them into fact. Apart from what I just wrote, I must admit that I forgot, until this moment, that this diary alters itself after the words are written, as if another distorting curtain waves over them, altering them, so I don’t know whether what the reader reads will still honestly represent my dream. My memory of the dream has already altered what I actually dreamt, so the account in here will be twice removed from the actuality.

I saw myself walking within the home of the Prime Teller family, going from room to room. In each room, I realised, I was seeing among all those of the family, an old man hunched over a book he is writing. I also knew, without being told, that nobody else can see him. As I came to him for the third time, I leant over to see what he is writing. He looked up with a smile and invited me to read what he has written.
As I did, I found myself on the page, a part of it. The old man tried to close the book, but something was blocking him, preventing the pages from resting against each other. As he opened the book to take a look, I pointed at a word he had misspelled. He corrected it and now the book shut tightly.
I did not feel I was being squashed or anything like that. I just felt as if I am part of the book and it was a nice feeling.
I woke up and tried to make sense of the dream, but I could not. Maybe Themi would say it is symbolic and is the way I have found to tell myself I now feel I belong and am a part of life. I do not believe it is the answer, for how can being part of an imaginary story and author symbolise my becoming a part of life? Also, my awake mind finds the idea of being closed within the book rather claustrophobic, whereas my dream I’d felt nice being closed within the pages.
Thank you,
Lillian/ Λιλλιάνα


We’ll tell Lillian about your comments; by the time your writing appeared in our diary she was back in her reality, probably trying to find something she can love in crane…oops, sorry, I meant Derrick.


As we began to return to our normal way of life, which includes regular visits to the coffee shops in Kifissia and Kefalari, the girls continued to nag and I finally gave in and we took the imps to the coffee shop and they played their role wonderfully. Nobody even thought to check whether they are real girls and we gathered so many kids around us that Cherine began to pretend she is scared I will fall in love with them and leave my girls for fresh bodies - and she was a bit disappointed when I did not react in an appropriate manner to her teasing. The truth is, I was feeling quite low on energy and sometimes I felt as if I am not all there, as if I am about to enter a hallucination.


1589

As the girls almost got too loud in their jokes, rather than censure them, I made certain none of their words were understood by others around us, distorting the sound of their voices. A number of parents wanted to know where to find such life-like dolls for their kids, so we pretended we bought them in New York.

The only adult who ignored our wish and touched one of the imps was a woman, about fifty five, laden with jewellery and a heart heavy with sorrow for her inability to have children. She actually wanted one of the ‘dolls’ to keep and pretend it is a child. Deep as her sorrow was, because I was feeling a little spaced out, I let myself be drawn into her mind and saw what an empty life she lives, meeting friends for cards, gossip and the odd affair, not for the sex, but for the pleasure of cheating on her husband, imagining his devastated feelings if he finds out (which of course she makes sure he never does).

Wendy pulled away protectively and the woman got upset. “I only wanted to feel it, I wasn’t going to break it!” As she walked off she said to her friend in a loud voice, deliberately so as to hurt Wendy, “Spoiled little brats. Their parents should teach them some manners!”

Wendy looked as if she were about to cry, but I winked at her and gestured for her to look at the woman. All my girls turned to look at her as she let off one very noisy fart. There were a number of titters from all the tables and she was quick to disappear, her face bright red and hard. Wendy sent me a kiss as a reward, though Dommi was not amused.


Claudia asked whether we could go to Sweden for her birthday. I was not clear what she wanted and she explained.

“In Sweden we grow up feeling very proud to be Swedish. Here, we live in Greece, but we do not grow up like Greeks, instead we say we are Cherinians. Robert, Cherinians do not have a country of their own and we only belong to an idea, not a place where the old people wear funny clothes on special holidays, where songs that belong to grandparents of our grandparents are taught at school. In Sweden there is a feeling of belonging not only to the land, but also to a past because we are what came out of that past.

I want to see the country that is not my country anymore, travel around it, meet people and let them tell me stories in the villages. I want to say goodbye to all of it after I know what I am leaving behind me. It would also be nice to know that there are other Cherinians who have seen it with me and understand why I am as I am.”

“We are not Cherinians to you Claudia. We are family first. I nearly answered you now, but I think this may need some careful thought and even discussion by all the Cherinians. I’m sorry, I was not speaking of what you asked of us, the trip you want you can have and we will love to see your country with you.”

“What did you want to discuss then?” Cherine asked.

“The ideas Claudia has raised. I’m not certain she is right and yet I cannot say she is wrong for we have no rules to guide us.”

“I know Sweden, they make watches there and have these verrry big mountains covered with snow. My daddy said he will take me there to ski.”

The girl of about nine had been standing close to us looking at the imps. When she spoke I had a shock. Not because she was an opinionated smug girl who thought she is the cat’s whiskers, but because she had heard what we were discussing!

“I’m sorry dear,” Dommi said to her, “that is Switzerland, not Sweden. You could understand what we were talking about?”

