Black Friday - What's all the hype?

in #shopping5 years ago

black-3753444_1280.jpg

My first and last Black Friday


So for the first time since the UK stole adopted the Americanism that is Black Friday, I was in a financial position to join the bats in the belfry minority on hunting for that life-changing bargain and boast about it to everyone as if I had discovered Aladdin's lamp.

Unfortunately, the experience was not quite the picture that had previously been painted.

It starts with the fact that the night before I had to endure a 12hr night shift and was not going to finish till 7 am the day of the sales so I decided that sleep was for the weak and I would leave straight from work and take my place among those bargain-hungry, slightly eccentric shoppers, ready for the stores to open the doors to pure chaos.


SALE.jpg
source


Although tired I had it all planned. I would start with the big supermarket which over the previous years, has been the most popular with the best bargains of all. I got there all loaded with a flask of coffee and a pocket of cash only to find that the store had about three customers in there. I even had to second guess that it was even open.

So on to the next!

The store across the road was opening in 15 mins time and was given the first customer that walked through the door a free coffee machine. Even though I thought my chances were slim, I checked it out anyway and as I turned the corner my eye's lit up to the fact that they were only 1 guy and his son waiting by the door.
Surely this could be the bargain of the day! A free coffee machine if I can just get past them.
But as I stood there, freezing and grasping my now cold flask of coffee, I overhear the young boy say to his Dad how he can not wait to choose his mother's present for Christmas and how she will really like the speaker he had chosen.
So as soft-hearted as I am, I let them take the first step into the store and claim the coffee machine to really make this little guy's day.


On and On I Go!


From one shop to the next I searched for that diamond in the ruff but nothing was shouting out to me. I even checked my calendar to see if I had got the right day. After traveling a total of 23 mile's and spending more money on taxi fare's than actual purchases, I had been awake for 26 hours and still never came home with any more than a carrier bag of goods. The prices did not reflect the week-long hype that spewed across our tv's and mobile phones. Why would anyone wait for that one special day of complete price crashing deal's, when actually all you got is a poxy 10% off the rrp.

So on reflection, my first Black Friday was probably my last!

  • The deal's where not as amazing as I thought
  • The item's where mostly end of stock or clearance
  • The store's where empty
  • The saving's would only get spent on some random item that you never even thought about buying when you left home that day

Black Friday-Don't Do It!!!!

animated-banner.gif

pictures from pixabay

Sort:  

I think Black Friday is incredibly overrated, trading on people's need to feel part of a group. Originally there was great discounts, now I am inclined to believe the discounts aren't what they used to be. In addition it is sad to see the number of fights people get in over purchases.

Congratulations @father2b! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by father2b from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @father2b! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74