Sonic Groove Live, Week 1 – My Top 5

in #sgl5 years ago (edited)

Hello, humans of the blockchain realms.

I've been admittedly quiet here (and on all related platforms) but that doesn't mean I haven't been actively engaged.

In fact, I've been workin' away creating the branding/graphic design for this awesome new contest. I'm deeply honored and humbled by the invitation to not only contribute visually, but also to be a judge. It's been such a delight to watch/listen to the awesome entries for our first week!

I've gotta say – choosing is a rather difficult thing. Regardless of talent, there's just so much heart and courage in these entries. So, before I list my choices, let me just say....you're all winners in my book.

Sharing oneself in this way is a decidedly vulnerable thing – I know because I've done it myself. You dared to put yourselves out there – to boldly broadcast your sounds and voices and let yourself be heard.

I applaud each and every one of you.

That said, my top 5 selections are as follows:


First

@luisferchav 'Drive' by Incubus (cover)


I suppose this comes as no surprise – the exceptional talents of @luisferchav are well-known 'round these parts. Naturally, his entry into SGL Week 1 did not disappointment.

This was just such a lovely, seemingly effortless performance. From brilliantly executed vocals to well-played accompaniment, it's obvious he's played this song many times before; he clearly feels it, and so closely approximates the original...had I not seen him playing, I might've mistaken him for Incubus!

Well done, Luis! I look forward to hearing more from you in weeks to come. :)


Second

@fishyculture'Bethena' by Scott Joplin (cover)


What can I say? I'm a sucker for old-timey piano.

Perhaps it's the absolute rawness of this performance; the outright acceptance of the occasional, fumbling imperfections – the audible, mid-way 'workin' it out' hums – or maybe it's the underlying 'that's all, folks' sentiment that propels her fingers – but this kinda hit me in the feels. I found myself humming along, feeling nostalgic and even a lil' sad to imagine such an intriguing character leaving this grand, blockchain experiment...and we've only just 'met'.

I know we're not Open Mic (that contest was part of what first got me hooked on Steemit, so I understand), but we are trying to fill that significant gap. I can only hope you decide to stick around a lil' while longer, Miss Fabulous Fish – if for no other reason than to see how this SGL thing unfolds. ;) I'll keep my fingers crossed that we haven't heard the last from you...


Third

@lk666'Like A Stone' by Audioslave (cover)


What an excellent cover! I hadn't heard this song in such a lonnng time. It really sent me back – felt like I was in my 20's again!

Needless to say...I'm impressed; this is no easy song to manage. Talk about a wide vocal range! Hitting those super high notes takes major skill and breath-support. Holding those tones while also quite capably playing guitar only makes it more note-worthy (pun-intended!)

Bravo, @lk666! Thank you for sharing your powerfully rich voice with us. More, please!


Fourth

@orlandogonzalez'Our Love' theme by Silvio Rodríguez (cover)


Orlando, tu dulce voz es como un bálsamo encantador para mi corazón cansado. Tan suave, gentil y reconfortante: ¡podría escucharte cantar todo el día! ¡Gracias por compartir esta encantadora canción de cuna con nosotros!

translation
Orlando, your sweet voice is like a lovely balm for my tired heart. So soft and gentle and comforting – I could listen to you sing all day long! Thank you for sharing this beautiful lullaby with us!


Fifth

@andreavu'Perdition' by the La Quinta Estación Group (cover)


Querida, me ganaste con tu evidente pasión y hermosa voz. Me encanta el ambiente de baja fidelidad de este video ... como si estuviera sentado en tu cama contigo mientras cantas tu hermoso corazón. ¿Quién no disfrutaría de una actuación tan íntima? ;)

translation
My dear, you won me over with your obvious passion and gorgeous voice. I love the low-fi vibe of this video...like I'm sitting on your bed with you as you sing your beautiful heart out. Who wouldn't enjoy such an intimate performance?! ;)


SGLive-banner5.jpg


That's it for this week!

Big thanks to all who participated in our inaugural contest. I'm hoping more people catch wind of this and begin filling our feeds with wonderfully surprising musical performances. Help us spread the word!

Until next week,
xo, zippy


SGLive-banner1c.jpg

Sort:  

I am glad that this opportunity for your to judge became available, so there is another outlet into which you can pour your passion for music! Thank you for sharing your selections at PYPT! 😊

It’s definitely a big shift for me — judging is hard! But I do hope I can learn how to be a fair judge. 🙏🏼 Love you, KittyG! 🤗🌺

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

WOW! I have missed you, and music!
SO cool, to see it back.

Thanks for sharing this on #pypt @pypt today

Thanks for stopping by, Bluefy! 🤗

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

Thank you! I am deeply honored by your kind words. I am not the type to ever say "never" so I may be back, I just have to step away for a bit, the whole internet dream is turning so Orwellian for me.

I do understand. Still, I think we’re part of something good here — far better than crackbook or any of the other mainstream platforms!

Thank you for entering! I truly enjoyed it. 💕

Wao! Hi @zipporah!

Que palabras tan bellas e inspiradoras! Me alegra mucho haberte transmitido este sentimiento. Espero poder decirte siempre algo con mi música e interpretaciones. Muchas gracias!!

translation: What beautiful and inspiring words! I am very happy to have transmitted this feeling. I hope I can always tell you something with my music and performances. Thank you!!

¡Con esa voz maravillosamente relajante tuya, estoy seguro de que siempre lo harás!

💜⭐️🙌🏼⭐️💜

With that wonderfully soothing voice of yours, I’m quite sure you always will!

Hey @zipporah!

WOW thank you so much!!!
That's really high praise coming from you!!
I'm really happy @krystle got you guys to judge this contest! I look forward to see this contest grow!!

The praise comes quite easily with you — so well-deserved! Thank you for participating. 🌿

@zipporah Muchas Gracias por tan lindas palabras, estoy muy feliz por estar incluida en tu top5 que belleza

¡Gracias por agregar tu dulce voz! Amo tu energía! 🌺

Thank you for adding your sweet voice! I love your energy! 💕

The music I have discovered and artists I have met on STEEM are awesome. Here are some more great tunes I and the rest of the #pypt folks can enjoy!

Cheers!

It’s true; this place is full of talent! We’re just trying to give people a good way to share that... ⭐️ Thanks for listenin’! ✨

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

Hi @zipporah!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.459 which ranks you at #640 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 71 contributions, your post is ranked at #9.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @zipporah!

You just got a 0.3% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @zipporah, as a MAPX token-holder you just got an upvote.

This message is to introduce our latest MAXUV vote bond. It is able to deliver up to 200% vote weight at 0.1% per token per post per day. MAXUV is also open-ended so can scale with increasing users. Please read the launch post and the promotions leading up to HF21. Have a fine day!
[promo dates: 17-27 Aug]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85