I'm back! - Chrysocolla & Sterling Silver Pendant

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

Hello!

First off i'm sorry to those who follow me for my lack of posting recently.

I was determined to get back to regular posts here a few weeks ago after a gap but life got in the way and I didnt want to post rubbish content just to keep up appearances.
As some of you will know the UK climate has been stupid hot (for here) for a few weeks now. I am miserable in this weather and as my job is walking outside I basically get home after work and melt on the sofa. Motivation is not high!
However, I have been pretty busy with wire in between sweating and being grumpy. I've been making things, and also selling things (makes a nice change!)


Here's something I finished today with a few shots showing the process too. The stone is Chrysocolla, I actually wanted to make a pair of earrings as I had two matching cabochons but as usual I got a bit carried away with the design and it became too heavy for hanging from an ear, so another pendant it is!


Enjoy.


How it's made

Heres a few shots showing the creative process.

Two nice matching Chrysocolla cabochons a friend, very kindly, let me have for free, after a bit of cleaning they've come up good.

First a sketch. As mentioned above these were originally going to become a pair of earrings, hence the simple design.


Finished!

I tried to make this piece look good from all angles so here's some extra detail I added to the top...

and bottom...


I hope you've enjoyed this post, I want to get back to posting at least twice a week. I've got a few things lined up so stay tuned!


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 194 (7/13/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

another great result! I love how art can take so many forms and that through the photos you do capture a bit of the tactile awesomeness :3

That is awesome! You are indeed very talented. I have never heard of that kind of stone before, but it reminds me a little bit of turquoise. The detail you put into it is really amazing. It was cool to see the different steps of your process. It has been hot in the US too. I am hoping we get some rain within the next couple of weeks.

Thankyou @bozz I'd never heard of it till last year either, its amazing stuff there's a whole range of 'looks' it can have. it probably reminds you of turquoise because they grow in similar settings, normally around copper veins, another recent discovery, a lot of the greeny blue minerals are copper based, Malachite, turquoise, chrysocolla etc i think thats why they naturally go well wrapped in copper

PS we got rain today! it dropped to 17 Degrees and I couldnt be happier haha I am so made for the usual British climate! all the plants should come back to life at last!

That is awesome about the rain. I have been watering my garden and I am hoping we get some rain soon!

Really nice stuff Rob. Mrs Armadilloman drifted by the computer while I was reading this and did nothing but ooooh and ahhhhhhh. And exclaimed "thats really pretty." So you have two fans now in the Armadilloman household.

Ah always great to hear ☺ it finally feels like making jewellery is taking me somewhere. Few sales this week and lots of new fans/promo. I'm interested to see how your steem bay goes. Not had much luck when I've tried using it

The couple prior steembay auctions I have put up have sold. With the price of SBD falling hard again, I don't know.

Hi @robali123!

Your post was upvoted by utopian.io in cooperation with steemmakers - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

Thank you, robali123. Upvoted and resteemed!

@ArtTurtle is an upvote bot run by @Artopium dedicated to upvoting your art, music, fashion, video and books. Find out how you can get an upvote for every creative post you make by visitng @ArtTurtle and reading the latest report.

Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Your pendant is beautiful with a lot of attention to detail. I really like your design sense as well. I am an amateur jewelry maker, but I am getting inspired by your work to try some more wire wrapping. I have been doing more with silversmithing, but I am not very creative. Thanks for sharing.

Really pleased you're inspired to make!
Best advice i would give you is to just make what you like not what you think other people will like. I have loads of things that will probably never sell but I had lots of fun making them and everything is practice. I do a lot of wire wrapping in copper, its a bit more forgiving on the hands and is super cheap so you can work without worrying about wasting materials. Let me know if you need any pointers, i'm not so experienced with soldering/stone setting but wire wrapping I may be able to lend a hand.

Thank you for your generous offer! I have purchased lots of beads and stones during my travels that are just waiting for me to fabricate. I also invested in a couple of jigs for wire wrapping. I’ll stay in touch as I explore some designs.

I love seeing the process of making it and WOW I loved the last peice of yours I saw but this one is Exceptionally fabulous

I am really impressed with your work, how many hours did this piece take to create? Also curious about if when you are twisting the wire if you do that bare handed or if you wear some type of gloves to keep from getting oils from your skin on the silver?
You have a fan in me, can't wait to see what is next.

This one took about 5 hours, as always spread over a couple of sessions to keep a critical eye on the design.
So when i started years ago I did struggle with avoiding cuts to my (baby soft) hands, now I've got a bit better at handling it and my skins firmed up a bit thats not an issue. With the oils its not really been an issue with silver. I wash my hands before working most of the time but its generally fine. Copper on the other hand, goes a cool pink colour when i've been working the same piece a lot, again though it polishes up quite easily at the end.
these things exist which ive always thought look hilarious... https://www.amazon.com/Reusable-Finger-Gloves-Versatile-Coverage/dp/B0002NYPGU
and i know some people wear rubberised tape on their fingers for a bit of protection from the sharp ends

Looks like little condoms for each finger, but I hate using full latex rubber gloves when I work outside on the cars because they cause the hands to sweat so much,. I find that I would much rather have to get the grease off my hands then to have sopping wet skin from all the sweat.
Five hours over a couple sessions doesn't sound that bad, I thought it would be much longer.

oh yes sweaty glove hands is the worst!
I intended on just making this a one session piece but once im in the zone i get a bit carried away

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73