The lingering memory (short-story)

in #short-story5 years ago

Tuesday, 23, 2009. The memory still remain fresh as if it was yesterday. I woke up early enough on Saturday morning, planning to make a breakfast for myself even though a left over rice from yesterday; "it is just to have something eaten to sustain man for the day", I said in a solemn tone. Not long from that seconds was this strange wild; breeze forcing itself entrance through the window. I screamed out wide, unlucky enough for me there wasn't anybody at home. Though I had a dying grandma which I couldn't run to. She was just there 'a symbol'.

'All these unusual breeze is a sign of something bad about to happen or had happened', I grumbled. Not long after that I resigned to bed with the hope that in the morning I would have a peace of mind once the day break. It was a voice that woken me up. 'John! John!! John!!!', shouted a woman afar distance. I though I was dreaming but it was a true life experience. After much emphasize from the woman voice, I voiced out in an tear furrowed manner, called a death wish on the caller; the caller was a mom's friend. I had to compose myself but I wondered what could have happened for the woman to come to our house early enough in the morning; what has never happened before. Being troubled from the strange wild that almost cause me to stop breathing I knew right within me that it Was The manifestation of my dreaded experience overnight. Before the woman could utter any word, teared has fulled. 'What is wrong with you', said the woman In a cool and calm voice. 'Nothing' I responded breathing heavily like someone that was forced to lift an heavy load. image

Consequently after that she had to calm me down. 'You Will have to take heart son, I will surely be there for you and your little brother, it is hard to believe but it true, said the woman shaking her head in dismay. 'What really happened ma? Can't you talk to me, I'm afraid something has happened to my mom? I retorted. After much persuasion from me, the woman was able to relate the message with me, narrated what actually happened. 'There was an accident on our way coming home, I didn't bothered the same car with your mother said the woman since it was already occupied and you know my trade is different from what your mother sells'. I didn't let the woman landed, I bombarded her with a lot of questions. She was confused. At last, she made me believe that the accident caused my mom's life.

To be continued.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by adeyemidrey from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @adeyemidrey! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75