Slothicorn Crypto Chart Art Contest Entry: Ethereum Chart

I'm writing this post hours before the start of my internship program. I'm just glad I finished this piece before the deadline. Taken from an Eth Chart screen shot from coinmarketcap and transformed using my imagination. Behold, the chart.

Ethchart 9.jpg

All Rights Reserved to @adamada

You can find details of the contest here. Please support Slothicorn's Crypto-literacy for Artists around the world.


Summary of the Post:

Concept Draft
Tools
Creation Process
Footer


Concept:

Ethchart.JPG

Ethereum was my coin of choice for a while now. There's a lot of possibilities you can do with the technology. When I thought about making an art out of the chart, the word chart was repeated several times.

Chart, art, chart, risk, chart, rewards, art the chart, and chart the art.

I usually start my art with a play of words. Most of the time I let the nonsense settle to make sense later. Investing in crypto involves high risks and the charts don't lie about that. Pirates always look at the chart. Pirate life is a risky life. Hmmm... right, let's go with this angle and see what I can make up along the way.


Tools

Paint Tool SAI
Photoshop
Pen and Paper


Take the screenshot and open it with Photoshop. I wanted to take out the important lines form the chart so I enhanced the level. I converted it to black and white and extract the prominent colors that will later serve as the base.


Placed in more base colors and lines just to get a feel for where this is going. I thought about added some creatures and structures. Some images that resemble old ancient maps that spell out adventure.


I created the images to add to the map when I didn't have access to my laptop. I took a picture of and had it redone in SAI. You can find the snap shot here

This is a small collection of the minor details I placed in the chart. Only when I uploaded the image did I see some parts needed editing.


I didn't want to take out too many details from the base screen shot (referring to the lines). It wouldn't hint the viewer I got it from a charting platform if I over did it. Most of the painting was done in Photoshop and the sketches were done on SAI.


I added the creatures and structures on the map. No battle plan. Just randomly placing stuff here and there.


Just adding some minor tweaks like adjusting colors, fixing image placements, and wondering what else I could roll with.


It wouldn't be complete without Slothicorn making an appearance for the final touches.


I had fun creating this piece. I wanted to know what it's like being a cartographer and this brings back some memories when I was story writing. I created maps to help me visualize the world I was creating for my characters. But that's another skill for another blog post, maybe. I wanted to make an art post for @slothicorn after creating a previous introduction post as soon as possible.

I hope I could squeeze in some more art post while I'm on my medical internship training. It's a stress buster. I have less than 3 hours (during the time of this writing) before the internship program officially starts and I'm already treating this piece like good byes. :P


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SteemArtistsBanner_smllSquished-NOTAGLINE.png

Sort:  

Very nice, brother. Love it. I immersed myself in maps as a boy...absolutely love them!

Very cool how you showed the step-by-step process.

Did you consider making a mountain of the chart "mountain?"

Thank you @mepatriot
I did consider them but I was running out of time to make it too detailed. I really wanted to insert more fictitious names, lines, and symbols but internship happened haha.

LOL...gotcha...

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Epic art bro and very creative transformation.
Well, maybe because the theme is right up your alley - art and charts. Good luck with the internship.
P.S. Hope you get some free time during the internship, then please come visit Steemit often :)

I'll be semi-active on discord. But for steemit, only when I'm not on duty can I check the new. Sad.
Thanks bruh! you've been there since I was new in the platform.

Nice post Adam! Hahaha. Good luck sa internship. 😃

Thank you @chinitacharmer
Na gg ako sa first day. Yung tipong alam ko na light palang yung trabaho pero wala parin nagawang maayos. Saklap. haha

Hi adamada,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

good luck on the internship and great job with the post! love your creativity! :)

Thanks @andywong31
I need all the luck for 365 days. :D

Nice Art, Amazaing

You have received an upvote and resteem from Slothicorn :)

Whoa! Amazing concept @adamada!
This is really cool!

wow I love seeing the process of your work and how you came up with the concept. Really appreciate the art and your creativity!

you have my upvote and following~ looking forward for more artworks from your posts!

Thank you. I appreciate you taking the time to view my old posts. Though a piece on unsolicited advice, please do not upvote posts that are beyond 7 days old. The upvotes no longer serve any purpose and you will be spending your voting power for nothing. It goes the same for downvoting. I still appreciate your gesture though :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72