The lure of treasure: I created two new stackers...

in #silver6 years ago

I don't tend to tell too many people I stack silver and a little gold, well...Everyone on Steemit knows but then again out of the 1300 or so followers I have probably only three or four actually read my posts anyway. Off the platform I don't say much to many people at all, there's little point in doing so and I suppose one needs to be mindful of theft or home-invasion. They better bring an army if they're going to home invade me though or it might be a bit one-sided, weighted my way. Anyway, I don't tell many people but occasionally I mention stacking to someone who shows an interest in it.

This happened the other day with a couple of young people in my team at work. We were talking about property investment, finances and then eventually the finance industry, taxation and the government. It led me to tell them I threw a little silver in the cupboard every now and and they seemed really interested in my reasons, what I bought, where I got it from and how much it was. They were keen to see some so the next day I took some into work to show them.

I took in a 1 kilogram bar of silver and some of my more interesting 1 ounce coins including my recently acquired Darth Vader coin. They loved it all! I received several knocks at my office door over the day as they wanted to come and see (and touch) my silver again and of course ask a question or two. It was pretty cool as I could see their excitement build each time.

The next day one of them came into my office with something in his hand...A couple of 1 ounce coins he had purchased the night before! I was really pleased to see he had made the leap. The other, a young 21 year old girl also told me she was off to the shop on Saturday (today) to go and get one as well. So, I'm now officially responsible for creating two new stackers.

When we were talking about it they asked how I pay for my silver, as in where does the money come from. I earn a lot more than these two and I think they expected to hear I just whipped out a credit card or a wad of cash and bought mountains of silver...Nothing could be further from the truth though. I actually buy my silver using spare change. That's right, coins collected in a jar I have on my kitchen counter. Chump change.

You know when you break a note and all you get is coins? Well, I put mine in this jar and when there's enough to make a trip to the shop off I go and purchase some silver. Sometimes one once, sometimes two. It all depends on if the coin jar has large or small denomination coins in it. I do it this way so that it doesn't feel like I am taking money away from our household budget or any other financial commitment we may have at the time. They thought that this method was awesome. I said it works as long as they don't intentionally spend notes to gain coins to buy silver. I use the coins as they make themselves available, I don't intentionally spend notes to fill the coin jar.

So, the two coins purchased by the young (almost 30 year old) lad was purchased with money harvested from the top drawer of his office desk and from coins pulled out of the centre console of his car. Bravo. He even said he may be able to curb some of his weekly spending to assist in his purchase of additional silver. I asked how and he said he could drop back to one coffee a day instead of two saving $3.00 a day. This saves him $30 in only 10 days which buys him a 1 ounce coin. A new one ounce coin every 10 working days just by enjoying one coffee a day instead of two? Nice work! He told me a couple of other things he can do also and what's great is that he involved his wife who is on board one hundred percent. Super-cool huh?

I feel really pleased that this young girl, and the guy who is newly married with a small baby, have decided to take an active role in stacking something away for their future. They are enthused and are super-pumped that we had the conversation that eventually led them to their decision to stack. The both told me it feels achievable that they could buy a coin each fortnight so around 26 coins a year just by making a few simple and painless changes to their daily spending. How cool is that!

The image is mine showing a Suisse 1kg bar and some coins I have.

Sort:  

Now we just need to convert them into Steem Stackers too!

Just wait until you show them the new 2oz Succubus coins when we pick them up. :)

Now THAT I'm looking forward to!

That is super awesome!!! I wish I had had some advice/motivation like that when I was younger! Well done for inspiring responsibility and creative investing. I feel inspired just by reading your post.

Thanks Jess, I never had it either and so now I try to impart some of my basic wisdom where possible. It's not rocket science but the concept of going without something to gain something more valuable in one's life is not well-received these days generally.

Brilliant work. So many people blather on about insurance, then they're blindsided when they submit a claim and find some small print costs them everything.
When you have silver you have it.

Good on you spreading that disease and good on them for taking it seriously XD Amusingly since I climbed on here and the house has ended up with some random metal (a tiny gold rooster I got given for a birthday, @gorc bought himself a custom coin at the Perth Mint, and I've bought a steem silver round partly to help get numbers for Perth's group buy, partly because it looked cool and partly because I wanted one last year but didn't have the means to get one at the time) I've been seriously contemplating doing similar with our coin jar. Usually when ours gets full enough I bank it XD

Suppose I better get a box to keep the metal in first as the rooster regularly gets buried as my desk doubles as a filing cabinet before papers actually get filed. Because that's how I roll XP

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I was interested in the topic some years ago but had no idea where to buy them or what to do with them. Recently I saw a Money museum in my country where you can visit for free and see ancient coins; and also buy new coins and silver, gold etc.
So actually I should buy it and hold it until the price goes up than sell it ?

Some buy and hold and some buy to trade. It depends on the situation. People pay more for coins that interest them despite the fact they are paying a premium over the silver price. Me with my Australian war coins for instance.

I have coins I'd part with in the advent of requiring money for something and coins I wouldn't.

All depends on the situation and person.

I will buy coins and hold them. I love to collect things and have small collections of different things like antique, so I will join the gold/silver revolution as well :D

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.255 which ranks you at #2529 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 2536).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 429 contributions, your post is ranked at #52.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 49.74% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02