Painting a Bouquet of Stargazer, A Realistic Acrylic Painting

in #slothicorn6 years ago

IMG_20180804_222616.jpg

IMG_20180804_222903.jpg

Realistic painting is not my forte, but this experience pushed me to my limitations. I can't guarantee that this piece is closer to realism but I hope you could learn a few things on how I did it.


Image Source

Lilium 'Stargazer' (the 'Stargazer lily') is a hybrid lily of the 'Oriental group'. Oriental lilies are known for their fragrant perfume, blooming mid-to-late summer. Stargazers are easy to grow and do best in full sunlight
Oriental lilies are renowned for their delightful perfume and flamboyantmid- to late-summer blooms. The crimson cultivar ‘Stargazer’ is a popular hybrid with large, showy flowers that make it a showstopper when in bloom Source

Materials and Tools :

Acrylic PaintPink , White, Green Yellow Orche, Yellow Green
WaterFor thinning acrylic paint and cleaning brush
Pencilfor outlines
BrushFlat and Pointed Brush
Canvas24x 36 inches

An Acrylic Medium is advisable but I use water to test its capabilities in acrylic properties
NOTE: Too much water on acrylic may not let the paint to adhere on the canvas and layers of paint. I suggest to do some tests on extra or scratch canvas board or any material that you are going to use in actual painting.


Preparation

I started with preparing the canvas by cutting the cloth required and painted it with primer. A white latex paint can also be a good primer. Then I let it dry.
I proceeded with preparing the materials I have on hand so that I can easily grab and use them.


Process

IMG_20180718_214702434.gif

  • Draw the outline of the petal / and then the whole flower on the canvas board.
  • Decide which color you want to apply first.
  • I used a combination of white and pink to achieve the color of the petals. In between each color section, I added water with color pink so that I could blend it with white better. Take note that acrylic paint have fast drying time, so applying water could help you to maintain the moisture of the paint thus it also help to make the hue more flowing and transluscent.
  • Proceed with adding the leaves using the color you want. In my case I used Green and yellow orche to mix different kinds of green hue. I also used the available yellow green I have to make a variation on my leaves.

  • It is better to use a background which can give emphasis on your painting. I used black to make it look illuminating and against the surface.

  • For the yellow part, the stamen, stigma and style, I used yellow acrylic paint mixed with green.

IMG_20180726_225804_BURST001_COVER.jpg

IMG_20180719_221629263.jpg

IMG_20180719_222258377.jpg

IMG_20180720_220714375.jpg

IMG_20180727_005044385.jpg

Painting realistic objects on big canvas requires a lot of patience and time
So in order to save time, I filled the canvas with the parts that are easy to paint to like the background, petals and base of leaves*

IMG_20180731_221524.jpg

  • After the base parts are painted, it's now time to add the details such as the stamen and style, the dots on the petals and the details of leaves. It is recommended to use a
    Pointed brush. If you have a 000 brush size it would be better.

IMG_20180731_225217.jpg

  • It's now time to add the extra details of you want to fill the canvas.

IMG_20180804_222525.jpg

IMG_20180804_222601.jpg

IMG_20180804_222842.jpg

And it's done!

  • You might want to apply a lacquer to protect the painting and to add gloss in it. You could use an acrylic emulsion or an acrylic gloss. There are also clear lacquer spray but it smells too much.

I hope you all like it !

Thank you so much


toggle night mode to see the stars

Sort:  

Such a wonderful painting!

I see you are using elegance tag already. Would you consider posting your next Artwork using elegance.blue to get little more appreciation?

Thank you.

I never thought that there s an elegance.blue platform for art :D Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83