“Yes, was I not supposed to listen?”

“No, it is alright, we don’t mind. So you want to learn to ski?”

“I know how to ski!” she answered forcibly, “my daddy says I am the best in my class, that is why he promised to take me to Swisterland. Can I hold one of the dolls please?”

“I’m sorry, they don’t belong to me, they belong to the girls who are holding them. The dolls are easy to break so they won’t even let me hold them.”


1590

“Can I touch one please?” She directed her question at Wendy. Poor Wendy did not know how to say no, but knew she could not let her. She looked to me for help, but I refused to, I felt it was important that she learn to say no when necessary. She looked anxious and then suddenly smiled.

“If you promise to touch it softly and only once.”

“I promise.”

The girl stretched out her hand and Wendy raised her fist and the girl caressed it, her face happy. She pulled her hand away and politely thanked Wendy, but with a look of superiority at the other kids. I admired the quick thinking of Wendy, but was annoyed, both at her and with this smug little girl. As the girl walked off I played with her co-ordination so that the toe of her one foot caught on the heel of the other and she tripped. I felt a bit of a humiliation in front of the other kids might be good for her. As she fell an adult reached out to catch her, but all his hand did was knock her to the side. As she landed she cried out and I felt a sharp pain in her. I jumped up, but there were others now between her and me so I sat down again and closed my eyes to concentrate on her.

She had hit the leg of a chair across her mouth and broken a tooth, the inside of her lip had been cut open and was bleeding. I felt sickened by what I had done.

Dommi whispered, “That is her front tooth and it is not her baby tooth. Oh Roberto, what have you done?” She felt how I had reacted and her eyes were not angry, just filled with pity.

I made the girl lose consciousness and prevented her parents from thinking of looking in her mouth. I filled them with the urgency to get her to a doctor. They picked her up and ran off. My healer was already within her trying to repair her tooth. It told me it could not.

I got up and mentally made the people get out of my way as I collected the piece from her tooth. I returned to my girls, sat down and left my body.

I returned from the void, picked up the fragment and found the girl. I had to make her open her mouth so as to get the fragment inside and then used my energies to bind the molecules so that the tooth was whole again. I looked within the tooth and made certain that the fragment was now a part of her tooth in every way, I did not want it darkening or dying. Once I was certain it was alright I looked at the cut. I had to force myself to leave it alone, to repair it would only raise questions. Quickly and lightly so that she would not feel me, I scanned her mind and found out where she lives and who she is - or rather, who her parents are. I returned to my body.

Irene said miserably, “Can we leave Robbie? I want to go home.” I saw all the girls were upset and nodded. They walked out while I left money on the table and followed them.


“I cannot believe that you hurt a child Robert!”

“Dominique, you know I did not mean to, I only wanted to knock out of her that superior smirk. I did not expect that man to bump her.”

Dommi still looked angry and Cherine looked at her and then at me and back again. “Dommi, if Robert had wanted to hurt the girl the protector would have attacked him.”

“That has nothing to do with it! Cherine, that child is not his daughter or wife, he had no right to try and humiliate her. Just as he had no right to make that other lady look ridiculous in front of everyone.”

“You know our Robert, he…”

“I don’t!! That is exactly the problem Cherine. The Robert I know would never hurt anyone!”

“You did not mind when he did it to that Petsas!”

“That is not the same, he was attacking us. Anyway, he was a nasty little man and deserved it.”

I pointed out to her, “So was the woman Dommi, she attacked Wendy, trying to make her sound like she was a nasty spoiled brat, or are you going to tell me you did not feel the hurt in Wendy?”

“Okay, knowing how you react if anyone even looks the wrong way at your girls I’ll forget about the woman. I still think it was wrong, but as Cherine says, I know my Robert. The child though, that was entirely wrong of you.”


1591

“God! Do you really feel I need you to tell me? Has your anger made you so blind to me?”

Her voice softened, “No my love, it has not. Your feelings though are not important right now, how the little girl feels, is. You even left the cut in her mouth.”

“By tomorrow morning it will be gone. I had to leave it. Soon as she leaves the doctor, the healer will take the pain away.”

Now do you see Dommi how he has changed? Our crazy Robert would not have thought like that, he would have said he could not leave a child hurting because of him. Now he worries what they will think if he fixes her.”

“Cherine!” I stared at her and felt my heart sink. She was right. Had I become so afraid of doing the wrong thing that I would not do the right thing?

Sam stepped between Cherine and I, putting her hand on my chest. “The more powerful you become the more afraid you are, why?”

Cherine's eyes filled, “You do not know Sam? You cannot feel the weariness in him? He stopped dreaming from the day he got those powers from Eddie.”

“Cherine, I had not noticed! Why didn’t you say something?” Dommi turned to me. “Roberto mou, why, you cannot live without dreaming. Why are you so afraid - if Eddie can live with those powers, why can’t you?”

