My Shit Post (Comedy Open Mic 17)

in #shit6 years ago (edited)

image.png

This week the Korean national curriculum requires that I teach "Please go ahead. Help yourself." And, "Do you want some more?" The object is for students to introduce foods and and offer various foods in English.

The text book chose to introduce "Beef Pie" from Australia. The only problem is that Beef directly translated into Korean is "cow meat" just like pork is translated as "pig meat".

image.png

Beef and pork in Korea comes sold with the animal head on the label. You might think that is to protect the animal rights and help you know what you are really eating. But actually the smiling pig head is a sign of good luck.

Anyway imagine trying to teach "beef" to kids that learned "cow meat." It just doesn't work. Now add on the fact that kids have to introduce beef pie to their friends and say, "Go ahead. Help yourself." Now add a Korean accent to the words, "Help yourself." They really have a hard time pronouncing the "L" sound so what should sound like "help" really sounds like "hump".

Anyway they butchered the dialog to the point that fifth grade students were walking around the classroom saying this:

A: I like cow pie.

B: Go ahead. Hump yourself.


I decided to write a poem about this:

Cow Pies


Cow pies are to be left for flies
Beef this is what we eat

I know you might be vegetarian
That's OK with me

Some prefer the annoying orange friends
Than a smiling pig on a butcher's plate
greeting at the store

Why the textbook overlooked
ANSAC biscuits and pavlova
I will never understand

Only cow pies from Australia
And apple pie from America

The cow pie is good for fertilizer or fuel for fire
But don't eat the cow pie honey
You will regret that nasty treat

Now this poem is over
and you still want beef

image.png

I submit this shit poem for day 98 of the 100 day poetry competition @d-pend.(Steemschool Discord) Img 1 Source Img 2 Source Img 3 Source Img 3 Source

Verse of the Day/ Proverbs 17:22

”A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.”

Mineopoly Quote:

"Teaching ESL is the shit."

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

What does a shit post consist of anyway?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

I nominate @roundbeargames and @clayboyn to make a funny post for @comedyopenmic.

image.png

Sort:  

😆. Ffs man

;-)

I'll take that as a compliment coming from Patrick's mouth.

Hahahaha I like cow pie!! Go ahead, hump yourself!!!! Omg ... I can't breathe!! I love your shit post @mineopoly.. laughter to start the day!! Nice!! Thanks!!

I'm glad you liked it @monchhichi23. There is nothing more funny than the truth. These kids are awesome. I'm really doing my best to help them with slight differences in translations but they are like, "It's the middle of June and we still have a month before vacation starts!" Attention span is at the lowest. I'm just glad they're doing something even if that something is just walking around the classroom saying to their freinds, "Go ahead. Hump yourself!"

Gotta cherish those little moments @mineopoly! These memories you will be able to look back on and will give you a chuckle... it's a great thing! Your homework for today is to go ahead and hump yourself!!! Make sure you do it right!! Hahaha I freaking love that

Great homework assignment!!

Oh my God! A mega word disaster creates my mineopoly friend here. A funny tongue twister and at the same time instructive because it teaches the variety of expressive forms in their adoptive land with respect to some foods. Greetings, friend @mineopoly and a big hug!

Hahaha... You got it! Thank you @zeleiracordero. This is a big muddy hug.

I really enjoyed this shit post, @mineopoly. I just can't get this out of my mind:

A: I like cow pie.
B: Go ahead. Hump yourself.

Thank you for letting me know @take5. Now you share in this shitty epidemic.

It has to be said what is going an ESL teacher hears.

Always welcome :)

Gracious

Next time I’ll ask for a cow pie minus the humping...

Good luck for COM 17!

Thanks @linnyplant.

There are two kinds of Cowpies.

Cow pies are mostly referred to as cow pooh or cow droppings.

But in Wisconsin cowpies are also a manufactured treat:

image.png

But the kids in my class just didn't want to say, "Beef pie."

I should have a I recording of this kids saying, "Hump yourself."

Thanks for your good wishes.

ROFW
Peace.

Is that

Rolling on the floor wailing?

As in,
I'm so wonwy.
Peace.

Go ahead.

Help Yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84