Feathers in my Artwork. Collage. Montage. Original Photography.

in #share2steem5 years ago (edited)

Feathers.
At the local lake.
Every time I walk there.
Autumn freshness in Sydney now.
My favourite time of the year. Energy renewed.
Preparing to share new work now: Collage and montage.
~Ally.

Feathers.

I've been very drawn to working with feathers for many years now and they have a personal significance for me. It's like they cast their magic all around me as I work with them. ~Ally.

Feathers.2000-4035.jpg

Once you have tasted flight you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward.
For there you have been, and there you will always long to return.

~Leonardo da Vinci.


First appearance of feathers in my artwork.

My very first collages were intuitively designed and extremely simple affairs. A series of about eight works with a format of two narrow rectangles on either side of a square. At the time I felt that these four rectangles most likely represented two pillars with the space between them being equated to an energy field reaching upwards or the Tree of Life.

At this time I wasn't aware of the significance of the 11:11. It was only when a friend told me about her connection with the 11:11 that it dawned on me ~ In the middle of the night ~ That this sanguine symbol was already in my collage work.

The 11:11 is seen as representing a Portal or Gateway to other levels of our being. It is seen by many people in day-to-day situations as a reminder to simply be in the present moment and by doing so, becoming more in tune with all Cosmic Life.

In a practical sense, the 11:11 can be seen as the numbers on a digital clock or phone or the position of trees in a park/forest.

I shared one of my early 11:11 collages in Art: Collage: 11:11 No.1. Mount Kosciuszko: Australia and this is another from the same series featuring the Julia Set crop circle that appeared near Stonehenge in 1996.

cropcircles716x494.jpg

Art is the queen of all sciences:
Communicating knowledge to all the generations of the world.

~Leonardo da Vinci.


Fire: From the 11:11 Element Series.

Acknowledging the potentiality of the 11:11 as a symbol, compelled me to work with bringing its ‘potency’ into my next collage series: With intent.

The format for these eight collages was slightly refined, and was used to introduce the elements: Earth, Fire, Water and Air along with their related seasons, colours, gemstones, astrology and qualities.

As an example Fire represents the element of fire, the season of autumn, the colours of red, brown, orange and yellow, and the gemstone quartz crystal. Fire is also related to the astrological signs of Aires, Leo and Sagittarius and can be associated with the energy of releasing and forgiveness.

The collage was made with handpainted papers and silk fibre, flowers and seeds, crystals and flat shells as well as feathers.

FIRE.1000-019.border.jpg

Learn how to see.
Realize that everything connects to everything else.

~Leonardo da Vinci.


Feathers in my Ephemeral Art.

As my collage work became even more layered (using sheets of glass between the layers) it eventually burst out from the confines of a frame.

I started building relatively small structures and and arrangements: Using branches and sticks, stones and shells, seeds and grasses, flowers and crystals ~ And of course, feathers.

ORIG.1000-7832.jpg

A life without love, is no life at all.
~Leonardo da Vinci.


Wool and feathers.

While reviewing a hand-dyed wool yarn from The Gentle Soul for the Contest: Product Review after Shopping at the Homesteaders Co-op I really loved the lines and shapes the wool was forming as it was being unraveled.

The creative photographer wanted to play now and placed some wild duck feathers onto the wool. If there hadn't been a deadline for this Contest, I would have braved what must have been one of the hottest days we've had so far this summer and found some flowers to add to this arrangement. ~Ally. Skein of hand-dyed wool: Purchased from 'The Gentle Soul' at the Homesteaders Co-op.

Incidentally, the soft green tones of The Gentle Soul's wool were created by dyeing the wool yarn with black hollyhock flowers


A well-spent day brings happy sleep.
~Leonardo da Vinci.


Video: Feathers.

This VERY simple video shows some of the other feathers that have been found by the lake. The video is tediously slow moving but has some interesting visual merges. And the vocals by our Australian Willy Wagtails, from the ABC Sound Library, lend a beautiful ring to it all.


Photoshop.

After creating Cover Images for my MakersPlace Gallery and Homesteaders Coop Store, I discovered that I could actually navigate my way around some of the Photoshop icons.

So that during my little 'holiday' I created a few very simple images that I'll share with you next time. For now I'd like to share the beginning of Temple of the Rose.

Temple of the Rose.

The feathers are obvious but can you see the infinity symbol? A pleasant surprise for anyone who can tell me where it is.


feather.ocean.infinity.7.jpg

The knowledge of all things is possible.
~Leonardo da Vinci.


Current Projects.

Feathers that have been incorporated into so many of my art pieces from collage work to ephemeral arrangements are now a prominent part of a range of eco-friendly products that will soon be available from my Homesteaders Co-Op Store: Eco Curios: Magical wands and hats, poles and figures as well as small baskets and containers.

And eventually images: Photographs, drawings and paintings inspired by these curios will find their way into my Makers Place Gallery.


Magical Wands.

Just a glimpse of my first Magical Wand: With all the feathers freely given by the wild ducks at the Roseville Lake.


Imagine.
All the wonderful things.
That you could wish for. If you had:
A MAGICAL WAND.

~Ally.


ORIGINAL.2000.CR-2.jpg


A heart that is holding infinite possibilities.
A creative who is learning to trust the mystery of what will be.
A spirit that is willing to fly into new creative realms and share the journey.
~Ally.


Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7.


makers place gallery.png


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


HSCO.GHSC.FINAL.png



T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png

Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

Sort:  

Beautiful, as always @allyinspirit ♥ I found the infinity symbol...below the center, I think in shells? I just love your art!!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Your creations are so unique. I love them all!!!! I love how you use all the elements of nature in your work, and yes I see the infinity symbol with the tiny shells. Love and Light to you! BTW At my posting this remark your post has earned 1.11 and 1 comment. love it 11:11

What amazing art! I have seen feathers in the Native American arts, but have never really thought of it being used by other people. I loved what you are doing.
Ren

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


Lemon-Mousse-Cake_2.png

infinity stones!
Manually curated by @scrawly.

Ahhh welcome back Ally! Your post is always filled with beauty and thoughtfulness, full of treats to your audience. I've always liked that you have the ability to collect mundane ordinary things and make something beautiful out of them, it is a great and uplifting talent. In this photo, the feathers look so soft and fluffy, I find them pretty adorable.

And infinity symbols are laid in the stones arrangement. Infinity stones!! You probably don't watch superheroes movies but infinity stones are a pretty big deal these days :D.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76