Last 'Share Your World' Contest # 4 - My Island Dream

in #shareyourworld6 years ago

Source

Hello everyone and thank you @reonlouw for organizing this awesome 'Share Your World' contest.

In this post I will share a little part of my world, so hop on!

I am a transplanted New Yorker. I've spent most of my adult life working hard and running the rat race. Jumping from a train to another, from a job to another, in that concrete jungle called Manhattan.

343.jpg

11 years ago I decided to stop running. I was dreaming of an island in the middle of the ocean, where I can relax and enjoy my life. I think everybody has a similar dream, but not anybody can take action. Well.. I did it!

pr5.jpg

I decided to go to St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands. I moved my family to the suburbs in New Jersey and booked a vacation for me and myself.

Since then, August 2007, St. Thomas is my second home. I spend half of my time there. Here is a view of my dream island, or should I say "my island dream?"

charlotte-amalie-1.jpg

Most of Caribbean cruise ships stop here, so tourism is the main source of income for the locals. My own source of income is tourists too, they buy my beach jewelry and handmade souvenirs. Well, I am a local too...

charlotte-amalie-2.jpg

The beaches are very beautiful and welcoming for tourists and locals alike. There is no private beach in St. Thomas! They are open to everyone and I love that!

elysian.jpg

This beach is my favorite. White sand and turquoise waters. It is called Emerald Beach.

palmtree.jpg

I am sure you already fell in love with my Dream Island. Its beauty is obvious. But what I love most about this island is the people. I love the warm, loving, caring Caribbean culture!

Although this island is very modernized, as it is a part of US, the traditions are still there. Locals still gather in those cute rum bars and tell stories. They swear on many super-natural events, they gossip and laugh and live life at fullest!

They don't worry that there is not enough money in the bank for retirement, they don't worry that the roof has a hole... no MAN, everything is irie... enjoy today, enjoy NOW, this moment...

I learned so many things from them. When I travel back to New Jersey to catch up with my kids and medical stuff... I get stressed and I want to go back fast.

Unfortunately, last year's hurricanes Maria and Irma slowed down my travels. I lost my business, my belongings, my tools... it is hard to resurface... but I try.

NEVER GIVE UP - that's my slogan.

So that's my piece of world I wanted to share with you today.

What other place and culture I admire and want to visit?

Well... I've been traveling quite a bit, all over the world. I am a nomad at heart and maybe literally too. I would love to visit all Caribbean Islands. All of them. They say "Same thing, different island", but it is not true. I've been to a few islands and I met all type of people, ate very different traditional foods, listened to various types of music, danced all kind of dances in their awesome Carnival celebrations, so ... no... they are not the same.

Like we always say in the islands - One day, one day...

2divider.png

Follow me and my stories starjewel.gif

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Such an inspirational post, and what a beautiful place, so greta you had a dream or vision and you made it work

Yes @tattoodjay I had the vision, and it worked for a while, but nothing is forever. The hurricanes made me realize that the island life is not so idyllic, unfortunately.

Well hurricanes will do that but at least you followed your dream for a while then adjusted your dream

Do you need a passport to go there?

No. It is US territory. There are direct flights from Florida. Spirit airlines, cheap. From NY/NJ is United Airlines, straight flight, 4 hours.

This is really awesome article friend..
Beautiful..

Thank you so much 😊

@starjewel a lovely story and so sorry that it was wrecked by the storms. But a good warrior never stays down. All of the best to you! Blessings!

Yes, true. I am a warrior. Always been. I’m getting softer with the age I guess. 😊

It took a lot of guts to pack up and move - even if just half the year. Sorry about your loss, but you'll bounce back because "if you can make it here, you can make it anywhere...!"

So true @mikecolon. If I made in NY, I can survive in Sahara or North Pole for sure.

It’s everyone’s dream to live in a paradise like this ❤️
What I love the most is the public white sandy emerald enach ❤️

Know you know why Emerald beach is my favorite. 😊

OMGosh!!! HOw COOL!

I can imagine the island life is agreeing with you! I applaud you for leaving the big city and finding a place you love and feel comfortable with. We (hubby and I) have often talked about selling everything and relocating to somewhere in Central America... but alas, we haven't been able to take that step.. yet

You will take the step when you’re ready or better said, when time will come. With me, I just woke up one morning and I said “that’s it”. 😊

Upvote you in kryptonia@CEARrtou66
祝福你,停下腳步,轉到你的夢想
我也曾夢想著到處走走,但只能這條路走到黑,人生的無奈
颶風是天真的小朋友
雖然被他們給禍害了
但寬恕他們--他們只是一群從沒出過們的天真小小朋友
想想我在小朋友時的第一次出門
也是那般......
願你擁有美好的一天
再度出發....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77