“His powers are as nothing…Dommi, say we hear one nation attacked another, a people innocent of crime against them. I would be outraged, same as you and many others. What if in my sleep I struck out at those people?”

“You could hurt a whole country!?”

“Yes my loves…you are all shocked. I could move tectonic plates and sink a continent, or fling the moon into the sun with but a thought. How dare I dream, allow my subconscious to decide my actions? I am starting to make too many mistakes when I am awake, but I dare not trust myself asleep.”

“But the longer you stay without dreams the more mistakes you will make awake!”

“Can you find me an answer Dommi? How do I close doors I’ve opened?”

“I’m calling Themi and Eddie.”

Cherine called and both of them jumped. Other Cherinians, especially their children, felt the fear and worry of my girls and came too. Their worry brought even those who had not noticed. Soon the house was full. Sylvestro appeared in his uniform, obviously still on duty.

“Sylvestro, don’t get into trouble. There is no urgency, you can come back later.” In response he made an impatient gesture while letting me see his worry.

“Okay, this was not quite expected, we do not have a real emergency, but I do have a problem which made the young ladies anxious. We were hoping Themi or Eddie would be able to help, but since you all came it is perhaps for the best. This could affect everyone so you all have the right to know. Tonight I hurt a child because I…shit, no excuses. I hurt a child and did not repair the damage, I let her suffer pain for over an hour.”

Cherine jumped up, ignoring my plea that she keep quiet. “That is not fair, he makes it sound as if he did it on purpose. Ask him why he did it!” Her little face was a mixture of fury and pain so I pulled her to me.

“Shh my little cub, I was about to explain.”

I did explain and I saw, from the adults to start off and then the children, that I frightened them.

“Robert, you are a time-bomb, you could go off at any time!”

“If I fall asleep Keith.”


1592

Socrati spoke in a loud voice. “Ochi!! Even awake Roberto. I have spent many nights tending my sheep at the time of lambing. You do not sleep or dream long enough and you will start hallucinating.”

“Eddie, can you help? Is there any way to shut off the powers?”

“Is there a way to learn how to not be able to ride a bicycle? I’m sorry Robert, it cannot be done. Perhaps you could find a way to prevent yourself from ‘accidentally’ using a power, but I do not know how.”

“Themi, any ideas?”

We tossed it backwards and forwards, everyone getting more desperate as no solution was found. Dommi brought me a coffee and my cigarettes and when out of consideration for them I did not light up, she almost screamed at me to smoke.

During all this, the healer reported that the little girl is now asleep. It bore with it the memory of her frightened tears as a chastisement. I felt the beginning of a crumbling within me even as I told it to repair her completely and calling Wendy to join me, asked her to hum a song of tenderness and sweetness so that her sleep will be filled with happy dreams. I left them and returned to my body and found them all staring at me with fear, my girls clinging to me. I felt a peace come over me as I saw the only answer available and though I have fought it before, I knew I would at least be able to relax my vigilance and rest.

Cherine was watching my mind. “I will not stay Robert. Do not try to order me, I will not listen.”

“Cherine my love, please. This is the only way.”

“I don’t care, I will not stay.”

“Nor will I.” It does not matter who said it as they all joined in, almost together. I stared at them, determined to win this argument. I turned to Dommi, hoping her mind being more mature would understand the need for me to leave this body forever and help me convince the girls to stay. I was shocked at the pallor of her face, the features drawn tight and sharp.

“I cannot refuse them Roberto, I cannot stay either. It is not just my love for you, nor the children I bore for you. Over these years, with all we have been through, the growth of our gifts, the heart you opened to us, I am no longer the Dominique I was. Now I am Dominique as part of Robert and Cherine and the rest of my family. There is no way I can bear the emptiness of even one part of myself missing.”

“Your nightmare has come true Robert.” Marian smiled sadly. “You feared this right at the beginning. It looks like you will have to fight, you cannot give up and die, not if it will kill all of you.”

“I’m too tired to think straight. I’m going to the void, maybe my mind will be clearer there.”

“I’m coming with.” Cherine stated and all the rest followed. All of them, my beloved Cherinians.


We were on the emerald isle. “So Ordinx, now you know why we called you. While I rest, will you go to Solomon and ask if he can find a way?”

“What about your protector? What if you set it to guard your powers while you sleep?”

“I’ve tried that. I do not know whether it would be effective or not, if it can stop me. Ordinx, I could not sleep. It may sound stupid, but having it in my mind watching me was like an invasion of my mind. I was too aware of it to sleep. I have to learn how to stop myself from dreaming, which means I stay aware.”

“But it is part of you!”

“I told you it would sound stupid. To be effective it would have to watch my dreams so as to react in time, which means it has to stay apart from me. Every time I started to dream I became conscious of it watching and I would wake up.”

Irene asked, “Robbie, would you wake up if I was in your dreams?”


1593

“If it was a good dream I would not mind you being there my love. To have you in a nightmare though, could destroy you.”

“I’m not scared of your nightmares. Let me try Robert.” Cherine asked.

