Tips and Advice if your thinking of getting a Smart Node!

in #smartcash6 years ago

First piece of advice is do it!

It really wasn't that hard and I'm no computer genius. It did take a few days instead of a few hours and I'll tell you why and a few pitfalls to avoid. I will link to the full tutorial's I used, but this certainly isn't going to be a full tutorial.

You just need to accumulate 10 000 SMART, which for some reason remains quite inexpensive still, and I'm honestly considering getting another one.

Second update your wallet

Here's the link to the wallet page, you'll need to 64bit Smart Cast 1.1.1 Version to run a smart node.

This extra step was actually super easy, and the new wallet download just upgraded itself with no extra steps, but don't be a fool and make sure you back up your wallet first, before making any such changes.

Third bootstrap is a lifesaver for wallet syncing

It took me a while to figure this out and I wish I new this when I starting syncing my wallet the first time. It took me over a month to sync my wallet the first time and I almost lost my mind when I had to sync it again as part of this process, but with bootstrap it only took a day.

Bootstrap is just a download of the blockchain that you add to your wallet directory. It's a life saver. You can download it directly from the very bottom of the wallet page here.

Here is the instructions for running it.

The smartcash.conf file

This was another small hiccup I experiences with the video tutorial I used. It talked about making sure you have this file, well my wallet didn't, but it was super simple just to make your own. I followed this simple instructions below, that were from this tutorial post here.

smartnodecomf.png

Also just to let you know, it was creating this smartcash.comf file that triggered the whole wallet re-syncing thing, so when that happens don't be alarmed.

VPS Hosting

I still don't even know what this means, but I was already using Digital Ocean to run a steemit voting bot, so I was hoping I was able to use them. I don't know the sign up process for the others, but I can say that this one is pretty simple. It costs $5/month to host your server, but they have a great referral program, where you get a $10, if you sign up using a referral code, and luckily enough I have mine right here. https://m.do.co/c/b463774e91cb

You can find other hosting options on page 2 of this tutorial

Otherwise, for everything else I just followed this video tutorial that I highly recommend, and it's from our very own @hannahlicious here on steemit.

Otherwise when I did have questions along the way the SmartCash Discord channel members here were very quick to help.

Don't forget to check out @smartcash for Team Smart Cash right here on steemit, for more great info.


Footer by @ bearone

Sort:  

Really interested in getting involved with smartcash and also running a master node. What type of return are you looking at each month?

Currently its around 6% per month after the first month. That does not count Smart rewards which is another ~3% per month.

Cheers for the info, gonna purchase 10k so I can run a node. Hopefully I can use my laptop and also do other things

There's a calculator on there site here They do expect they will diminish slowly overtime, you can check out the actual numbers at the link.

Cheers for the info bud. Gonna dive into the smartcash community. If it is anything like the Steemit community it will be awesome

@phelimint great tips. My next tip after "Do it" would be:

ensure your wallet is updated and fully synced. Do not continue until its done

This would save you the issues many have trying to start the smartnodes

Yeah, I missed that step being laid out in writing the first time.

@smartbot tip 50

Σ$$$ Tipped @phelimint Σ50 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.131 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $6.55 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

Wow, thx so much. Your video was great and made the process so simple to follow.

I really love the masternode crypto model. SmartCash has amazing potential and is relatively cheap to set one up at these prices.

Good to see you're now on board!

Thx, it can’t believe it hasn’t skyrocketed with the new of the airdrop, I’m trying to move a bunch more in just waiting for hit BTC to get there ETH wallet up ahain

From a standpoint of someone who just set up a smartnode, I would say your tips are really solid.

Thx man, much appreciated, I’m just working on getting a second node up and running as well, I can’t believe the price hasn’t taken off yet with the news of BTC confidential

Personally I don't think that is a huge attraction to the market(I hate that lame name as well) compared to the other killer features of SmartCash.

Thank you for helping me understand the whole SmartNode process.

My pleasure.

I had some help setting up a smartnode, mostly assurances that I was doing it correctly. I could have saved myself a lot of time by using the bootstrap file.

What do you think about the Bitcoin Confidential airdrop? It's being hardforked from SmartCash 10:1 sometime soon.

@ironshield

Yeah, Bootstrap is a gamechanger! As for Bitcoin Confidential I am following it close, makes me wanna grab a few more SMART before the excitement really starts.

I am pumped you got a Smartnode! It did take a little time to get it set up, but it was a great experience. I am intrigued to see what happens with “Bitcoin Coinfidential”

I know, this whole bitcoin confidential thing, is really making me want to pick up a few more SMART, or alot more.

The price is certainly having it make sense! $.10 for 1 Smart and 10 Bitcoin Confidential!!

I know I know, I wish I had something to sell, all I'm sitting on is EOS and STEEM, but I'm also bullish on both of them?

{looks for some spare change under the mattress} haha

Great to hear that your masternode is up and running and all chugging along smoothly.

I love your work within the #smartcash community, so please keep it up!

🤑.

Thx man, it's much appreciate, I'm really excited about the coin and looking forward to the exciting future.

Congratulations @phelimint! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28