SmartCash#4 - VPS service that accepting STEEM

in #smartcash6 years ago (edited)

SmartCash_banner.png

Set up a VPS

In order to get the node reward by running a SmartNode, you will have to make sure the machine that hosting the node is having high availability.

SmartNodes must run 24/7 and not stop for longer than 1 hour or they drop off the payment queue. - from the Official FAQ

While the current SmartNode payment interval is about 8 days currently, a downtime of 1 hour will wipe out your progress and put you at the bottom of the queue again. Being said that, you will not want to run the node in something unstable(like your own PC) even you can actually.

This is where a VPS(Virtual Private Server) comes in handy. There are many VPS service providers out there these days with a really competitive price. I've gone through a several research to find out that Vultr and Digital Ocean are one of the most recommended services in the community starting for only $5 per month. I almost go to sign up my first VPS with Vultr, right before I found this service.

VPS that founded from Steem

I stumbled upon this service while surfing Steemit, it turns out this might be the best opportunity I could find as a Steemian. They have a Steem account @privex and @someguy123 is the main guy behind it. Privex is running a simple website with the sole purpose of accepting VPS order: https://www.privex.io/

image.png

Having a researching habit before purchasing anything, Privex is giving me a hard time finding reviews on site like Reddit or general technical forum. Simply because of one reason, this proud VPS is not accepting fiat! So I guess there is no point for the team to run marketing as the focus is on the niche crypto community.

Thus I focus my review hunting in the Steem community and learnt that many of the Steem witnesses are using Privex VPS. The team behind of Privex seems to know their stuff which only makes me more comfortable in getting a VPS from them. But these are not the main reasons after all...

Privex is accepting STEEM/SBD!

chrome_2018-05-09_20-38-07.png

Litecoin and BTC is the other crypto being accepted as well, but who cares when we already earning the feeless STEEM?

Their most basic package with 1GB RAM is priced at $8, definitely not the best price I can find from the other offers. I would say being able to pay with a crypto that I'm constantly earning every day is already sounds like a dream to me. This is the single irresistible selling point I simply could not reject. Not sure how long I would stay with them as the server quality, support availability and many other factors(the steep pricing), I've decided to give it a try anyhow.

Inkedchrome_2018-05-09_20-46-11_LI.jpg

I proceeded with the SBD option and the system calculated the current market price of SBD, hence my first payment is $2.847. Paying crypto to set something that will earn me more crypto? Never heard of a better idea.

Verdict

Finally got received my server information to proceed with my SmartNode setup and here is what I can say about this service so far:

Cons:

  • Expensive.
  • No confirmation of payment via website or email.
  • Could take up to 3 days in getting the VPS ready upon payment. Got mine after 2 days.
  • No root access at the handover, I'm trying to request for it.
  • No 24-hour support service so user might have to cope with Belize timezone.

Pros:

  • Accepting crypto like STEEM/SBD. No unnecessary cost is wasted in the transaction process.
  • Helps to grow the real application of STEEM.
  • Good reputation in Steem communities.

Related post:

SmartCash#1 - My first crypto node setup for a passive income
SmartCash#2 - Acquiring 10,000 SMART
SmartCash#3 - Setting up a wallet


Sort:  

Thank you sir @fr3eze for share all process for us...its great job sir..go ahead. best wishes for you.

Great to see the addition of the SmartCash posts in link format, will take a look at them.

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📈 24h📉 7d
BTCBitcoin8524.850$-1.03%-13.81%
LTCLitecoin140.072$-0.14%-20.76%
SBDSteem Dollars2.463$8.04%-27.16%
SMARTSmartCash0.121$4.31%-7.84%
STEEMSteem2.795$-0.26%-27.4%

@fr3eze Bro, I was wondering, is it possible for using the Privex VPS for mining other cryptocurrencies?

This is really great to be able to pay for a service using steem or SBD. Although it may be slightly more expensive, it is wise of you to have considered of using your profit from steemit platform to support your other projects without spending additional cash. Great attitude to support the use of steem and SBD too! Thanks for sharing your investment venture! You are really a lot advance in your crypto investment than me. I guess I can learn more as I continue to follow your articles!

yeah, finally some merchant is accepting steem, I seriously think Steem need a user friendly wallet so it can be widely adopted by merchant

Σ$$$ Tipped @fr3eze Σ30 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.108 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $3.24 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34