Me & 100 Cheer Moms...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #shopping5 years ago

image

A friend of mine asked me to set up at a holiday shopping event that the high school was putting on. So I figured why not. I could bring some Funko Pops as they are extremely popular with everyone. It’s parents with young children that will mainly be shopping here and I think that it should be worth the shop’s while. So I donated a prize for the auction part and headed over.

Upon getting there I realized that this was to benefit the Cheer team...so here I am the only dude with a booth. Surrounded by cheer moms...

  • Lucky guy?

  • Or poor sap?

image

Blewitt

Sort:  

Haha, well I hope you still had a good time there. I started collecting some of the f pops, mainly for the kids, but they didn't understand why they couldn't play with them LOL. And now, when my youngest grabbed one of them once, my eldest son patiently explained to him what NIB means 🤣 He's soooo my son. So after that, I decided they should open a few.

Great set up @blewitt even with the contrast who cares it's good to be different plus the noble cause, cheer moms lol lucky you.

Yeah it was a varied crowd of vendors. I was definitely odd man out lol

As you are married, sap. :P

😂

Truth. Sap it is.

How about an on-boarding mission while you are there? Would be better if this post was at $100 eh.

Hey look ladies, I'm talking about you guys and being rewarded for it - you should be doing this too!

Not a bad initiative. Funny you mention that because that’s basically what I’m going to be doing next Con season. I’m making up done postcard that sums up what this is. Trying to bring the comic, toy, and art community here. Won’t cost me much. Maybe a couple hundred bucks to get stuff made. Then I have thousands to pass out at the cons. In every bag. To every vendor before the con. Even if it fails, only cost me a small investment but if it works and I could bring in even a handful of new enthusiasts...that would be worth it.

Cool!

That's what I like to hear. And of course, you blog about the process and monetize that too.

No doubt. I gotta conjure up some simple words that explain the platform to artists, writers, and collectors, without confusing them or scaring them away before they even try. Most of these people pop up their collections or works on other social media sites already. A very active bunch. Just gotta figure out how to motivate them to come over to our neck of the woods...

I found so much joy in this one photo because your booth sticks out like a sore thumb. I’ve been zooming in and laughing at the contrast of merchandise. Obviously I’d probably only be interested in the funko pops. 🤓

Lol. Essential oils, homemade wreaths, jewelry, chocolates, pillows, and my toys. Lol

To be fair you are the only one there with product worth buying.... a check out this dude’s booth. THAT is some sadness.

BDB57D35-E7D0-4E56-8D81-0DF9BDAD599C.jpeg

31CEAC45-CDAF-4CAC-BD3A-601A5F62AED9.jpeg

Lol. That dude is creeping in my booth right now.

Bet you he buys some!!!

Haha! The booth looks great, @blewiit! Way to go, brother!

Thx sir! Yeah it was a bit quiet but it went for a nice cause.

howdy sir blewitt! haha! Was it worthwhile? I would think just the exposure would be good for business. Hey I have a dumb question, I've heard you mention Funko Pops before and I have no idea what those are!

It was slower than expected. I kinda felt bad. So many people set up nice booths and I think mostly everyone did poorly. We only did a couple hundred bucks. Not worth the trouble normally but it went to benefit the cheer team which my niece and friends kids are on so I’m cool with it.

Lol. No problem. Funko is just the company. Pops are their main toy line. They are just vinyl toys of popular characters from pop culture. Funko really slays in their licensing department. They cover a wide variety of major ones like Star Wars, Marvel, DC, Disney, and pretty much any movie, tv show, or game you could imagine. Done go for insane cash. Highly collectible.

howdy again sir blewitt! Are you sure you want to get out of the comic business? Because you're so good at it and seem to really enjoy it on your posts anyway. Plus it's kind of got job security doesn't it? I mean unless just everyone starts buying online but that's not as fun as going to a store and seeing it in person.

0C3107AE-94C6-4141-820B-4A36ADF98E27.gif

My interest would still be there. I just would not have the shop.

I’m tappin out. 😂

lol. ok sir I understand.

Yeah I think I need to do some serious soul searching and come to a definitive conclusion.

yes sir blewitt but at least you aren't under the pressure of a time limit are you?

No not at all. Just my own sanity and happiness. Lol

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 26000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

No problem. Watch this...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79