I shook my head. “I think you don’t understand. All of us have dreams that shame us. Dreams do not come from the mind we use when awake. Cherine, you should remember the result of your seeing my sub-conscious mind. Have any of you looked into the mind of a baby - a normal baby? What more innocent creature could there be you would say - until you see it’s sub-conscious mind! A nightmare of mine is perhaps easier for you as an outsider to bear, my monsters and fears are not necessarily yours…” Nicko turned a bright green in embarrassment at the memory of how I found his monsters and used them against him. I sent him my sorrow and regret. “Cherine, if you become part of my nightmare, my monsters will become yours. I would not do that to you or anyone else, the fears we each have are more than enough to trouble our minds without adopting new ones.”

“Robert we have all looked into each others dreams.”

“When do we do that Rosie, isn’t it only when we sense the one we love having a dream of great beauty or happiness?” She agreed I was right. “Adam, you seem strangely silent.”

“I have been sifting through all the nightmares and dreams you’ve all had and I agree with you Robert - for once.” he added laconically.

Two familiar girls appeared. I was pleased to see Solomon has taken my problem seriously enough to visit. He came over and kissed my cheek (a first for him). He sat cross legged in front of me.

“My people are all concerned and worried - Robert we cannot afford to lose you. Our test of you has backfired on us by affecting you and we feel responsible. Our Thinkers have united in one gestalt mind to try and solve your problem. I had to release to them all I know of you to help them understand you.”

“I thought you did that automatically every time we meet!”

“Superficially yes; and when there is a question I answer it. Robert, as a Cherinian you should understand that the closer minds are linked the stronger the need for privacy of the inner world, of that which makes us unique. That is ingrained in us over a span of time your race cannot imagine. I had to break that taboo and I ask your forgiveness.”

I took his face in my hands gently and pulling him close, kissed the sweet face that reflects one of the loveliest souls I’ll ever know. Even an alien it seems can pick up such emotions, for his face turned a bright emerald green and those dark eyes studied me as if not believing such love is possible.

“You can love me like that? Oh Robert!”

Everyone, including Ordinx stared in disbelief as we saw the first tears a Sparkler has ever shed fill his eyes.

“I wish you and Ordinx could enter my mind, share my feelings. Perhaps we will find a way someday?”

“It would be worth it.”

“Up until now not one of you has found a solution I can trust so as to dream. Coming to the void slightly compensates, but I cannot last many more days before I start seeing and doing things without my mind in control. Soon as I feel my first hallucination, I will take the action I intended and trust that you will obey me and stay on Earth to look after each other, for my sake. After all, you will still be able to come here to see me as often as you want.”

For the first time not one of my girls wanted to dance. They all wanted to return to our bodies to hold me and each other.


1594

I have not had such a good laugh for a long time - here is this guy who thinks he is just writing a story writing to his characters, giving them advice. He must be as crazy as I am!!

I showed it to the girls and I do not know if you felt it ‘Mr A’, but they sent you a real storm of love. After a lot of arguments, which Alki joined in very forcibly, this is what we decided:
As in the war, each of my girls will take in a Sparkler and open a mental link to it. We set out a roster so that there are never three babies on their own. We have split the girls as follows:
- The ones I consider mature, strong or practical - Dommi, Cherine, Claudia and Aganthi.
- The teams who back-up the first ones - the rest of them. Jade and Cassie refused to be left out.


I have insisted that first the second lot, those who have not had the experience, share their minds and examine other minds so that it is not such a shock to them when they find themselves in my mental worlds. They will each share with me too. Being ignorant they do not fear this, but I do; I hate the idea of them getting to feel where I am cynical or hard - I do not fear them knowing my soft spots, they already do, most of them from before birth!

On the third day I happened to be sitting talking with Keith and Alki about business when Candy ran through the room screaming as Jade and Cassie chased her. I shot to my feet in a temper and screamed at them ‘Are you trying to drive me crazy!!?’ and then, having heard my own words and felt their shock, I burst into tears. Alki took me in a bear hug and suddenly surrounded by all my girls I was being consoled as I shook from reaction. Candy came to sit on my lap to kiss me and I turned away, filled with shame. Dommi turned to Alki.

“Will you please take him to our bed. I will not listen to any more nonsense, he goes to sleep and he lets himself dream or I swear I will knock him out myself. I will take the first shift with Cherine and Claudia. After that we can go to the agreed roster.”

“That is a good idea Dominique, the first time he let’s himself dream he will have some whoppers. Would it not be an idea to take Alki in with you?"”

Dommi looked at him thoughtfully. “Alki mou, would you mind if I take Socrati? I think he would be less affected and better able to help.”

“You are right kori mou, a very good choice.” Aganthi jumped to Cyprus and returned with him and the girls first made me decent, making me wear pyjamas and then allowed Socrati to join us. By now I was able to apologise to Candy and the imps, but they only cried when I did so.

If Themi had been there he might have realised what my first nightmare would be, but he was not consulted, so I caught my girls by surprise.

