#ULOG: I Took Part in a #DrawThisInYourStyleChallenge

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

Before anything else, I would like to thank everyone who appreciated and gave comments to my previous artworks. It means a lot to me. I didn't anticipate such support and appreciation from you guys. From the bottom of my heart, I give you my greatest gratitude.

So here goes my #ULOG entry. Today as I was scrolling through my instagram feed, I stumbled upon a photo posted 4 days ago by my fave artist, Lydia Fenwick. It was with a caption #drawthisinyourstylechallenge. This is a very popular challenge made by famous artists on social media. So I decided to join. If you want to check out her works, her username is @lyfeillustration.

LRM_EXPORT_20180708_232433[1].jpg

So this is what I've made. I know the lady looks creepy haha, I didn't do it on purpose. It just turned out that way. Anyways, this took me 3 hours to finish. It was quite challenging for me because it was my first time using only shades of gray on her skin and hair which was new for me. I got used to painting skin with shades of brown and orange and using random colors on the hair. I'm glad I decided to join in this challenge because I had the opportunity to try a new approach in painting. Without further ado, may I present to you the process.

Materials

IMG_20180705_133121.jpg

All photos are mine and I used my Oppo A37 in taking these pictures. And the materials that I used were:
✔️ Pentel Arts Color Pencils
✔️ White Pen
✔️ Water
✔️ Tissue
✔️ Watercolor set
✔️ Paintbrushes
✔️ Eraser
✔️ HB Staedtler pencil
✔️ Berkeley watercolor pad
✔️ 0.3 Fine Tech Pen

Process

IMG_20180708_203422.jpg

I did the sketch without a hint that I would be challenged in the painting process. LOL.

IMG_20180708_212151.jpg

Then I painted her spaghetti shirt, her hat hat, and its shadow on her forehead.

IMG_20180708_214246.jpg

I followed up painting her skin with shades of gray. And I started painting her hair.

IMG_20180708_221952.jpg

The next thing I did is my favorite part (though I'm not good at it) - line art.

IMG_20180708_223853.jpg

I used a white pen for the hat's "holes". I don't know the proper term. Just imagine me saying "holes" with my two fingers of each hand doing air quotes LOL. Kidding aside, I also did few highlights and added details on her shirt.

IMG_20180708_225855.jpg

Then I painted colors to the background. In spite of the subject being too gloomy and creepy to look at, I still wanted a lively vibe even if it's just the background.

GIF of the process


I made this GIF in giphy.com. Link to my GIF in giphy.

Final Product

LRM_EXPORT_20180708_230723.jpg

image

After that, I uploaded it on my account and then tagged @lyfeillustration and captioned #drawthisinyourstyle and #lyferedraw for her to notice me.

I will gladly accept criticism so that I may apply it on my next artworks and be able to improve myself. Thank you so much. I hope you guys like it. 😊 That would be all, my fellow steemians. Keep on steeming! Keep ulogging. 😊💕

xoxo,
@kwenkwennnn

Big thanks to @surpassinggoogle for this #ULOG movement. Join us and become a ulogger. Please follow and support our very own @surpassinggoogle, @teardrops, and also @purepinay. Vote @steemgigs as your witness! Thank you all so much! 😊

Sort:  

Hello, these are the tips/guidlines to make a ulog post, and please mind the tip no. 5
Thank you!:)
QmdczZRMbbeWRprpEZkuBK9Xg4TNBccddieSMHHZ5sh5k9.jpeg
QmdTmg35Q5VrGGesApaBMpnT58Ytn84jCvPietKDjf3Ubs.jpeg


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

i really like this, kwenkwen <3 so pretty ! the way you shade her face is my favourite, but i also like the design and your choices of colours <3 so lovely !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09