Skills

in #skills5 years ago

Often we walk through life and see someone doing something which impresses us.

nbhgh.jpg

This can range from all sorts of things.

Public speaking

Writting

Painting

Every sport

and much much more

I often think to myself "Wow this would be cool, if I would be able to do that".

But more often than not I think it is kind of cool. When I was younger I tried a lot which spiked my intrest and usually I jumped in with both feet just to realize later that my actual thought should be "Yeah, this is kind of cool but is it so cool that I am willing to put in the work?" and more often than not the answer is no!

But the last couple of weeks I developed a new fascination which is game design and especially balancing of games and I want to explore this a bit more.

I even checked for universites but this would be far down the road.

I always enjoyed games since I held my first gameboy in my hands and rescued Princess Daisy as Mario.

I am curious if this will keep my intrest though if so you can be sure you will be able to read a bit about it here

Also if you have some recomnidations for books let me now

Sort:  

Game Design is actually pretty good.
However, the problem with it is the fact that it sort of takes the entire fun out of playing games, especially the ones which you make.

You'll be able to see through all the loopholes and glitches concerning the games and figure out the mechanisms long before anyone else. And that begins to get a little troublesome as the game keeps progressing as you can now see more than other players can. And since gaming is about exploiting game mechanics, more often than not, games start to get boring for you. What was once magical and immersive no longer is since you now know exactly how it works.

Not to mention the sheer amount of tedious and repetitive work put into game development which comes with a few sets of challenges which would initially be interesting to solve, but would become more and more boring as time progresses.

Playing games is fun and if you want to continue to enjoy playing games, I'd recommend that you learn building games with a pinch of caution. It usually does take much more dedication than painting and writing or even some sports as well. Being a game developer isn't easy.

Good luck!

This can very well be true but I think you can still appricate a great game which has not been developed by yourself. Even if it is just for the learning experience and how you can become better.

At the moment I am just fascinated by the topic especially how to balance a game and make enemies look smart etc.

Are you working in the gaming industry, you seem to know what you are talking about.

Anyway thank you for the very thoughtful comment.

Sorry for the late reply. I haven't had the time to use Steemit as often these days.

Yes, you can still enjoy games made by others. And many facets of game development can be quite fun, like the ones which you point out. Balancing a game and making enemies smarter is pretty much the artistic part of game development, rather than a cold, rational choice.

No, I don't work in the gaming industry. There isn't a real gaming industry in India yet, and the market is still open to business opportunities while the required skillsets aren't really available in the nation. However, I have developed a few games myself just for the fun of it. And while developing them has been fun, I've noticed that my friends have more fun playing them than I do. Not that they're uber fun to play anyway, but since I've practically made them, they're pretty much like those movies which you've seen more than fifty times to me. So yeah I can't really enjoy the games which I develop. Unless, of course, it is a team effort and I don't really know how the end result is going to turn out...

I guess that's probably another reason why developers and animators in big firms can enjoy their own games. They don't work on all of it, but rather their own parts.

Thank you for taking the time to reply! Happy Steeming!

There are a ton of free unity tutorials online if you want to get your feet wet. Lynda.com is also a great resource for learning new skills. :)

I will have a look so far I have been using edex for free courses.

I am familar with unity but lynda is new to me will check them out.

Thx for the tip :-)

In my area, you library card will get you free membership to lynda. Also I think students get free membership. Tons and tons of coding courses, game design, photoshop tutorials. You name it!

that is pretty awsome...I never checked for libaries in Thailand tbh but dependable on the price and if there is one not too far I will have a look even if I doubt they will accept me

like to lean more, specialy make some course

selber kurse geben oder als teilnehmner?

Learning new skills during your free time could be difficult without discipline. One have to acquire and develop a lot of discipline and fight against procrastination to achieve something like that. I know from experience.

Oh I can procrastinate about procrastination :-)

But sometimes I find something which fascinates me enough to keep my attention

Hi @flipstar!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.137 which ranks you at #975 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 976).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #43.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27