Dragon Heads- Original Art With Story & Steps

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

img075_compressed.jpg

Hello everyone! Welcome back for another Sunday post and new dragons!
I decided to finish some dragon heads as it has been ages since the last set.

The drawings are a little rusty, but I really like a few of the dragons. I'd love to know your favorites as I plan to make a few full dragons based on the heads.

Update: I made a new scan with erased pencil marks, because I love to edit my posts until they're perfect xD

F.jpg

The Art Process

I did the pencil sketches a while ago, but never finished them. The sketches are very rough, just using interesting shapes and details.

img030_compressed.jpg

During inking I defined all of the details. I used the thinnest ink pen (0.1). This allows much more details and realism. These heads are very different from previous ones and that's the point. To explore as many variations as possible, because it takes less time than drawing a whole dragon.

To finish the drawings I used a grey alcohol based promarker (Winsor & Newton IG3). I highly recommend to get one marker and try it out for sketches. I bought mine a year ago and it's still as good as new. I don't use it often, but it hasn't dried out or lost it's saturation.

For the sketches, I like to keep the pencil marks, because they can come in handy when drawing a final art piece.

The sketchbook I used is an A5 size, with slightly tinted pages. I chose it because it was cheap for the great paper quality.

20180310_193225B_compressed.jpg

F.jpg

Dragon Descriptions

Here are the back stories for the dragons, these are just as fun to make as the drawings. Every artist should try once to give their art a small back story.

A_compressed.jpg

Denay (60)- a very heavy dragon that leaves footprints even in stone. It eats a lot, but after after several months, hibernates for 5 years.

Rhondly (61)- a herbivore, rhino cousin from dinosaur era. It's an endangered species, with only dozens of them remaining.

Lamence (62)- not as scary or dangerous as it looks. Eats only insects which it can spot with it's 2 pairs of magnified eyes. The top two eyes are for normal vision.

Vinalin (63)- lives in the jungles. It has wings but prefers to slither on the ground and trees. Favorite food is parrots.

B_compressed.jpg

Marne (64)- a funny small dragon. The size of a golden retriever and just as playful. Loves to race other Marnes

Frevoln (65)- a telepath that can communicate with all animals. A few Frevolns can communicate with humans. Lives for a thousand years but mates only twice during most optimal conditions.

Karvorius (66)- an aquatic dragon that lives in the depths. Favorite food is shrimps and squids. Makes sounds similar to orcas.

Brevlois (67)- the males are pure white while females have gold heads. This makes them easier to find, sparkling in the desert.

Thank you for reading and see you next Sunday! ♡

F.jpg

Bonus

img031_compressed.jpg

The next Dragon heads sketches

All the art in this post was made by me. Copyright @kristyglas, all rights reserved.

F.jpg

More


I'm hosting an art contest this week, please take some time to check it out and join! The reward is 5sbd+contest's sbd payout! I will continue hosting mini contests once a week and main posts on Sundays.

My favorite books

How and why I use autovotes

F.jpg

@artwatch , @enternamehere , @katalinaooma , @hiddenblade, @adamada , @gotmeens , @nanosesame , @arepazo , @claucor20 , @mrichter

If you'd like to be tagged in my posts for notification, please let me know!

Check out more about Slothicorn here

F.jpg

What is your favorite dragon in this post?


Sort:  

These could be excellent designs for Steem monster cards, you should think it would be great :D either way I loved the drawings

Thank you :D
Do you have a link for the Steem monsters?
I was checking once, but the site asked for login credentials no steemconmect. Didn't like that and forgot since then haha :P

I'm saving this for future reference when drawing lizard like creatures. Thank you kristyglas :D

Thank you, but it's best to use nature photos, try both and you'll see ^^

Backstories behind drawings are always fun to read! Just from appearances alone I really like 63 as it looks froofy and I think fluffy dragons are pretty cool and a bit different from the norm. With the addition of the backstories I'm now intrigued by 66 as well :)

goatsig

Aww thank you! Yeah fluffy is always nice, just hard to draw :D
The 66 really reminded me of water creature when I finished it xD For these I usually don't do any preplanning ^^ I just go with the flow

very nice post, kristy ! love how you bring them to creation and really neat how they have their names and personalities <3 i like the brevlois... because they sound so magical * ___ *

Thank you so much @veryspider! And for checking out :D

Cool! Do you feel imporved lately? Because I can tell it!

Thank you xD a few heads are great, but most not. I mostly feel tired really, but I try to stick to schedule :)

Good good, effort will pay you back....

there are some pretty cool dragons here, dragons are amazing because we can make a lot of variations and still make some "sense"

Thank you :D yeah there are many various dragons from different cultures, that's why maybe more variations still make sense ^^

Its hard to pick a favorite with such diversity and cool designs. I like how not all are cute or scary.

Thank you ^^

OMG HI!!! <3 It's been ages since last time we chatted!!! I was moving to a new residence and was quite unable to post in here. I absolutely loved these dragons, my favorites are 67 and 62. 65 looks pretty wise. I'm pretty curious abot the next set of dragons. Hope to catch up in here soon so I can be more active at reading posts. See you!

Heyy! Really glad you like them :D
How has the move gone? I hope well ^-^
I haven't been to active because of work, but I try haha. See you and good luck! Looking forward to your new posts.

Hey there :D I've been kind of busy, still trying to catch up with routine since moving. It's still in process cause I still have to bring some furniture in here and pack few other things too.

How is the game going? Imma check out your new posts aswell. And I'm starting posting in english again, hope it's more comfortable for you to read :3

Been busy as well xD Replying very slowly. English posts would be great as I check Steemit on phone mostly ^^ Looking forward to it!

Number 63 is such a sweetheart !!! (You know I love dragons already <3 )

Thank you very much! :D Yeah it looks very snuggly!
Newest dragons are up now ^-^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87