Silver is Undervalued Compared to Gold | Journey to 1,000 oz

in #silver6 years ago

Today I want to talk silver. Why I buy silver, why I expect prices to rise, what will cause it's price to rise dramatically, and what value would I consider selling silver?

MW-BV590_silver_MG_20140227120049.jpg

In the linked the video I address:

  1. Silver as a safe haven,
  2. Collapse of the US economy,
  3. De-dollarization of the global economy.
  4. Silver to Gold ratio, regression to the mean and when I might sell silver.

Here is the Silver/Gold Ratio data:

Screenshot_2018-10-13-14-06-23.png

Three times the ratio has been at or below 20 oz of Silver per oz of Gold. As I say in the video, I believe we will see a fourth time within the next 5 years.

Let me know what you think?

As always thank you for your time and attention, have an awesome day and God bless.

1111111.png

Sort:  

@infidel1258 I am right with you on Silver in Fact I even picked up some more this morning. You can Never have too much REAL MONEY. Federal Reserve Notes are not Money they are DEBT Currency...............

#truth.
The only thing I fear about silver is that it will rise in price before I stock the safe. It has always been wealth, and "real" money, and when the debt dollar dies it will rise again, buying so much more than today.

You are going to be OK since at Least you are Stacking Now. You are already way ahead of so many that don't even own an Ounce..............

That has been one of my fears as well, but I can't go back in time to get it. And I've heard from people who have been stacking for years and many of them have gotten disillusioned with silver and gold because the prices have continued to drop. You're doing what you can now, and that's much, much better than being where you were before or doing nothing.

Sooner or later there will be a recession. When that happens, stackers like us will be rich!

I completely agree but my question to myself is whether I will be able to change my view of what rich is?

Here is what I mean:
As the recession comes i think the us dollar will collapse, and probably never recover. So during that time all comodities will BOOM, in dollar value making silver holders "rich" but in a dead currency.

I am trying to change and prepare my mind for a new paradigm where wealth is not measured in dollars but ounces. Its hard tho, all our lives we have used dollars as a measure of wealth.

Point being Im not sure I will ever sell silver for cash. I hope to instead use it to buy a property once the real estate bubble pops and the price of silver to real estate is normative.

500-1000 oz of silver to buy a big property with fertile land is what I am imaging

I’m not sure if wealth will be measured in ounces, but in cryptocurrency amounts.

Regardless, I know precious metals will be worth their weight in gold (no pun intended) and they’ll go more mainstream, but I think crypto will go even more mainstream because of its convenience. It’s a whole lot easier to buy a car or house by transferring crypto than carrying around ounces of silver.

In the end, it doesn’t matter. We will do well as fiat collapses regardless.

I like bullion and I like crypto, in fact I dont invest in anything else, no stocks, no cash on hand except enough to pay my bills. I definitely could see crypto filling the gaps after the USD falls, but at the same time bullion will never not be a valueable commodity and so I think of it is a very safe play, with a lot of upside potential since bullion could become the next global currency (again), if crypto doesn't.

But I think crypto will... :)

What are your fave cryptos?
As far as crypto "currencies" I like litecoin and bitcoin, and hold probably equal parts of each.

Right now, it’s bitcoin and EOS. I keep hearing good things about Monero, but I honestly don’t know much about it. I own only a very small amount of it.

Sorry if I'm commenting too much here, but it's a topic that is really interesting to me, and I think is critical for the world to be listening to right now.

Point being Im not sure I will ever sell silver for cash. I hope to instead use it to buy a property once the real estate bubble pops and the price of silver to real estate is normative.

That's it, man! It's not about how many dollars it can buy. Who cares how many Monopoly dollars you can buy with an ounce of silver. They're not accepted anywhere, so it's a useless measurement. What will be more important is buying power. How many loaves of bread can you get? How much gasoline can you get? These will be much more important than how many dollars.

(All just my opinions. Not investment advice.)

Not commenting too much at all, its welcome and appreciated. I really think conversation and community is what will help Steemit grow the best, so thank you.

I agree with what you say about "monopoly dollars", and not valuing your bullion on that basis, but my fear is that greed will get me.

Here is what I mean:
As the monopoly money is failing, hyper inflation will set in, and the number of USD per oz will soar, and it will be a little tempting to trade some in for USD, because my mind has spent all my life thinking of value in those terms.

I feel I need to ready my mind and heart to avoid that.

I understand what you're saying. I've also been trained to consider Dollars as money. In a sense, everything else is just play money, even if it's worth more. I don't work for Pounds. I don't get a paycheck in Euros. I don't slave away for silver from a company. So my brain isn't wired to think of them in terms of hours of work.

It will be important to remind ourselves and others that unless you're trading the silver for dollars that will be used to buy things right away, it's likely a foolish trade. It would be better to wait until you need to trade it in because you'll get more later. That's the thought at least.

I'm tracking with what you're saying. It's all making sense to me. I'm also planning on trading some silver for gold if the ratio goes more favorable. 20-1 wouldn't be too bad. Now I just need to get enough silver that I have some to trade. Ha ha.

I really like Mike Maloney's stuff. I've been recommending it around to people and so far it has been well-received.

Hi @infidel1258!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.305 which ranks you at #18991 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 256 places in the last three days (old rank 19247).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 391 contributions, your post is ranked at #239.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89