Drawing and sketching art

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

001AB.jpg

Depression is a hard feeling of sadness with the capacity to wear you down without other people knowing, or to completely being able to get you out of it. We sometimes underestimate the impact of words, and the power we have as human beings to treat each other the way we do. We can try to understand, we should learn how to grow from difficult situations, instead of just reacting to everything just because it's "happening to us".

001.jpg

I often see how simple actions can shape the biggest of moments. I cannot help but to take this opportunity to address how important I think it is to encourage others, to ask for forgiveness, and more important, to recognize our own disadvantages and even flaws, because let's face it, we all have them, but we don't really like to point em out and god forbid, if anyone dares to say something even close to that statement.

00WW.jpg

To say that we aren't perfect, shouldn't be an insult, but a reminder. That we must not only forgive or forget, we also must learn to let go, and to embrace ourselves as a living, important and full of life mankind. You deserve to feel great, and we can make a difference, if we just try to lift others up.

I was taking a look at the internet from my computer when I saw this image, and the news quoted:

Anthony Bourdain was found dead.

How can this be? "I know him". He is an amazing chef. "He has it all". It's too sad.

Not too long ago I had the same feeling when finding out Linkin Park's Chester Bennington had also been found dead by possible suicide. And they aren't the only ones. I keep watching, reading these news and it really does shock me, how can we "have it all" but at the same time we can be so sad on the inside, we can feel something within us that isn't great, not even good. Let alone feeling rage, anger or even dissapointment. Those feelings are also real, and I believe now more than ever, it's our time to let there be light, to embrace it. And to start encouraging others from the bottom of our heart, instead of finding doubts in our minds. We can show support, we can help others. We can be the change this world needs. Live in peace, but be aware of it, be aware of yourself and those around you. Be aware of the present moment. Be thankful. Forgive others and let love rule.

001a.jpg

Thank you Anthony. You inspired me to want to travel the world and learn to taste life, and people's art through your heart (and stomache). Rest in peace.

001b.jpg

It took me between 1 and 2 hours to get to this point in the drawing. At the moment I can't promise I will continue to put more to it because I think I've already did so much, but it has a lot of parts left unfinished, like the tee right side and his arms/hands. I will try to vectorize it later on, and see what else can I do for it. To change its background to a greyish one, in which I can add layers of white. I think the drawing doesn't look as much to Bourdain as I would have expected, but it's a fair try. I gave it my all. Maybe with a couple changes I could make it look more real.

001c.jpg

For this sketch I only used a bunch of pencils: 0.5 , 2, 2B and 3B. I could try another approach or even to continue and add charcoal to it. But maybe for another post. Photos taken with a Canon SX-30 IS.
Sort:  

Upvoting your piece of art. Disappointed in Tony, for what it's worth. A parent does not have that right in my opinion.

I agree with you, we shouldn't have that choice at all. Instead we get a bunch of stuff we don't agree with or signed up for in the first place, and sometimes we only take as much as we're given to.

The truth is that we can go through hard times. Some might say it's a weakness or a disease, but I believe everything happening worlwide isn't a right after all, and if it is many humans are choosing to only lay eyes in other people's problems, while making assumptions and spreading news everywhere only for the purpose of information, but doing it so much we most times forget the action that must follow. This also happens with our relatives, family or close circles. We shouldn't have that right either.

I dream of the day we all do whats right, and work towards our well being, together. It's a serious problem to not be able to reach out and be understood, be helped. We definitely need to work on this as societies and as human kind. Today I thank you for being awesome. Don't ever give up on change and self growth.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

This is a very good drawing. Good art always gives me an emotional adrenaline when I look at it. Something about Anthony Bourdain's death seems to be affecting me more strongly than he was ever able to previously do while alive. Maybe I appreciate him more? It is as though is spirit is now at large. I am not sure.

Thank you! I do feel it can be a superior energy that isn't simply a moment or a situation, it's our empathy towards something but also the capacity we all have to feel vibes, and to be aware of things outside our own lives.

When the art is true you can get an emotion out of it. I will continue to grow and get better at my crafts, because it is what will trascend, it can be a song, it can be a dish too. Have a great weekend and again, thank you for your kind words.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by steamdan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@steamdan Very nice drawing and your words are so true and so full of reflection

Thank you ! These are very kind words, I'm glad you took the time to read and understand what I meant to say.

It is beautiful what you made man!

I really liked watching the guy on TV, and also read a book from him.
Also the sister from our Dutch Queen decided to end life this week, load of depressions going on it feels :(

Thank you K ! Your words make me feel happier. I know we all go through dark times, but we're here to aknowledge our efforts and passions too. I really feel for him, and I wish to make as many people happy the way he did, through traveling the world and sharing it with everybody. Depression is something we can fight with our kindest love, but not on our own; we will join forces until every smile, heart and soul is truly free.

Thank you for taking the time to be here for me, I really apreciate it. Have a great weekend dude (:

How did I not know you were an artist?? This is fantastic friend :)

hey hey! I told you I can sing. Thank you. I will keep arting (:

Great drawing here and some powerful words too.

Man, I stopped watching television in my teens, but this guy was different. Depression is scary, and having been at the brink myself and walked back many times, I can only imagine the turmoil he was in.
Wherever he is, I hope he knows that he is loved, cherished and dearly missed.
Excellent art by the way, you captured his expression perfectly. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78