Halls of Intelligentsia

in #shapiro5 years ago

By now the video has made plenty of rounds online and I'm sure most people have enjoyed the train wreck. I should not gloat, but in all honesty it's kind of hard not to. Of course, I'm all for debates and disagreements, but I do think that we live in too much of a bubble and our platforms for discourse are more like safe spaces for people to vent their political frustrations.



I think the video is worth watching regardless of what side of the isle you land on. I mean, if you are a leftie you might be happy because someone pwned a con, and even though that is quite silly, I would not blame you. But, even if you are a right leaning mind, there's a lot you can learn on how not to debate, how not to engage in the free market of ideas.

There's been tons of commentary on the subject already, and truthfully there's not a whole lot I can add. But, there is one point I do want to make, one that I believe is not only fair, but for some reason people don't seem to accept it as a reality.

Within the political spectrum, change is almost always initiated by the left, and the right is always there to mediate any proposed change. In other words, I'm baffled at the idea that it is insulting to say the right wing in America is not proposing new ideas, because it's simply how our politics work.

How can we deny this? Think about this, conservatism, the word, comes from the word conserve, which means to keep the same, aka NO CHANGE. So why would we even talk about something as ridiculous as Halls of Intelligentsia, beats me.

This is factually true: The left IS proposing the new ideas, and the right IS fighting them. Now, this does not say if the new ideas are good or bad, and for the most part they tend to be disastrous, but that's not the point, the point is that the water got so muddy, the conversation got so emotional, that nothing of essence was said.

At any rate, if you got 16 minutes to kill.... click play!

MenO

Sort:  

Meh... this is what is wrong with our system... polemicists who are masquerading as thinking people, where they employ internet debating techniques thinking that everyone is against them if they don't instantly agree with everything they say (I have the same thoughts towards polemicists of the Left as well...). These guys are entertaining and charismatic and lots of people fall for them... but they are nothing more than the equivalent of drunken university debate nights by young proto-politicians.

PS: I would argue that the Right also proposes new ideas (such as in the 80s and 90s, the Right championed ideas that suggested that privatisation would increase efficiencies of government run services, this is from the Australian perspective but I think it holds elsewhere as well). I don't think the Progressive/Conservative idea should be mixed in with an Attacker/Defender (bad words, I can't think of the right ones at the moment) concept!

the more libertarian ideas are not new, but I do get your point clearly. ;)

Hahah lol it can be happen in the case if the person it self is having a lack of vision for the next future.

Posted using Partiko Android

Neither the left nor right wing proposes anything different. The only thing they want to change is the quantity they will steal from you.

The problem is that both sides are aligning to retain power or get more. Exactly why I cannot stand to watch nor read about politics anymore.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Talk fast = smart

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87