Heady Chrysocolla/Malachite & Quartz Pendant

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

Good afternoon Steem crew!

This was quite an ambitious design for me. I've been looking at lots of really complex 'heady' wire wrap designs online lately and finally felt confident enough to give it a go myself. The green stone I used is a Chrysocolla cab although I believe it also has some Malachite and possibly turquoise in there.

I'm pretty happy with how it turned out. I only finished it today though, I find looking at a piece a few days later with fresh eyes is better for critiquing it so we'll see how I feel then!
I've included more steps with this one for those of you interested in the process.

The process

To begin with, I drew a very rough design. I was being lazy and couldn't be bothered to find a pencil and paper at the time so I had to make do with the back of shopping list and a sharpie.
With this particular design, I wanted the quartz to be held at either end so that when you hold the finished pendant up to the light you're able to see through it.

Honestly, this piece was mainly made up as I went along. The basic shape came from the sketch but I just went freestyle after the first few wires were laid down.

I laid down a heavy gauge base wire to get the vague outline of the piece and to begin a setting for the stones.

Next stage is securing the piece of quartz. It's really hard to juggle the wrapping and holding the stones in place at the same time so I wanted to get this out the way early.
The thin wrap I've used to attach it is just temporary till I've built up something better looking and more secure.

A good way to fill out a larger piece like this is with wire coils. I'll do a post on how I make these using my new (very basic) DIY jig, they're satisfying to make! I get comments about how complex they look but in reality its just a couple of different techniques combined.

Adding spirals to fill the gaps and build the structure.

Nearing the finish line at this point. Most of the wire added at this stage is to fill the little gaps or to cover up kinks or bits I messed up earlier! I also cut away the fine binding wire at the top of the quartz as by this stage the stone is nice and secure from the surrounding wires.

A few copper balls and tucking of the loose ends finish this piece. Apologies for the dark photo here, this was very late last night, had to finish it as I was on a roll!


Finished Pendant

Here are some quality shots of the final pendant.
The see-through quartz section came out good, I want to do this design again but with a higher quality stone in future to really show it off.


Previous Post - https://steemit.com/slothicorn/@robali123/labradorite-and-copper-pendant-how-to-weekly-contest-by-robali123



Sort:  

That's got to be some of the most intricate wire work I've ever seen. The stones are great too, but I think I like the asymmetry the best.

Ah yes the asymmetry is something ive adopted over the years..actually because im not very good and symetrical designs but no one needs to know about that 😉

Ha, I won't tell. Even if it's now on the blockchain FOREVER. Congrats on turning a (perceived) weakness into a definite strength.

its only forever, no biggie!

woohoooooo amazing work! i just love it!!
i work with energy and a lot of raw stones. if you have something to do with medicine work, maybe turqoise let me know!! theres also a marketplace on discord that im a mod for and your work would be a great feature. i do medicine card readings with raw stones, oracle cards not tarot, i send reiki energy as im a reiki master teacher with a native american blessing. let me know of youd be interested. blessings, eagle
ps. every monday i give a complimentary reading with #medicinecardmonday to get a basic idea of what i do. :)

thanks @eaglespirit! Are there any other stones you're after, I'm not so clued up on the stone properties, i just like how pretty they are!
I have some ethically and sustainably sourced chrysocolla, and moonstone, and a couple of pieces of scottish marble, plus a whole load of other nice specimens.
oo whats the discord marketplace called, id be interested to have a look.

i am looking for turquoise right now and stones maybe made with copper or real silver. :)

here is the marketplace link. it expires so be on this LOL!! moonstone sounds interesting!! :)

https://discord.gg/nja4qy

Hello, robali123, I'm @ArtTurtle, an upvote bot run by @Artopium. I just upvoted this post and resteemed it because I'm following you and, well, that's just what I do. Reciprocation is always appreciated! If you no longer wish to have @ArtTurtle follow you please reply to this comment with 'STOP'.

Beautiful! I love your work.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 15 SBD worth and should receive 80 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

very kind @trufflepig thanks for the support. lets hope that prediction comes true, 15SBD would be excellent!

I really like this style of wrapping ive never been able to do it myself. I like how u show a little of the steps. One day ill have to find a tutorial of a detail on how to. Thank u for sharing! I always support other jewelry makers and now follow u and gave u my aloha. 🌸 i hope u get to come by and see my blogs on my style of jewelry as well. 🌸

thanks for the aloha! I've been keeping an eye on your posts. I'll be sure to continue doing so :)

That’s a great piece! It’s always a learning process with wire wrapping. It’s usually tough to do a tutorial when you pretty much freehand but you did well!

aw thankyou. I'm just writing a little tutorial on the coil element of this piece. Its so hard to get into the creative zone when you have to be mindful of when another picture is needed!

It looks so beautiful!

What a cool project! Interesting process and attractive results.

I am really impressed with what you have done here in making that piece. When I was younger I had a neighbor who was a silversmith and I would spend hours at a time watching him work. I designed a couple belt buckles and had him make them out of sterling, even though I didn't make the actual silver piece that was exciting for me to have drawn out the design and then have him tool it up.
I'm guessing this isn't your first go at something like this, if it is, you need to quit your day job and start doing this as a full time gig.
I'll keep an eye out for more things coming from you, take care.

Ah too kind!
Ive been tinkering with wire for about 5 years but the proper wire wrapping i think about 3 of those just in my spare time. I did try full timing for a little while but it started stressing me out having to create even when i didnt fancy it.
Im happy now making in my spare time and supplimenting with part time work.
I sometimes wish i knew a master jeweller to do the same as you did and iust observe and get tips, its so much more valuable than just theory learning.

Well if you enjoy it then no sense in ruining the enjoyment with stressing over it as employment , just use it like you are doing, but there is no question in my mind that you are very talented and creative.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29