The Importance of Community

Guest Post.jpg
Hi SteemitMamas and Supporters,

Today We have our first guest post written SteemitMama @nikema. Thank you for being a part of our community.


The Importance of Community

group-of-friends-making-a-toast-at-dinner-party-PPBVF4M.jpg
source

When I tell people I'm a single mother, I'm only telling part of the story. It's shorthand. It's an easy way to tell someone that I am the adult caregiver in our household.

The reality is much more complex. If I were truly a single mother, I don't think I could cope with the stress of life. My children have many caring adults in their lives. I have a support system that includes friends, family, and their father. Single parenting is not an accurate description of what I do. I lean heavily on my community.

Community is a Human Need

Despite cultural ideals of individualism and independence, humans are social animals. Having community is a need for a healthy lifestyle. It's been a relatively short period of time since social acceptance was objectively a requirement for survival. We've held on to those instincts. It's why public speaking is a top fear. There's usually no physical risk to speaking in front of a group of people but there is a strong perceived risk that we may do something to embarrass ourselves and as a result, people won't like us.

We need people to like us. We need human connection. Community feeds the spirit.

Social Media

Technology can be a double-edged sword when it comes to fostering healthy communities. I feel like in many ways the usual business of social media hurts us more than helps us. We have incredible power in the words and actions we share over social media and the means to instantly broadcast to the world. In what other time in our existence has this been possible?

We have the power to send our love and care for one another and the same power to do the opposite. Culture hasn't completely caught up with technology. We still need to teach our global citizens that when you post, insert inflammatory opinion here on your Facebook wall. It's just like putting it up on a billboard for everyone to see.

The STEEM community

I've been blown away by the various communities I've joined connected to the STEEM blockchain. I consider my steemit friends and family my "real" friends and family. The genuine kindness and affection that I've experienced and witnessed in these communities have been life-changing and life-enhancing.

With STEEM/steemit we have an intersection of strong communities with an opportunity to generate income. Realistically, in my world and culture, money is also a need. I consider community and the access to resources that money provides to be in the top three of all human needs.

I've been on this platform for several months and I am still quite amazed by the opportunity to connect with others while making money. I've decided that creating equitable community spaces is my life's work. The STEEM ecosystem is a perfect place to carry out this work and build both business and personal relationships.

Thanks #SteemitMamas!

I'm new to the SteemitMamas community but I already feel welcomed and at home there. This is a topic close to my heart and I could go on forever about it. Thanks for accepting me as your first guest blogger.


Thank you @nikema for writing our first guest post!

We appreciate having you here!

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Thank you @nikema I really love the fact that you mentioned that this is the perfect platform to build a business and real sincere personal relationships! #SteemitMamas

Yes! @steemitmamas is perfect for that.

All mamas come join us ❤️

Beautifully written! :)

It really was. We have lots of talented mamas, and we are all very nice and supportive too. ❤️

Well said @nikema!
I fully agree, community is so important!

This is an awesome post, @nikema. Congratulations on being the first guest writer for @steemitmamas too. It is a great pleasure having you! :)

Very well said about the importance of community and so glad to see you find your sense of belonging on Steemit. I love how powerful you talk about having good communities around you as well as how technology and social media have made this possible for this age. As we capitalize on this, communities are built across the globe, cross countries, cross time zones :)

Very well written @nikema. And congratulations for being the first guest writer.

Thank you for being our first guest writer! You have given us a very well written community article. I feel the same way about the people on Steemit that I’ve had the pleasure connecting with...they are my “real” friends and family. Without supporting community (which is the basis of what Steemit is all about) one can not thrive here. If you join with a mind frame of “self” you’ll quickly see you won’t get too far. We have to build up one another and support each other in order to get the same in return. We give and we receive and that’s the way it should be. I think everyone should ask themselves “what can I offer this community?”...and then work towards that goal and let their lights shine~

Thanks for the support, #steemitmamas and everyone else. Community building is kinda my thing so I was excited to write on this topic.

Congratulations @steemitmamas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

How beautiful, congratulations and success

What a lovely post! Yes! Family is often more than blood, but rather who you choose to spend your time with! I used to really dislike the saying, "It takes a village to raise a child," because I felt it implied that the village, or the state had a say in how I chose to raise my child. However, I've come to look at the saying differently now, in that I, as the primary caregiver can control who gets to be a part of my child's formative years. A supportive community is important and @Steemitmamas is a beautiful example of such a community. Welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05