Cyclops Showcase - original music and art from the island of Colossa!

in #showcase-sunday4 years ago

image.png
@cyclops art by moi

One of my favorite alt accounts is @cyclops. The poor lonely one-eyed bastard has been sleeping in his cave for a while now, but I thought it was time he came out to eat some two-eyes and piss all over your Steem stream. In all honesty that entire account is a work of art, I would highly recommend checking out the other posting there but here is a nice selection of cyclopean creativity from the shores of Colossa.

This post was inspired by @nonameslefttouse's thingie

The best Steem collaboration between human and monstrosity EVER!!!

I have to start with this, because in all honesty this is one of my favorite things I have ever spewed forth onto the blockchain. It is a Steem collaboration, which is always double awesome sauce, between me-as-@cyclops and the ever amazing @markangeltrueman. Mark wrote the lyrics as a set of four rhymeku (rhyming haiku). BTW I made that cyclops mask out of an old t-shirt and masking tape :)


Cyclops Reviews a Beer

beerclops cave background crosshatchworkdream2.jpg

One

is the perfect number, on that we can all agree. One eye, one beer. My vision must stay clear. I can assure you, you wouldn't want to see drunk Cyclops.

I mentioned previously how a remarkable biclops named @rubencress was good enough to bring me a nice selection of craft beers from the Pacific Northwest coast of the US of A. In addition to having a huge mouth, I also have a huge tongue and a huge nose; I am basically a super-taster. Allow me to demonstrate as I review a beer for your delight and edification.

Breakside Brewery - Wanderlust IPA


breakside.jpg


Now this is what I am talking about. What a crisp, delicious, well-balanced and refreshing beer. The hops were blended really nicely to give the subtle citrus notes that I love in an IPA. Easy drinker for a hot summer's day but still enough flavor and body to warm you up in the winter. The kind of beer you would take home to your mother.

(remind me to tell you about my mother some time, she is kind of a bad-ass)


IBU: 64 This isn't a super hoppy super bitter IPA but 64 IBU is still nothing to sneeze at. If you are not really a hops person and would normally steer clear of a 64 IBU beer, you might still want to give this a try. The hops blend is not on the pine-y end of the bitterness spectrum, which makes it more forgiving.

ABV: 6.2% Straight down the middle of the road. Not too high, not too low.

Hops Amarillo, Cascade, Mosaic, Simcoe, Summit
Mosaic hops seem to keep on cropping up in a number of my favorite beers of late.

Malt: Munich, Two Row

Cyclops Rating Scale

Let me break my rating scale down for you. I will rate every beer from one to five eyes, with two eyes being the worst obviously and one eye being perfection. I will leave it to you to work out what three to five eyes on the scale means, I think it is self explanatory.

Cyclops gives this beer one eye.

Perfectly hits the mark for an everyday IPA.

Post cover image is original mixed media digital art by moi

This is not @cyclop's only beer review, you can also tip back an Alameda Black Bear XX Stout with the one-eyed charmer.


Cyclops Writes Poetry

Maybe best known for eating people's heads in one bite, Cyclops actually has a surprisingly introspective side expressed here in poetry:


Ah, what ebon shores lie beyond
the pale of cyclopean thought.
Bravely I cast my boat
adrift in the endless sea.
And when perchance my thoughts drift home,
a lifeline from the end of times,
I cast loose my hold and once again
go farther from my cavernous abode.

Mine eye, mine eye!
Will it ever see again?
And seeing, will the brain yet comprehend?

But at night's end I find myself -
no stranger in a strange land,
but still an oddity in an odyssey.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Questo post è stato condiviso e votato dal team di curatori di discovery-it.

This post was shared and voted by the curators team of discovery-it


DOPE!!!!!!!!!!

Where to begin? My gosh I love it all, from the beer lesson to the wonderful acoustic, the mention of a mysterious account and the delicate poetry. You are a very beautiful man indeed. You simply must keep Gnashing deer!
It’s funny that you should mention cyclops, I mention another cyclops in this post

@cyclops is very interesting, will be checking out more of his stuff

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73