🔱 NEW 🔱 - "Steemland" - A Painting Inspired By Steemit

I started working on this 16 x 20 inch Steem themed painting in my 1980's inspired style a couple of months ago, but then I ended up putting it aside for a while to focus on my big "Peaceful Garden" Mandala . I finally got around to finishing "Steemland" too! In this post I'll show you the process shots I took along the way, so you can see how I create one of my funky 1980's inspired paintings.

The first thing I do is lay the outlines for the main parts of the design. In this case, I started with the outline for the Steem logo!

IMG_1808[1].JPG

I wanted to make part of it like a graph on a currency chart, so that's the next part I laid out. Hopefully the real graph for Steem/SBD (and cryptos in general!) will start to go up like that again soon! lol

IMG_1809[1].JPG

Next I added the more abstract features. When I create art in this style, I approach it almost like I'm creating levels for a side scrolling video game. Each level has to have its own unique features, but overall they have design elements in common so you know you're still playing the same "game". Next I'll start to add color!

IMG_1811[1].JPG

Just like with the pattern, I started with the Steem logo. The blues might not be a perfect match, but I think I got them pretty close! lol

IMG_1814[1].JPG

Next I colored in the graph line, and the background of the bottom part of the design. I still wasn't sure what color I was going to use for the background of the top part.

IMG_1815[1].JPG

I decided to go with white for the background of the top part. Then I started to color in some of the other features of the design. You can see some of the paint on the left side was still wet when I took this picture.

IMG_1821[1].JPG

Then I finished coloring in the other design features, and was ready to move onto the next phase!

IMG_1823[1].JPG

The next phase is similar to when I create a Mandala painting - going over the outline again to tighten up the design and add some more contrast. When I get to this part, I get excited because it starts to feel like I'm getting close to the end.

IMG_1829[1].JPG

In this picture I'm all done going over the outline. Next is one of the most fun parts - adding what I call "creatures and features"! I already started to add a few things, like the yellow dripping part and some funky arrows etc...

IMG_1839[1].JPG

Adding a few more creatures and features, like the little purple tentacle-blob type character with green spots. That "species" appears in a lot of my paintings in this style, along with some other features similar to ones you might recognize if you've looked at a bunch of my art in this style.

IMG_1936[1].JPG

And here it is - all done and out in the sun! I named it "Steemland", and it's 16 x 20 inches, acrylic paint on canvas. Please tell me what you think in the comments section. Your comments, upvotes and resteems are like rocket fuel for my passion!

For this painting I'm only accepting Steem/SBD - Price is the equivalent of $549USD + shipping. If you'd like to own this one of a kind original painting let me know and we can work out the fair exchange rate for Steem/SBD!

MeSteemland.jpg

I also made a limited edition of fifty 5 x 7 inch prints of it.

Limited edition prints are available for just $6SBD (or 5 Steem) - and that includes free shipping anywhere in the world! There's only 50 available so act fast! To grab a print, just send the $ and let me know the mailing address I need to send it to. If you don't want it public, you can e-mail your mailing info at [email protected]

stemlandprint.jpg

Thanks for taking the time to check out "Steemland", keep on Steemin' on and have an awesome day! -Adam

Visit my website for more of my art, https://www.NexusVisions.com
nexusblack.jpg

Sort:  

Awnnn steemland is soo cool! Plus you sort of look like a more matured version of @ned in that photo haha. Nice work, man. Thanks for sharing.

Cheers,
Ras.

Thanks, glad you dig the vibes! Did you see I made prints available? If you'd like one, let me know!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

After manual review of this comment - thank you! lol I super appreciate the way artists are supported on here, it's really motivating!

This is really cool, @adammillwardart :D Love the design and the colours you chose to work with here, there's a retro feeling about it... very nice ! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73