A Very Sketchy Memory

My friend, @abitcoinskeptic who introduced me to Steem, told me about his #sketchymemories contest. It is almost over, but I decided to join anyway. Here is the link.

It all started back in 2002 when I broke up with my high school sweetheart who I was dating for longer than I want to admit. My friends told me I should hit up the night clubs, but I hated clubs. Fast forward to 2006 and several years of lovelessness and I decided to try online dating. I met a few people from my city or nearby ones, but things never really worked out. Then after a couple of years and trying many platforms, I decided to look elsewhere.

Long Distance Online Dating

I met a girl on the internet who told me she was from some small farming village in Thailand. I thought she was nice. We were online chatting/dating (I guess) for 6 months. It was pretty lame and uneventful. Nothing naughty or weird. She wasn't asking me for money or saying she loved me. Then one day, she told me that I should visit, I wasn't sure, but #yolo, I decided to hop on a plane anyway. I heard the place was great.

The Meet Up

After 18 grueling hours, I was in Bangkok. She didn't meet me at the airport because she told me she didn't had to work. This should have been a warning sign but whatever, I was nearly there. I hopped on a bus to someplace called Pattaya and after a couple more hours, I was there. She was kind enough to meet me at the hotel. We had a quick meal of Pad Thai (yummy) and went to sleep. Don't worry, 2 single beds.

A day at the River

Pattaya Beach isn't the first thing you think of when you think of Thailand, but it is pretty nice. We had breakfast at a cafe looking over the beach. After, we hopped in a strange little taxi and went out of the city to some river. That was nice. We also rode elephants and had some lunch in the jungle. What a nice day.

The Night Life

Pattaya is a crazy place at night. Scary I may say. She warned me and I kinda knew beforehand, but I wasn't afraid. We went to some okay bars then some pretty crazy bars. We had a lot of fun and got really drunk. I blacked out. Not cool.

The Next Day

I woke up with a terrible hangover. Luckily I was in the hotel. But where was my friend? I had no idea. I never even saw here again. Also, all of my money and my wallet was missing. Luckily I only had 200 dollars in there at the start of the night. I had my passport and my real wallet in the safe.

Conclusion

She did write me an email. She said I got really drunk and things wouldn't work out. I guess I had a very fun night. I'll never know exactly what I was doing.

In any case, I didn't let it ruin the rest of my trip to Thailand. I had 12 more days to enjoy. I spent another 2 nights partying in Pattaya. Then I went to Bangkok for 3 nights, then I went to Koh Samui for 5 nights, then another 2 nights in Bangkok.

Thailand is awesome and I have no regrets. I kinda like traveling alone. PS I am still single.

Here is some information on Pattaya incase you are curious. It is also the source of my image. I lost my camera. pattaya montagehttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pattaya

Sort:  

Thank you so much for entering my #sketchymemories contest. I don't know whether to be sorry for you or laugh. I guess you had quite the experience and I am curious to hear more of your sketchy memories. This is definitely a winner so far!

Congratulations @genuinehuman! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17