My feelings of guilt at hurting my three baby girls made me the first victim. I suppose I was trying to punish myself. My mind created a monster which caught me and bit into my arm as I flung it over my face in terror.


1595

Aganthi had not left my bedside, watching the three girls and Socrati for any indication of what is going on - it had been agreed those not guarding me are not allowed to monitor mentally. She saw a monster take form and bite my arm, severing blood vessels and ripping my flesh. She threw herself at it, thrust her hand in it’s mouth crying out ‘you are not allowed to hurt me’ again and again even as her hand was torn by it’s teeth. Though the creature had the ugliest teeth, sharp as razors and eyes like a rat’s, it was created to punish me, not my loved ones. It tasted her blood and withdrew and then vanished.

Aganthi ignored her wounds, trying to staunch my blood that was spurting out, sending her healer to help mine repair the damage. In my sleep I felt the agony before my healer soothed the pain away and I thought it only part of my nightmare and so Socrati and the girls thought so too. Alki rushed back in with Marian and soon as my arm started healing, forced her to get her own healer back to repair herself. She explained what had happened, still in shock she projected the vision of the monster tearing at me.

The room filled up with them all keeping vigil beside me for the rest of that day and the whole of the night. None protested when Aganthi took position next to me, ready to fight for my life again.

Perhaps the pain had served it’s purpose, but the multitude of dreams thereafter were either confusing and meaningless or happy dreams. I woke the next morning feeling alive and full of energy again.

When I found out what had happened I took her hand to be certain it was fully healed and then kissed it, keeping it against my cheek as I went into her mind and saw my nightmare come alive. I wept at the devotion and foolish courage of my sweet Albanian girl. The rest saw into her mind too and she was adored by all for many days, my Cherine first amongst them

.

After lunch I became sleepy again and Dommi forced me back to bed, doing sentry duty with Meli and Nicole. I had a lot of crazy jumbled dreams, but nothing to frighten or shame me - except for finding myself sitting in a roomful of people without any clothes on. In another dream I saw myself nude again and I wanted the toilet. It was shown to me; the toilet was in a sitting room that had a number of people and I urinated in view of all of them. Embarrassing, but nothing to worry about since none of my girls were about to tease me.

Within a few days I was feeling normal and able to accept that I was not really responsible for saying or doing the things I’d done to hurt others. It did not absolve me from doing whatever I could to make amends. My own Candy, Jade and Cassie were the most difficult to right my wrongs with as they refused to accept I needed to. I thought about the other little girl a lot and soon as I was able to, I went calling at their home. They own the whole floor in a luxury block of apartments and I think only the fact that I am a foreigner got the main entrance opened for me.

The mother was at their front door when I came up the steps. Her body was blocking the door, subconsciously sending me the message I am not welcome.

“What is it?”

“I can speak Greek if it is easier for you, though not as perfectly as I would like to.” I modestly added. “I have come to ask how your daughter is. I was at the coffee shop when she hurt herself and I was worried about her. Unfortunately I also became sick and that is why I have delayed in asking about her.”

“She is fine, there was no permanent damage and her cut healed very fast.”

I held out a gift wrapped parcel. “This is from the other girls that were there that day.”

“I’m sorry, but I cannot accept gifts for my daughter from strangers.”

Her daughter was hiding behind the door and thought the gift might be an imp doll, so she ran out pleading with her mother to be allowed to take it. Her mother gave in.

“Haven’t I seen you with Alki Georgiades and the shipowner Elia Spiropoulos?”

“That is correct.”

Suddenly I was respectable (that was a comment of amusement). “Come in, can I offer you a drink?”


1596

“A coffee would be nice thank you.” I turned to her daughter who was politely waiting, but itching to get away to see if the gift is an imp doll. “I hope you are not thinking the parcel has an imp doll. Even if the girls wanted to give you one they could not. Those were specially made for them by their grandfather in America. I’m sorry if you are disappointed.”

I felt her disappointment, but she bravely pretended she had not expected an imp doll.

“Maybe I can make it up to you a little? Sit on that sofa opposite me and I’ll do some magic for you. It must be our secret though, okay?”

She put down her present and sat watching me.

“How about three little fairy flames dancing for you?” I cupped my hands and as they parted three flames danced. I sent them so that they were halfway between her and myself, floating above the coffee table. She stared at them enraptured.

“You can put your hand through them, they will not burn you, they are magic flames.”

She was afraid to, but gathered her courage to feel around them, trying to find how I was controlling them. She looked at me with awe when she could not find anything. I set them spinning around her wrist, looking like a bracelet of light. I created more flames and linked them with a chain of light and set them as a necklace and sent her to look at herself in the mirror. She gave a little scream and her mother ran in, but I’d got rid of the flames.

“What’s wrong Smaragda?”

“He did magic! He made some flames that became a bracelet and necklace; it was beautiful mummy.”

The mother looked at me, puzzled.

“It is a hobby of mine, I love doing magic tricks.”

