1 Kilo lighter today

in #silver5 years ago

On August 6th 2014, I bought 2kg of Silver. Today, one of those bars is heading back to where it came from.



Which is a bit of a shame, but I need cash to fund the move to a new place to live. I could fill this post with a bunch of "if only's", but that's only going to piss me off more. The transaction leaves me around 10% down on a 5 year hold - I'm not sure of much else (housing, index funds, crypto), I could have bought in 2014 and be at a loss selling at the end of 2019 but it is what it is, as they say.



I'm actually tempted to sell the other as even at Silver's peak in April 2011, the bar would 'only' be worth 3 and a bit times as much. 3 X on a 5 year investment is pretty decent, but to 10 X on that April 2011 peak, you would need to have been holding the metal for seven years.



The Silver slug doing its thing

3 X / 10 X, pfffft. Screw that, I want some of those 100 X gainz. I highly doubt that in my lifetime we'll see anything close to that with regards to precious metal, and so I'm willing roll the dice on riskier assets.

Speaking of which, has STEEM bottomed out this past week? Fingers crossed.



Cheers

Asher

Sort:  

Hi @abh12345!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.458 which ranks you at #181 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 109 contributions, your post is ranked at #2. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Geez, how much does that weigh? ;D

Does "riskier asset" mean you have a girlfriend?

Never weighed it myself but I'm hoping 1000g :D

Does "riskier asset" mean you have a girlfriend?

Playing risky, not going crazy :D

There is a "wife carrying" competition in Finland where you win your wife's weight in beer. Choose well.

It's a good job you are not so fond of Beer :)

:D She is still too heavy for me to carry.

This man notices the important things.

That’s just one of the browsers too! 😳🙈

Absolute filth

Shit-token collection at full tilt 😎

Congratulations @goldcoin, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @abh12345!
@abh12345 got 1.96120800 TRDO & @goldcoin got 1.30747200 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I'd cling on to the other one - good to be diversified.

I went for coins for my recent silver and gold purchase to avoid the VAT.

Don't forget the old interest free credit card trick to help a temporary cash flow crisis - as long as you can pay it pack before the intro period of course!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah next time it will most certainly be coins - damn VAT is a bitch on the non-tender metal.

As long as i pass a credit check i should be OK for cash - time to start being a bit more sensible with what I collect!

I hope you are keeping well - will the shorter days bring a few more Posts out of you?

I intuitively think (What every crypto predictor on here should start their posts with) silver is going to start creeping up... steady gains I think.

I probably will start posting again, at some point, I’ve only stopped as I’m busy working on material for the other blog and learning Tableau properly. It’s all a bit time consuming. And the occasional course of course.

I’m also trying to learn Python too but am getting a bit stuck with the logic. I failed my AO maths, but then again (being logical) if i was good enough to do the GCSE in a year and get onto that course at 15 it’s probably just s bad memory hurdle I need to get over rather than any lack of ability.

Actually it’s that last reason I probably stopped posting - if I can nail the code I can do some really swanky stuff on Steem, short term posting just hampers my long term development - not to mention the potential employment prospects - there really are jobs for data visualisers out there which is what I-m aiming for.

There’s just not enough time in the day.

Nice looking bar!
Things/price may change soon but like you said, you need the cash now.

Yeah and I still have one, 'just in case', cheers :)

Nice looking bar!

flirt.

Haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought you had just taken a dump or something lol. Unfortunately having the physical object and only going up 3x is not that great ,but still ok. You are right we need Steem to shift into gear to save our bacon.

All part of the click-bait plan :)

I'm hoping 2020 is the year of the saved bacon, we are due a good one!

That is a sexy scuba diving weight.

shhhh, no talking about whatsapp on the Steems :P

Damn, it’s hard to let go of silver now but I totally understand. We may have one more silver drop soon but in 5 years, I can easily see silver at $100+ 🤑

That would be 6/7x? I need 600x yo!

The way crypto’s been acting, we need 1000x 😂😅😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sometimes you don't have other choice to let go!

Posted using Partiko Android

goooo.gif

If only my hair looked this good :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77