Noticing My Improvement In Painting (Artwork #18) | A Step-by-step Illustration

in #slothicorn6 years ago

I find painting very relaxing that's why I've been so active drawing portraits and painting them later on. A lot of artists have inspired me and they keep me reminded that with constant practice, self-discipline, and hard work, I too can be a successful artist.

LRM_EXPORT_20180710_220853.jpg

This is my achievement today! Usually when I do line art, I do it quickly. But this time I did it for quite some time. I tried hard to figure out how I should make the lines and curves. It's a big achievement for me because this is my third artwork where I used line art and if I compare my previous artworks with this, I can say that this artwork has a better line art than the other two.

It's not just the line art that has improved, my painting skills also have. In the painting process, everything was smooth sailing. Perhaps, it was because of my almost everyday practice with watercolors. I also used color pencils on the finer details. Anyways, this artwork did not give me a hard time in the coloring process but it took me quite some time to finish. It took me four and a half hours which is longer than my usual time in finishing an artwork. So, without further ado, let me present to you the materials and process.

Materials

IMG_20180705_133121.jpg

All photos are mine and I used my Oppo A37 in taking these pictures. And the materials that I used were:
✔️ Pentel Arts Color Pencils
✔️ White Pen
✔️ Water
✔️ Tissue
✔️ Watercolor set
✔️ Paintbrushes
✔️ Eraser
✔️ HB Staedtler pencil
✔️ Berkeley watercolor pad
✔️ 0.3 Fine Tech Pen

Process

I did the sketch.

IMG_20180710_192412.jpg

Then I applied colors and few details on her skin which is usually the first thing that I do in the coloring process.

IMG_20180710_194506.jpg

I applied the base color (yellow) on her hair then painted yellow on the flowers. I then followed up applying colors on her eye lids, nose, and lips.

IMG_20180710_200219.jpg

Next, I painted orange on the flowers and did some layering on her hair to add depth and volume.

IMG_20180710_201742.jpg

Then I further defined the shadow parts on her skin and hair.

IMG_20180710_205522.jpg

I painted flowers on her hair and cotton-like flowers at the bottom part of the page. And again, I added another layer of color (red) on the flowers on the background. Then applied colors on the brows, eyes, and lips.

IMG_20180710_215041.jpg

Next is the line art! My favorite part.

IMG_20180710_215940.jpg

Highlighting is also one of my favorite parts in making my artworks. And, I'm done!

GIF of the process


I made this GIF in giphy.com. Link to my GIF in giphy.

Final Product

LRM_EXPORT_20180710_220853.jpg

Photo edited in Adobe Lightroom CC

I will gladly accept criticism so that I may apply it on my next artworks and be able to improve myself. Thank you so much. I hope you guys like it. 😊 That would be all, my fellow steemians. Follow me for more content. Keep on steeming! 😊💕

xoxo,
@kwenkwennnn

Sort:  
Hello.😊

Congratulations @kwenkwennn , your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.

You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.


See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Grabeh grabeh! Hahaha

heto na naman tayo sa ating gawi... ang magpabet hahahahuhu

HAPPY BIRTHDAYY!! Grabeng improvement uyy! Hahahaha kudos!

Thank you mel!!!

This is absolutely lovely! I really apreciate the step by step process! Well done! (reblogged!)

I always do a step by step process on my artworks ^_^ Thank you so much. Bu the way, I followed you too.

Thank you!

Lovely image, and made all the more so by you reflecting on your progress as an artist. Please do keep sharing with us.

Yes! Thank you so much ^_^

beautiful portrait, kwenkwen!! she's very lovely <3 i love the colours you used and i love her expression, also <3 i think you're also improving with every picture that you do :>

I noticed it too. Thank youuuuu so much :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Damn, in love! I love the shine of the lips and nose, it's a beautiful detail. And the eyebrows are perfect, everything is perfect! so delicated. Good job! i followed you <3

Thanks to my white pen >3< Thank you so much! I followed you too.

galeeeng ! happy birthday @kwenkwennnn :')

Thank you ya!

Hermosa y cálida acuarela sigue así vas por muy buen camino.

"Nunca dejemos de hacer Arte"

What a lovely girl you painted! The expression is lovely and the line art really give the portrait her character. I was a little suprised that you did this in 4,5 hour. I thought it takes much longer to make this arts. My compliments ... and I think you certainly CAN be an artist!

Thank you so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70