“I’ll get your coffee.”

I held out my hand to Smaragda. A miniature Mickey Mouse appeared. He bowed to her. “Smaragda, it is such a lovely name. I am honoured to meet you.”

She gave a squeal of pleasure and came as close as she dared to. “I did not see your lips move, how did you make it talk?”

“Smaragda, is that nice, to call me an it? Don’t you know my name?”

“It is Mickey.”

I kept it going until I sensed the mother returning and Mickey bowed and said goodbye. She pleaded with me to do it again so that her mother could see.

“I told you Smaragda that it would be a secret, my magic is only for kids - you see, grown ups can’t believe in magic so it won’t work for them.”

Her mother smiled. “Test me Mr Teller.”

I got her to bring me three serviettes and a pack of playing cards. I chose to use cards because all magicians use cards and people are used to seeing them do remarkable magic with them.

“For this trick it is important that I do not touch the cards and do not even come close to them. Smaragda, take the cards, pull one out and put it on the coffee table. Now put three serviettes on the coffee table also, with the card under one of them. I’ll stay here far away.”

She put the card under the left serviette. I waved my fingers and little stars of light touched the serviettes.

“Under which serviette did you put the card?”

“This one.” She showed it with her finger. “You saw!”

“I think it was not that serviette, it was the middle one.”


1597

She giggled, “You are wrong!”

“Show me. Lift the serviette where you put the card.” She did and stared at the emptiness underneath. “Do you want to check the one on the other side?”

She shook her head and lifted the central one. She stared at the card.

“Check that it is the same card you put there.”

“But I didn’t! I put it there!!” She turned it over and it was the two of diamonds she had put on the left. She made me repeat it another three times before her mother said it was enough. I told Smaragda to throw all three serviettes over her card. Her mother was sitting next to her, on the other side of the coffee table from me. I grinned at Smaragda.

“I think you chose a really naughty card. Guess where it is hiding now” I pointed at her mothers shoe. They both looked down and saw it under her foot.

I knew I had captivated little Smaragda, but the mother was actually feeling afraid. These tricks she felt could not be sleight of hand and the possibility that my magic might be true scared her. I told her about an American magician, David Blaine, who walks the streets doing his magic in public amongst the people. I mentioned a few of the tricks he does and promised to get them a video of his, they would then see that he is much better than I am. This helped calm her down a bit. Seeing her daughter so excited helped and her face was no longer as cold and it encouraged me to take a chance. I asked whether Smaragda could come to a birthday party for Claudia, as all the girls will be there and I will do more magic tricks for them.

“Mr Teller, everyone has been wondering. Who are those girls! I have never seen such a beautiful group of girls before.”

“Some Dominique and I have sort of adopted, the rest are girls adopted by the friends you mentioned. One of them is my baby sister.”

I gave her the address and she agreed Smaragda could come. Once they had agreed, I turned to Smaragda as her mother went for a moment to the kitchen. Before I could speak she did.

“You did a magic trick to make me fall.”

“I’m not admitting I did, but if I had, do you think you know why I would do such a thing?”

“Because I touched the doll?”

“No! Good heavens, I would not do it for a silly thing like that!”

“Why?”

“Maybe you were a little nasty also? Putting on airs as if you are someone special - maybe you had to be reminded that you may be a lovely girl and your daddy may be rich, but if you want to be liked you have to be friendly.”

“I didn’t!” But her guilty look made it unnecessary for me to reply. I leant forward. “I need to ask you a favour. When you come to the party, please try to be friendly, to get to know the girls. You just might find you like some of them and I’m sure you will be surprised to find they like you too.”

“I don’t want to come.”

“That is a pity, I wanted to do a special trick for you - to show you how you can float on air, your feet not touching the ground.”

Her mother returned and I thanked her and left.


Alki was laughing. “Robert, you do not just go knocking on doors of people like them. They are the crème de la crème of Greek society. Old money. They own three factories and have business interests abroad. She won’t bring her daughter to a house full of adopted kids.”


1598

“You don’t place much value on my charm.” I was enjoying this. Alki is probably five or twenty times as wealthy as them and he has a complex about them. He can pick up a phone and talk to Government Ministers, barge into their homes at midnight, but the class thing affects his self-confidence. Marian being British knew what was amusing me and was being very protective of her husband.

I grinned at my idea. “You know who we need to have here to impress them?”

“Who?”

“Socrati.”

He nearly choked on his whisky. “You wouldn’t!” He stared at me. “You would!”

“Come on Alki, all Cherinians were invited, you know that. You don’t expect me to un-invite them just because a high society girl is coming?”

He shrugged, “It will not matter since she will not come. Parents from those families only let their children associate with members of their own class.”

I honestly think Alki had forgotten who I am (as a Cherinian I mean) and my powers. Marian had not.

“They will come my love, if Robert invited them.” I laughed at his expression as he ‘woke up’.


