Ask the Storybots (Netflix show): It's a kids show, that's all

in #shows5 years ago

I saw this in the Netflix lineup and in the preview window there was a picture of Kevin Smith so I thought that perhaps this was going to have some sort of Adult Swim aspect to it - a cartoon for adults if you will. It is not that, it is purely a kids show.

maxresdefault.jpg
source

Don't get me wrong: I think children's educational programming is fantastic. I was basically raised on some of the legends like Mr. Rogers Neighborhood, Sesame Street, and The Electric Company.

I just think it is funny that after seeing an image of the director of kind of racy films in the preview window (Kevin Smith) that i totally had the wrong idea about this one. After waiting about 20 minutes into the first episode I realized that nothing "adult" was going to happen in this show and to be honest, I had to chuckle when I actually learned something from watching it.


source

The Storybots are 5 whimsical characters named Beep, Bing, Bang, Boop and Bo who go on little adventures and are faced with various puzzles along the way. The solutions to these puzzles teach kids interesting facts about various topics like music, art, history, and science. I think that if you have kids, that this show could stay reasonable entertaining to an adult as well.

There are a bunch of famous guest stars that appear in the episodes and I think it might be considered sort of prestigious to be involved in an episode the way that being on the Muppet Show was all the rage back in the 80's.

They switch between various animation styles and even use a bit of live action and puppetry, which i believe is an interesting approach. It is very unlikely that I am going to watch another episode of this because I have no kids and my dog really doesn't care what we watch as long as i occasionally throw one of her chew toys across the room.

If you have kids, this one could be a winner for you... it is totally innocent and educational.

tumblr_nvsv177bFA1uitzhdo1_400.jpg

Sort:  

My son still doesn't entertain himself on tv. But I have to look at the things he can see and the things he can't see. He'll be interested soon.

well let's not force anyone's kids into watching TV.... :) That is great that your son wants to do non-TV related things!

That was a cool one,but it is still good for children.

That is pretty awesome. I remember all of those shows you mentioned. 3 2 1 contact was probably my favorite though. I have always been a science nerd. I think I can still sing the bloodhound gang theme song too...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06