🎨 Blue / watercolor portrait / Peace collection

in #slothicorn6 years ago



This one was finished just before I went to my vacation, so there was no time to share it with you here guys :)
Collection of this Peace serial of portraits is growing with each week.
It's funny I started this on that Hahnemuhle paper I wasn't so happy about at first, but now I went and bought two more blocks of it and bigger size than this I was working on :)



121.jpg



Here is closer look of upper part that was made with wet on wet technique.
For this one I tried out soaking hole paper for several minutes into cold water, leaving wet paper and starting with work on it after several minutes.



122.jpg



Since it's heavy one, 425 gr, it allows lot of water but also it ''eats'' lot of color. So, first I prepared basic colors in small ceramic bowls, just to have it more than usual, and than started painting.
After few layers, waited to be dried so I could continue working on details.



12.jpg



Somehow I decided to leave it in this phase, sort of blurry, and not go into more details since some parts were so satisfying that I wouldn't take chance in spoiling them.

Hope you like this one as much as I do :)

''Blue''
Hahnemuhle 425 gr
24x32 cm



Sort:  

Awesome job!

I never really felt like I was that good at watercolors myself because I had such trouble with the water part. :P They soak the paper and deform it. Of course, I suppose if I tried it again today, now I would know more of what types of expensive paper to use to soak up enough of the water that it might be a lot easier to work with.

Watercolor definitely has its appeal. It gives this particular beauty, such as your painting illustrates. I think perhaps if I tried painting again though, I'd want to start with something that gave me more control. Watercolor just gets away from you so easily it seems.

@geekpowered, watercolor is a lot about quality paper, colors and not to forget brushes.
Also it takes patience, people usually rush adding color over color and than you have mess..
Hope you will try out again since watercolor needs practice, results don't come over night, but when they come it's pure magic :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

always exceptional delicate evoking art

Dear @yidneth, thank you again and again for comments and support :)

You are so welcone. I love yout art. In fact with your permission to do a small collage I will include you in next curation post. I havecmore delegation just forvthevmonth so doing picks ;) wink

O please do, it would be my pleasure @yidneth, play as much as you like :)

It would be in the fashion of last post and I will drop my full vote too, I have a delegation for the month so before it is cover there will be several curation rounds

Ма много ми се свиђа овако „недовршен“, @jungwatercolor. Заслужила си сладолед 😄

Hahaha, hvala @lighteye, obzirom da sam se vratila u ''realnost'' citaj -posao, trebace mi :)

Hello this artwork is featured on the 8th Issue of Steem Sketch Book on this blog : 8 Wonderful Watercolor Paintings

Thank you for contributing the awesomeness of art here on Steemit!
Follow @steemsketchbook for more upvotes, resteems and contests

Upvoted, resteemed, so nice to see ACTUAL artwork on here... more people need to see this. Excellent handling of watercolor, perfect color choices...

I am blushing @joshuadavis :) Happy artist like yourself find my work interesting, means a lot!

What a haunting stare <3.    
                       
As usual you created a beautiful painting of the skin and the hair, though I think this lady is unusually short haired, unlike most of the others. Very lovely Dunja.      
                       

Yes dear @scrawly, you noticed good, this one is bit haunting :) And maybe it's reason I am satisfied with her this much, like she is different from usual works I made by far.

Very beautiful portrait ) I'd like to see how you use the watercolor fills in the portrait :)

@veta-less, I wish I have more time to make some small video demos or just to film some part of the process. But as a daily office job is taking a lot time from me, when I have time to paint I rush into it and than forget about filming. Hope I will manage some time for that since colder weather is coming so I will be at house more :)

Wow... beautiful painting

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14