Alki insisted that Claire arrange the buffet and catering in general. I’m certain he told her to splash out for suddenly on the day we found our Claudia is having the most posh bash ever. We had ‘names’ come to entertain and the garden was turned into a magical place of lights and colours. At least Claire has good taste and nothing was overstated.

The girls would have wanted to be adults, but with Smaragda coming they had to keep the ages she knows. I was pleased, I wanted them to have fun like children, I wanted sounds of childish laughter, kids running, fighting squealing, the whole lot. If I am to be a lover of children, then I want to enjoy having them around as children also.

I found an antique fob watch that belonged to a princess from Russia, with her portrait on the lid. I had it cleaned and in good working order and a special box was made for it. A rather ‘grown up’ gift for an adolescent, but I believed it is what will give her the most pleasure.

While all these preparations went on I tended to hide away in my office and did a ‘solar’ series with pictures from my memory of our tour. I was certain a lot of astronomers are going to accuse me of not being true to life and the idea amused me. I will leave it to the future to prove me the visionary I know I am (if this was on the web I would have put a smilie or ‘lol’ here). With twenty eight pieces handed over to Alki I felt good about myself again, for a change.

I’d invited all Cherinians to arrive much earlier than the time of the party so that we could be alone for a while. At the exact time I’d promised I collected Luigi.

As we arrived home, Alki was standing with his arm extended, a glass of whisky in his hand. “After that shock I think you need this.”

Gratefully he took it and had a large gulp before settling down. “That was teleportation?”

“Yes. We tend to do it all the time so we just call it ‘jumping’.”

Luigi said, “It is important to use the correct words Roberto, jumping takes away the magic of it.”

“That is why I prefer it. Luigi, we are able to jump from one place to another, forward or backwards in time and from one dimension to another visiting another probability world. The word jumping has to do or else we will get overwhelmed by the thought of what we do.”

“What other gifts do you have Robert, telekinesis?”

“By ‘you’ I presume you mean the Cherinians? Between us I would say just about everything you can think of - hold on, we have not tried changing lead to gold.”

“Luigi, I am Alki. Let me take you around and introduce you. Roberto loves to tease our guests, he enjoys seeing them in shock.”


1599

“After what he did for my brother and myself Alki, I am quite willing to be his victim.”

After about an hour I put up my hand and mentally called to all. There was immediate silence.

“Wendy, Meli. We have a unique situation. We have one wife and one Jade and a visitor who have never heard our story. Those who have heard it often enough, I suggest you go talk in the other rooms.”

They put in the extra effort, with Lua and Candy joining in because of Cassie and Jade. This is their inheritance, the story of how the Cherinians came to be. Meli had obviously made good use of my set of memories to dredge up extra details (she had asked my permission) and between her telling and the singing and dancing, the story became a rich tapestry of love. Cherine was holding Rosie to her, her eyes warm and dark as she looked across the room at me. I would have sworn the link, shining with the power of our love was visible to all. Somehow Diana, the twins and Jade had surrounded me, sitting on my lap or by me. I looked at Diana and felt the tingle of her closeness and rejoiced that she still holds that magic over me. So do the twins and being so close to all three of them was forcing me to use the healer to dampen my needs. Jade felt their effect on me and gave me a naughty grin. She soon forgot me as the story began, unfolding with a drama I did not realise I’d lived through, the growth of love and our gifts all coloured by the prime force of empathy. They made me realise again how lucky I am to have found my loves. I cannot imagine us being what we are with even one of them missing.

There was a long silence when they ended and I looked around. There was not one Cherinian missing, even Ordinx and Solomon were sitting quietly with Sam and Bernie. Suddenly the room exploded with a buzz as everybody made their comments. Our storytellers were flushed from the feelings of admiration and astonishment at their abilities to tell the story afresh, so I felt they could wait a bit for my hug.

My eyes met those of Alki and I looked away, giving him the opportunity to wipe his first.

Cherine stood up and her bearing brought about a silence again.

“We soon will have a new guest, she has been invited by Robert and must be made to feel loved. Before she comes, I have a question for you Robert. Will you allow us, later, to blank your memory of the last years from the visit to Hydra onwards, for two weeks. Rob will look after our family with your protector.”

“You better explain my love.”

“Most of your powers and gifts will be blocked. All you will remember is that my mother wanted to go off for the Christmas holidays with a man she met and left me, entrusted you with me. We will have two weeks to live those days again. This was my surprise and gift to you. Our flat will be empty as we, of that time, are in Hydra. Would you like to get to know and love me all over again my Robert?” She held up her hand and I saw she still has her copy of the key to the flat.

I was stunned. My joy and love was nothing to keep secret and the whole room shared it with us. I went to her and raised her to my lips. I think I squeezed her so hard her ribs were close to cracking, but she returned my kiss with the same fervour and adoration.

“God, you kids are breaking my heart.” Dimitri whispered it softly to himself, but all heard and agreed with him. Manoli put his arm around the frail looking Dimitri as I turned to them all. “Isn’t she something special?” It made my heart swell when I found that those who agreed with me the strongest were our own wives. Marian sat with her head buried against her husband as she wept, maybe for the past and for the hope and promise of the future.

I took Cherine by the hand and led her to her mother. As she stood there I knelt down in front of her.

“Marian, you are the mother of Cherine, the mother of all Cherinians. I don’t care as much about the last part. All I have ever wanted was to be able to love your Cherine. Do I have your blessing, is our joy your joy?” She stared down at me and I felt how she struggled to understand. “We never had your blessing given with a heart full of love, joy and understanding. We need it.”

Her heart swelled to the point where it could have filled the whole room. That was the blessing I needed and I looked up at her.

“Robert. You and Cherine, you both have my blessing and love.”

“Thank you, I feel our love is purer now. I promise I will never take away another daughter of yours.” The last I whispered to her with a small happy teasing smile.


1600

“And if you break your promise?”

“Then I’ll ask for your blessing again.” I sat back on my haunches. “Marian, I do not need to be a prophet to tell you that you will have children over the years with Alki and that they will fill your heart with love and joy. Everyone feels the love the two of you have for each other and from that love will spring new lives that will fill both your hearts many times over with a joy and love you cannot imagine.”

Her face was radiant and as I stood up so did she and Alki and they both hugged and kissed us.


I had told Smaragda to come at about four, knowing that being Greek they would arrive at five or half past. It was nearly six when she appeared at our front door with her parents. The mother introduced me to her husband. He has that pleasant suave friendliness of the very rich; not having to fight to live tends to shield people from many of the less pleasant aspects of life. Alki and Elia he knew of course, but I was surprised when he greeted Themi with a hug. He also knew Perikli and exchanged some pleasantries with him. I was amused to sense both him and his wife looking at me discretely, trying to work out who I am; I had to be either very wealthy or something, perhaps of the aristocracy in England, how else explain the guests I had? The mixture also puzzled them; what was a choriatis (villager) from Cyprus doing here. The more they looked, the more puzzled they became.

I’ll say this for the father (Konstandinos Foustanos) of Smaragda, he is cultured. When I introduced him to Luigi they talked in Italian and when he realised who Luigi is, he became very excited. It turned out he has read all his published poetry, in Italian, and admires him. As soon as I could arrange for us to be alone, I asked Luigi if he would sign a copy of his book for Konstandino. He promised to send one, but I ‘reminded’ him he has a copy in the guest bedroom. I took him by the arm and we went into a bedroom.

“Please, if you do not mind, I am in his debt and would like to give him this pleasure. I know I am presuming, but would you mind us jumping to your home and getting a copy for him?”

He paled, but was courteous. “It would be my pleasure.”

“Please picture a room in your home, I need to see it in your mind for us to jump there.”

We were back within two minutes and he was able to hand over the book, dedicated and signed. Konstandinos was very pleased as this was a just released book he does not have.

“Mr Teller, I am impressed. You have a strange collection of guests. From the most powerful, the wealthy and even simple people from all walks of life. May I ask, what do you do?”

I laughed. “I am but a simple man trying to become an artist.” I had given the correct answer, many wealthy and snobbish people will hobnob with crude and low class people who are artists, singers, poets and so on. It amused me to catch the thought that he would ask the owner of a gallery to show him examples of my work - if people like these were my visitors it might be a good investment to buy a couple. “My paintings are available on the internet, many of them for free. I work for Alki.”

Alki frowned at me, he was annoyed that I had turned myself from artist to a common employee. “Please do not listen to him, he is too modest. He does work with me, but he is not my employee. He often earns hundreds of thousands of dollars for a single design.”

Konstandinos laughed. “A modest artist, you are the first one I have met Mr Teller.”

“Please call me Roberto. I do not think I am modest, just clever enough to have found Alki who gets these amazing prices for me. Konstandino, I also enjoy, as a hobby, creating magic and illusions. I promised to perform for the children. Will you excuse me?”

The garden was mostly covered by a tent and I had formed an energy shield to keep it warm. A small stage had been set for the singers and clowns, who had already left. I stood on it. I looked at Smaragda (guess why I was not surprised when I saw her with Wendy?) and gestured for her to come forward.

“Ladies and gentlemen. By special request I have come all the way from my home in the forests of the Amazon to perform some of the magic the local tribes taught me. You will see many things that are impossible and I warn you from now, there will be no explanation offered for what you see. I have asked this young lady to assist me.” I turned to Smaragda. “Will you please tell these people that I have just met you, I do not know you and we are not going to trick them?”




Next [Book 03] - Post 021

I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love - and should some of it be true for our reality, I hope you will love our Cherine.




Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)
10th August, 2019

* posted on Steemit: 10th August, 2019



For those who wish to be notified of sequels
@nikosnitza
If you wish to have your name added above, I would be honoured.















Sort:  

Hello @arthur.grafo4, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you - and I checked some of your posts...and I am very impressed. That makes your above praise even more special.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85